Tag Archives: 1985

On July 16, 1985.

On July 16, 1985, “Homestead Records” label released “Dinosaur”, the debut Dinosaur Jr. studio album. It was recorded in 1985 at Chris Dixon’s (engineer) house, and was produced by J Mascis, Lou Barlow and Murph.


  • J Mascis- vocals, guitar, percussion
  • Lou Barlow- bass, vocals, synthesizer
  • Murph- drums, vocals, synthesizer
  • Chris Dixon, Glen – engineering
  • Jason Talerman – photography
  • Maura Jasper – cover art
  • Lou Barlow – back cover art

Track listing:

All tracks by J Mascis.

  1. Forget the Swan
  2. Cats in a Bowl
  3. The Leper
  4. Does It Float
  5. Pointless
  6. Repulsion
  7. Gargoyle
  8. Severed Lips
  9. Mountain Man
  10. Quest
  11. Bulbs of Passion

On June 28, 1985.

On June 28, 1985, “Albert Production” label released “Fly on the Wall”, the tenth AC/DC studio album. It was recorded October 1984–February 1985, at “Mountain Studios” in Montreux, Switzerland, and was produced by Angus Young and Malcolm Young. The album was certified Platinum in US by “RIAA”.


  • Brian Johnson– lead vocals
  • Angus Young– lead guitar
  • Malcolm Young– rhythm guitar, backing vocals
  • Cliff Williams– bass guitar, backing vocals
  • Simon Wright– drums, percussion
  • Mark Dearnley – engineer
  • Bob Defrin – art director
  • Todd Schorr– cover illustration

Track listing:

All tracks by Malcolm Young, Angus Young and Brian Johnson.

  1. Fly on the Wall
  2. Shake Your Foundations
  3. First Blood
  4. Danger
  5. Sink the Pink
  6. Playing With the Girls
  7. Stand Up
  8. Hell of High Water
  9. Back in Business
  10. Send for the Man

In February 1986.

In February 1986, “Vertigo” label released “Cinema”, the sixteenth Nazareth album. It was recorded in  1985, at “Pearl Sound Studios” in Michigan, “Cava Sound Workshops” in Glasgow, and “Castle Sound Studios” in Pentcaitland, Scotland, and was produced by Eddie Delana.


  • Dan McCafferty- vocals
  • Pete Agnew- bass guitar, back vocals
  • Manny Charlton- guitars
  • Darrell Sweet- drums, back vocals
  • Eddie Delana – engineer
  • Calum Malcolm- emulator

Track listing:

All tracks by Manny Charlton, except where noted.

  1. Cinema – Pete Agnew, Manny Charlton, Dan McCafferty, Darrell Sweet
  2. Juliet – Pete Agnew, Manny Charlton, Dan McCafferty, Darrell Sweet
  3. Just Another Heartache
  4. Other Side of You
  5. Hit the Fan
  6. One from the Heart
  7. Salty Salty – Pete Agnew, Manny Charlton, Dan McCafferty, Darrell Sweet
  8. White Boy
  9. A Veteran’s Song – Pete Agnew, Manny Charlton, Dan McCafferty, Darrell Sweet

In January 1987.

In January 1987, “Arista” label released “Gaudi”, the tenth Alan Parsons Project album. It was recorded October 1985 – August 1986, at “The Grange” and “Mayfair Studios” in London, and was produced by Alan Parsons.


  • Alan Parsons– synthesizer, programming, engineer
  • Eric Woolfson– pianos, keyboards, vocals
  • Ian Bairnson– guitars
  • Laurence Cottle– bass
  • Stuart Elliott– drums, percussion
  • Richard Cottle – synthesizers, saxophones
  • John Miles, Lenny Zakatek, Eric Woolfson, Geoff Barradale, Chris Rainbow – vocals
  • Andrew Powell– orchestral arrangements
  • John Heley – cello
  • David Cripp – horns conductor
  • Bob Howes – The English Chorale conductor, timpani

Track listing:

All tracks by Alan Parsons and Eric Woolfson.

  1. La Sagrada Familia
  2. Too Late
  3. Closer to Heaven
  4. Standing on Higher Ground
  5. Money Talks
  6. Inside Looking Out
  7. Paseo de Gracia

On January 13, 1986.

On January 13, 1986, “Virgin” label released “Premonition”, the ninth Peter Frampton studio album. It was recorded 1984 – 1985, and was produced by Peter Frampton and Peter Solley.


  • Peter Frampton – guitar, vocals; synthesizer, bass
  • Tony Levin- bass; Chapman stick
  • Richard Cottle – keyboards
  • Omar Hakim, Steve Ferrone- drums
  • Chuck Kirkpatrick, Johnne Sambataro- backing vocals
  • Pete Solley– piano
  • Richie Puente – percussion

Track listing:

  1. Stop – Peter Frampton, Mark Goldenberg
  2. Hiding from a Heartache – Peter Frampton, Steve Broughton Lunt, Arthur Stead
  3. You Know So Well – Peter Frampton
  4. Premonition – Peter Frampton, Rob Sabino
  5. Lying – Peter Frampton
  6. Moving a Mountain – Peter Frampton, Steve Broughton Lunt, Mark Goldenberg
  7. All Eyes on You – Peter Frampton
  8. Into View – Peter Frampton
  9. Call of the Wild – Peter Frampton, Steve Broughton Lunt


On January 2, 2018.

On January 2, 2018, Roe Erister “Rick” Hall died aged 85. He was musician, music producer, songwriter, music publisher, best known as the owner and proprietor of “FAME Studios” in Muscle Shoals, Alabama. He had recorded and promoted names like Aretha Franklin, Otis Redding, Duane Allman, Etta James, Osmonds, Paul Anka and Tom Jones. In 1985, Hall was inducted into the “Alabama Music Hall of Fame”, received the “John Herbert Orr Pioneer Award”, and In 2014, he won the “Grammy Trustees Award”.

On December 10, 1985.

On December 1985, “Columbia” label released “Club Ninja”, the tenth Blue Öyster Cult album. It was recorded in 1985, at “Bearsville Studios” in Bearsville, “Boogie Hotel Studios” in Port Jefferson,  “Tallysin Studios” in Syosset, New York, “Warehouse Studios” in New York City, and was produced by Sandy Pearlman.


  • Eric Bloom– vocals, guitar
  • Donald “Buck Dharma” Roeser– vocals, guitars, keyboards
  • Joe Bouchard– bass, vocals, guitar
  • Tommy Zvoncheck – synthesizers, piano, organ
  • Jimmy Wilcox – background vocals, percussion
  • Thommy Price– drums
  • Phil Grande – guitars
  • Kenny Aaronson– bass
  • David Lucas, Joni Peltz, Dave Immer, Joe Caro – background vocals
  • Howard Stern– opening to “When the War Comes”
  • Paul Mandl – engineer, overdubs editor, programming
  • John Devlin, Toby Scott – engineers
  • David Lucas – additional production
  • Brian McGee – mixing

Track listing:

  1. White Flags – Leggatt Bros.
  2. Dancin’ in the Ruins – Larry Gottlieb, Jason Scanlon
  3. Make Rock Not War – Bob Halligan Jr.
  4. Perfect Water – Donald Roeser, Jim Carroll
  5. Spy in the House of the Night – Donald Roeser, Richard Meltzer
  6. Beat’ Em Up – Bob Halligan Jr.
  7. When the War Comes Home – Joe Bouchard, Sandy Pearlman
  8. Shadow Warrior – Eric Bloom, Donald Roeser, Eric Van Lustbader
  9. Madness to the Method – Donald Roeser, Dick Trismen