Tag Archives: gered Mankowitz

In February 1982.

In February 1982, “Arista” label released “Pelican West”, the debut Haircut One Hundred album. It was recorded 1981 – 1982, at “Roundhouse Studios” in London, and was produced by Bob Sargeant.


  • Nick Heyward- vocals, lead guitar, rhythm guitar
  • Les Nemes- bass guitar
  • Graham Jones – guitar
  • Phil Smith – saxophone, brass arrangements
  • Marc Fox – congas, percussion
  • Blair Cunningham– drums
  • Herschel Holder, Dave Lord – trumpet
  • Vince Sullivan – trombone
  • Mark Dearnley, Dave Kemp – engineer
  • David Shortt – art direction
  • Gered Mankowitz- photography
  • Peter Hill – sleeve art
  • Karl Adams – manager

Track listing:

All tracks by Nick Heyward, except where noted.

  1. Favourite Shirts (Boy Meets Girl)
  2. Love Plus One
  3. Lemon Firebrigade
  4. Marine Boy
  5. Milk Film
  6. Kingsize (You’re My Little Steam Whistle)
  7. Fantastic Day
  8. Baked Bean
  9. Snow Girl
  10. Love’s Got Me in Triangles – Nick Heyward, Les Nemes
  11. Surprise Me Again
  12. Calling Captain Autumn

In November 1968.

In November 1968, “Immediate” label released “Ars Longa Vita Brevis”, the second Nice studio album. It was recorded in 1968, and was produced by Keith Emerson, Lee Jackson and Brian Davison.


  • Keith Emerson– keyboards, background and lead vocals
  • Lee Jackson– bass guitar, lead vocals
  • Brian Davison– drums
  • Malcolm Langstaff – guitar
  • Robert Stewart – orchestral arranger, conductor
  • Don Brewer – engineer, consultant
  • Gered Mankowitz– cover photograph

Track listing:

All tracks by Keith Emerson and Lee Jackson, except where noted.

  1. Daddy, Where Did I Come From
  2. Little Arabella
  3. Happy Freuds
  4. Intermezzo from the Karelia Suite -Sibelius
  5. Don Edito el Gruva – Keith Emerson, Lee Jackson, Brian Davison
  6. Ars Longa Vita Brevis
  • Prelude – Keith Emerson
  • 1st Movement – Awakening – Brian Davison
  • 2nd Movement – Realisation – Lee Jackson, David O’List, Keith Emerson
  • 3rd Movement – Acceptance “Brandenburger” – S.Bach, Brian Davison, Keith Emerson, Lee Jackson
  • 4th Movement – Denial – Brian Davison, Keith Emerson, Lee Jackson
  • Coda – Extension to the Big Note – Keith Emerson

In October 1973.

In October 1973, “Rak” label released the debut, self-titled Suzi Quatro solo studio album. It was recorded in 1973, at “Audio International Studio” in London, and was produced by Mike Chapman and Nicky Chinn.


  • Suzi Quatro – bass, lead vocals
  • Len Tuckey- guitar, slide guitar, backing vocals
  • Alastair McKenzie – electric piano, grand piano, mellotron, backing vocals
  • Dave Neal – drums, backing vocals
  • Engineer – Pete Coleman
  • Mastered by – Chris Blair
  • Cover Photography – Gered Mankowitz
  • Mastered at EMI Studios, Abbey Road

Track listing:

All tracks by Suzi Quatro and Len Tuckey; except where noted.

  1. 48 Crash – Mike Chapman, Nicky Chinn
  2. Glycerine Queen
  3. Shine My Machine
  4. Official Suburbian Superman
  5. I Wanna Be Your Man – John Lennon, Paul McCartney
  6. Primitive Love – Mike Chapman, Nicky Chinn
  7. All Shook Up – Otis Blackwell, Elvis Presley
  8. Sticks & Stones
  9. Skin Tight Skin
  10. Get Back Mama – Suzi Quatro
  11. Shakin’ All Over – Johnny Kidd
  12. Can the Can – Mike Chapman, Nicky Chinn


In October 1968.

In October 1968, “Island” label released the self-titled, second studio Traffic album. It was recorded January – May 1968, at “Olympic Studios” in London, “Record Plant” in New York City, and was produced by Jimmy Miller.


