Tag Archives: Matthew Seligman

In April 1988.

In April 1988, “EMI” label released “Aliens Ate My Buick”, the third Thomas Dolby studio album. It was recorded in 1988, and was produced by Thomas Dolby.


  • Thomas Dolby – keyboards, vocals
  • Larry Treadwell – guitar
  • Terry Jackson – bass
  • David Owens – drums
  • Mike Kapitan – synthesizer
  • Arno Lucas – congas, timbales
  • Laura Creamer– percussion, vocals
  • Bill Watrous– trombone

Track listing:

All tracks by Thomas Dolby except where noted

  1. The Key to Her Ferrari
  2. Airhead – Thomas Dolby, Grant Morris
  3. Hot Sauce – George Clinton
  4. Pulp Culture
  5. My Brain Is Like a Sieve
  6. The Ability to Swing – Thomas Dolby, Matthew Seligman
  7. Budapest by Blimp



In March 1982.

In March 1982, “Venice in Peril” label released “The Golden Age of Wireless” the debut Thomas Dolby album. It was recorded in 1981, and was produced by Thomas Dolby and Tim Friese-Greene.


  • Thomas Dolby – vocals, drum programs, wave computer, backing vocals, synthesizer, piano, monk voice, kalimba
  • James Allen – backing vocals
  • Kevin Armstrong– guitar, backing vocals
  • Dave Birch – guitar, monk voice
  • Bosco – percussion
  • Les Chappel – backing vocals
  • Judy Evans – backing vocals
  • Lesley Fairbairn – backing vocals
  • Mark Heyward-Chaplin – bass guitar
  • Justin Hildreth – drums
  • Simon House– violin
  • Tim Kerr – violin
  • Mutt Lange– backing vocals
  • Simon Lloyd – leadline brass, flute
  • Lene Lovich– backing vocals
  • John Marsh – shipping forecast
  • Daniel Miller– synthesizer
  • Guido Orlando – Chilean translations, distress, grace
  • Andy Partridge– harmonica, percussion
  • Magnus Pyke– voiceover
  • Matthew Seligman– Moog bass
  • Miriam Stockley – backing vocals
  • Bruce Woolley– backing vocals, monk voice
  • Akiko Yano– backing vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by Thomas Dolby, except where noted.

  1. Flying North
  2. Commercial Breakup – Thomas Dolby, Tim Kerr
  3. Weightless
  4. Europa and the Pirate Twins
  5. Windpower
  6. The Wreck of The Fairchild
  7. Airwaves
  8. Radio Silence
  9. Cloudburst at Shingle Street

In February 1984.


In February 1984, “EMI” label released “The Flat Earth”, the second Thomas Dolby album. It was recorded 1982 – 1983, and was produced by Thomas Dolby.


  • Thomas Dolby -vocals, piano, effects
  • Kevin Armstrong- guitar, trumpet, backing vocals
  • Matthew Seligman- bass
  • Clif Brigden -percussion, electronic drums
  • Adele Bertei- backing vocals
  • Lesley Fairbairn – backing vocals
  • Lionel Richie- backing vocals
  • Bruce Woolley- backing vocals
  • Robyn Hitchcock- vocals (spoken)
  • Peter Thoms- trombone
  • Louise Ulfstedt -vocals
  • Matthew Salt – tins, thundersheet
  • Mike Shipley, Alan Douglas – mixing
  • Dan Lacksman – engineer
  • Wally Traugott – mastering .

Track listing:

All tracks by Thomas Dolby, except where noted.

  1. Dissidents – Thomas Dolby, Kevin Armstrong,Matthew Seligman
  2. The Flat Earth
  3. Screen Kiss
  4. White City
  5. Mulu the Rain Forest
  6. I Scare Myself – Dan Hicks
  7. Hyperactive!

On September 16, 1985.


On September 16, 1985, “Island” label released “This Is the Sea”, the third Waterboys album. It was recorded February – August 1985, at “Park Gates Studio” in Hastings; “Livingstone Studios”; “Seaview Studios”; “The Chocolate Factory”; “R G Jones Recording Studios”; “Townhouse Studios”, and “Good Earth Studios” in London, and was produced by Mike Scott, John Brand, Mick Glossop and Karl Wallinger. The album cover photography was taken by Lynn Goldsmith. “This Is the Sea” contains the best-selling Waterboys single, the song “The Whole of the Moon”.


  • Mike Scott– vocals, lead guitar, rhythm guitar, piano, percussion, synthesiser, drum machine programming, bells and effects
  • Anthony Thistlethwaite– saxophone, double bass, bass guitar, mandolin
  • Karl Wallinger– bass synth, piano, organ, keyboard programming, synthesiser, celeste, percussion and backing vocals
  • Steve Wickham– violin
  • Marek Lipski – violin
  • Roddy Lorimer– trumpet, background vocals
  • Stewart Bartlett – French horn
  • Kevin Wilkinson– bass guitar, drums
  • Martin Swain – bass guitar
  • Chris Whitten – drums, cymbals
  • Pete Thomas– snare drum
  • Martin Ditcham – percussion
  • Max Edie – background vocals
  • Lu Edmonds– Bass
  • Matthew Seligman– Bass

Track listing:

All tracks by Mike Scott except where noted.

  1. Don’t Bang the Drum – Mike Scott, Karl Wallinger
  2. The Whole of the Moon
  3. Spirit
  4. The Pan Within
  5. Medicine Bow – Mike Scott, Anthony Thistlethwaite
  6. Old England
  7. Be My Enemy
  8. Trumpets
  9. This Is the Sea