Tag Archives: Simon House

In March 1982.

In March 1982, “Venice in Peril” label released “The Golden Age of Wireless” the debut Thomas Dolby album. It was recorded in 1981, and was produced by Thomas Dolby and Tim Friese-Greene.


  • Thomas Dolby – vocals, drum programs, wave computer, backing vocals, synthesizer, piano, monk voice, kalimba
  • James Allen – backing vocals
  • Kevin Armstrong– guitar, backing vocals
  • Dave Birch – guitar, monk voice
  • Bosco – percussion
  • Les Chappel – backing vocals
  • Judy Evans – backing vocals
  • Lesley Fairbairn – backing vocals
  • Mark Heyward-Chaplin – bass guitar
  • Justin Hildreth – drums
  • Simon House– violin
  • Tim Kerr – violin
  • Mutt Lange– backing vocals
  • Simon Lloyd – leadline brass, flute
  • Lene Lovich– backing vocals
  • John Marsh – shipping forecast
  • Daniel Miller– synthesizer
  • Guido Orlando – Chilean translations, distress, grace
  • Andy Partridge– harmonica, percussion
  • Magnus Pyke– voiceover
  • Matthew Seligman– Moog bass
  • Miriam Stockley – backing vocals
  • Bruce Woolley– backing vocals, monk voice
  • Akiko Yano– backing vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by Thomas Dolby, except where noted.

  1. Flying North
  2. Commercial Breakup – Thomas Dolby, Tim Kerr
  3. Weightless
  4. Europa and the Pirate Twins
  5. Windpower
  6. The Wreck of The Fairchild
  7. Airwaves
  8. Radio Silence
  9. Cloudburst at Shingle Street

On November 13, 1981.


On November 13, 1981, “Virgin” label released “Tin Drum”, the fifth and final Japan studio album. It was recorded in 1981, and was produced by Steve Nye and Japan.


  • David Sylvian– vocals, guitar, keyboard, keyboard programming, tapes, cover concept
  • Mick Karn– fretless bass guitar, African flute, dida
  • Steve Jansen– acoustic drums, electronic drums, keyboard percussion
  • Richard Barbieri– keyboard, keyboard programming, tapes
  • Yuka Fujii – backing vocals
  • Simon House– violin
  • Steve Joule – design
  • Steve Nye– engineer
  • Phil Bodger – assistant engineer
  • Fin Costello – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by David Sylvian, except where noted.

  1. The Art of Parties
  2. Talking Drum
  3. Ghosts
  4. Canton – Steve Jansen, David Sylvian
  5. Still Life in Mobile Homes
  6. Visions of China – Steve Jansen, David Sylvian
  7. Sons of Pioneers – Mick Karn, David Sylvian
  8. Cantonese Boy

On August 6, 1974.



On August 6, 1974, “United Artists” label released “Hall of the Mountain Grill”, the fourth Hawkwind album. It was recorded January – June 1974, at “Edmonton Sundown” and “Olympic Studios” in London, and was produced by Roy Thomas Baker, Doug Bennett and Hawkwind.

  • Dave Brock– lead guitar, 12-string guitar, synthesizer, organ, harmonica, vocals
  • Lemmy(Ian Kilmister) – bass, vocals, guitars
  • Simon House– synthesizer, Mellotron, violin
  • Nik Turner– saxophone, oboe, flute, vocals
  • Simon King– drums, percussion
  • Del Dettmar– keyboards, synthesizer, kalimba

Track listing:

All tracks by Dave Brock except where noted.

  1. The Psychedelic Warlords (Disappear in Smoke)
  2. Wind of Change
  3. D-Rider – Nik Turner
  4. Web Weaver
  5. You’d Better Believe It
  6. Hall of the Mountain Grill – Simon House
  7. Lost Johnny – Ian Kilmister, Mick Farren
  8. Goat Willow – Del Dettmar
  9. Paradox



On June 17, 1977.

Quark Strangeness And Charm

On June 17, 1977, “Charisma” label released “Quark, Strangeness and Charm”, the seventh Hawkwind studio album. It was recorded in February 1977, at “Rockfield Studios”, and was produced by Hawkwind. The art cover designed by Hipgnosis and Geoff Halpin, features photographs are of the control room at Battersea Power Station.


