On October 5, 1981.


On October 5, 1981, “Mute” label released “Speak & Spell”, the debut Depeche Mode album. It was recorded in 1981, and produced by Dave Gahan, Martin Gore, Andy Fletcher, Vince Clarke and Daniel Miller .


  • Dave Gahan – lead vocals
  • Martin Gore – lead and backing vocals, keyboards
  • Andy Fletcher- keyboards, backing vocals
  • Vince Clarke – keyboards, programming, backing vocals

Track listing:

All compositions by Vince Clarke, except where noted.

  1. New Life
  2. I Sometimes Wish I was Dead
  3. Puppets
  4. Boys Say Go
  5. Nodisco
  6. What’s Your Name
  7. Photographic
  8. Tora! Tora! Tora! – Martin Gore
  9. Big Muff – Martin Gore
  10. Any Seconds Now
  11. Just Can’t Get Enough

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.