  • Dave Mason– lead vocals, guitar, harmonica, Hammond organ
  • Steve Winwood– electric guitar, bass, lead and backing vocals, Hammond organ, piano, harpsichord
  • Chris Wood– tenor and soprano saxophone, flute, Coke tin, sleigh bells
  • Jim Capaldi– drums, backing vocals, percussion
  • Terry Brown, Eddie Kramer, Glyn Johns, Brian Humphries – sound engineers
  • Richard Polak, Gered Mankowitz– photography

Track listing:

  1. You Can All Join In – Dave Mason
  2. Pearly Queen – Jim Capaldi, Steve Winwood
  3. Don’t Be Sad – Dave Mason
  4. Who Knows What Tomorrow May Bring – Jim Capaldi, Steve Winwood, Chris Wood
  5. Feelin’ Alright? – Dave Mason
  6. Vagabond Virgin – Jim Capaldi, Dave Mason
  7. Forty Thousand Headmen – Jim Capaldi, Steve Winwood
  8. Cryin’ to Be Heard – Dave Mason
  9. No Time to Live – Jim Capaldi, Steve Winwood
  10. Means to an End – Jim Capaldi, Steve Winwood


In August 1977.

In August 1977, “Arista” label released the self-titled, fourteenth Donovan studio album. It was recorded in 1977, and was produced by Mickey Most. In October 1977, “RAK” label released the album in UK with a different track order.


  • Donovan – vocals, guitar, harmonica
  • Colin Allen– drums
  • John Cameron– horn arrangements, string arrangements
  • Isaac Guillory – guitar
  • Patrick Halling – violin
  • Ronnie Leahy– keyboards
  • Chris Norman, Silson,Terry Uttley – background vocals
  • Nick South – bass
  • Tim Summerhayes, Wolfgang Thierbach, Doug Hopkins – engineer
  • Charlie Watts, Chris Blair – mastering
  • Gered Mankowitz– photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Donovan Leitch.

  1. Local Boy Chops Wood
  2. Astral Angel
  3. The Light
  4. Dare to Be Different
  5. Brave New World
  6. Lady of the Stars
  7. International Man
  8. Sing My Song
  9. Maya’s Dance
  10. Kalifornia Kiddies

In June 1968.

In June 1968, “Island” label released “It’s All About” the debut Spooky Tooth album. It was recorded in 1968, at “Olympic Studios” in London, and was produced by Jimmy Miller.


  • Mike Harrison– vocals, keyboards, harpsichord
  • Gary Wright– vocals, keyboards, organ
  • Luther Grosvenor– guitar
  • Greg Ridley– bass guitar
  • Mike Kellie– drums and percussion
  • Engineer: Glyn Johns
  • Liner notes: Alan Robinson
  • Album photography: Gered Mankowitz

Track listing:

  1. Society’s Child – Janis Ian
  2. Love Really Changed Me – Luther Grosvenor, Jimmy Miller, Gary Wright
  3. Here I Lived So Well – Gary Wright, Luther Grosvenor, Mike Harrison, Jimmy Miller
  4. Too Much of Nothing – Bob Dylan
  5. Sunshine Help Me – Gary Wright
  6. It’s All About a Roundabout – Jimmy Miller, Gary Wright
  7. Tobacco Road – D. Loudermilk
  8. It Hurts You So – Jimmy Miller, Gary Wright
  9. Forget It, I Got It – Jimmy Miller, Gary Wright
  10. Bubbles – Luther Grosvenor, Gary Wright

In May 1977.

In May 1977, “United Artists” label released “Sneakin’ Suspicion”, the fourth Dr. Feelgood album. It was recorded in 1977, at “Rockfield Studios” and was produced by Bert de Coteaux.


  • Lee Brilleaux – vocals, guitar, harmonica, slide guitar
  • Wilko Johnson- guitar, backing vocals
  • John B. Sparks – bass guitar, backing vocals
  • The Big Figure – drums, percusison, backing vocals
  • Tim Hinkley- keyboards
  • Pat Moran – audio engineer
  • John Dent – mastering
  • Paul Henry – design
  • Gered Mankowitz- photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Wilko Johnson; except where noted.

  1. Sneakin’ Suspicion
  2. Paradise
  3. Nothin’ Shakin’ (But the Leaves on the Trees) – Cirino Colacrai, Eddie Fontaine, Johnny Gluck, Diane Lampert
  4. Time and the Devil
  5. Lights Out – Seth David, Mac Rebennack
  6. Lucky Seven – Lew Lewis
  7. All My Love
  8. You’ll Be Mine – Willie Dixon)
  9. Walking on the Edge
  10. Hey Mama, Keep Your Big Mouth Shut – Ellas McDaniel