  • Dave Brock– guitar, synthesisers, sound FX, vocals, quark
  • Robert Calvert– vocals, percussion, morse, strangeness
  • Simon House– keyboards, violin, anvil, vocals, charm
  • Adrian Shaw– bass guitar, vocals, hand-claps
  • Simon King– drums, percussion, no-vocal
  • Dave Charles – engineer

Track listing:

  1. Spirit of the Age – Robert Calvert, Dave Brock
  2. Damnation Alley – Robert Calvert, Dave Brock, Simon House
  3. Fable of a Failed Race – Robert Calvert, Dave Brock
  4. Quark, Strangeness and Charm – Robert Calvert, Dave Brock
  5. Hassan I Sabbah – Robert Calvert, Paul Rudolph
  6. The Forge of Vulcan – Simon House
  7. The Days of the Underground – Robert Calvert,Dave Brock
  8. The Iron Dream – Simon King


On May 18, 1979.


On May 18, 1979, “RCA” label released “Lodger”, the thirteenth David Bowie studio album. It was recorded September 1978 – March 1979, at “Mountain Studios” in “Montreux”, “Record Plant Studios” in New York, and was produced by Tony Visconti and David Bowie.


  • David Bowie– vocals, backing vocals, piano, guitar, synthesizer, Chamberlin, producer
  • Tony Visconti– backing vocals, guitar, mandolin, bass guitar, recording engineer, mixing engineer
  • Brian Eno– synthesizers, ambient drone, prepared piano, cricket menace, guitar treatments, horse trumpet, eroica horn, piano, backing vocals
  • Adrian Belew– guitar, mandolin
  • Carlos Alomar– guitar, drums
  • Dennis Davis– percussion, drums, bass guitar
  • George Murray– bass guitar
  • Sean Mayes– piano
  • Simon House– violin, mandolin
  • Roger Powell– synthesizer
  • Stan Harrison– saxophone
  • David Richards– recording engineer
  • Rod O’Brien – mixing engineer

Track listing:

All lyrics by David Bowie; all music by David Bowie and Brian Eno, except where noted.

  1. Fantastic Voyage
  2. African Night Flight
  3. Move on – David Bowie
  4. Yassassin – David Bowie
  5. Red Sails
  6. DJ – David Bowie, Brian Eno, Carlos Alomar
  7. Look Back in Anger
  8. Boys Keep Swinging
  9. Repetition – David Bowie
  10. Red Money – David Bowie, Carlos Alomar

On May 9, 1975.


On May 9, 1975, “United Artists” label released “Warrior on the Edge of Time”, the fifth Hawkwind studio album. It was recorded March 1975, at “Rockfield Studios”, mixed at “Olympic Studios”, and was produced by Hawkwind.


  • Michael Moorcock– vocals
  • Dave Brock– guitar, keyboards, vocals, bass guitar
  • Nik Turner– saxophone, flute, vocals
  • Lemmy(Ian Kilmister) – bass guitar, vocals
  • Simon House– violin, Mellotron, VCS3,keyboards
  • Simon King– drums, percussions
  • Alan Powell– drums, percussion

Track listing:

  1. Assault and Battery (Part 1) – Dave Brock
  2. The Golden Void (Part 2) – Dave Brock
  3. The Wizard Blew His Horn – Michael Moorcock, Simon House, Alan Powell, Simon King
  4. Opa – Loka – Alan Powell, Simon King
  5. The Demented man – Dave Brock
  6. Magnu – Dave Brock
  7. Standing at the Edge – Michael Morcock, Simon House, Alan Powell, Simon King
  8. Spiral galaxy 28948 – Simon House
  9. Warriors – Michael Morcock, Simon House, Alan Powell, Simon King
  10. Dying Seas – Nick Turner
  11. King of Speed – Michael Morcock, Dave Brock

On October 24, 1980.


On October 24, 1980, “Virgin” label released “Gentlemen Take Polaroids”, the fourth Japan studio album.  It was recorded in October 1980,  at “Air Studios” and “Townhouse Studios” in London and was produced by John Punter.


  • David Sylvian– vocals, synthesizers, piano, electric guitar
  • Mick Karn– fretless bass guitar, oboe, saxophone, recorder
  • Steve Jansen– drums, synthesizer, percussion
  • Richard Barbieri– synthesizers, sequencer, piano
  • Rob Dean– guitar, ebow
  • Ryuichi Sakamoto– synthesizers
  • Simon House– violin
  • Cyo – vocals
  • Barry Guy– double bass
  • Andrew Cauthery – oboe

Track listing:

All tracks by David Sylvian, except where noted.

  1. Gentlemen Take Polaroids
  2. Swing
  3. Burning Bridges
  4. My New Career
  5. Methods of Dance
  6. Ain’t That Peculiar – Smokey Robinson, Warren ’Pete’ Moore, Marvin Tarplin, Bobby Rogers
  7. Nightporter
  8. Taking island in Africa – Ryuichi Sakamoto, David Sylvian