In March 1983.

In March 1983, “Mercury” label released “Inarticulate Speech of the Heart” the fourteenth Van Morrison studio album. It was recorded in 1982, at “The Town House” in London, “The Record Plant” in “Harbour Sound” in Sausalito, “Tres Virgos” in San Rafael and “Lombard Sound” in Dublin, and was produced by Van Morrison.


  • Van Morrison– guitar, electric piano, alto saxophone, vocals
  • David Hayes– bass
  • Mark Isham– synthesizer, trumpet
  • John Allair – organ, electric piano
  • Pee Wee Ellis– tenor saxophone, soprano saxophone, flute
  • Tom Donlinger – percussion, drums
  • Mihr Un Nisa Douglass – backing vocals
  • Stephanie Douglass – backing vocals
  • Pauline Lozana – backing vocals
  • Arty McGlynn– acoustic guitar
  • Davy Spillane– Uilleann pipes, alto flute
  • Chris Michie– guitar
  • Annie Stocking – backing vocals
  • Bianca Thornton– backing vocals
  • Peter Van Hooke– drums, tambourine

Track listing:

All tracks by Van Morrison.

  1. Higher than the World
  2. Connswater
  3. River of Time
  4. Celtic Swing
  5. Rave On, John Donne
  6. Inarticulate Speech of the Heart No. 1
  7. Irish Heartbeat
  8. The Street Only Knew Your Name
  9. Cry for Home
  10. Inarticulate Speech of the Heart No. 2
  11. September Night



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s