Tag Archives: Hugh Murphy

In April 1980.

In April 1980, “United Artists” label released “Snakes and Ladders”, the fourth Gerry Rafferty album. It was recorded in 1980, and was produced by Gerry Rafferty and Hugh Murphy.


  • Gerry Rafferty – vocals, guitar, keyboards
  • Mo Foster– bass
  • Ian Lynn – keyboards
  • Jerry Donahue– guitar
  • Richard Harvey – synthesiser, penny whistle
  • Bryn Haworth– guitar, slide guitar
  • Richard Brunton – guitar
  • Mel Collins– saxophone
  • Betsy Cook– backing vocals
  • Liam Genockey– drums
  • Billy Livsey – piano, keyboards
  • Raphael Ravenscroft– saxophone
  • Frank Ricotti– percussion
  • Pete Wingfield– organ
  • Pete Zorn– bass
  • Billy Wingfield – piano, Moog synthesiser

Track listing:

All tracks by Gerry Rafferty

  1. The Royal Mile (Sweet Darlin’)
  2. I Was a Boy Scout
  3. Welcome to Hollywood
  4. Wastin’ Away
  5. Look at the Moon
  6. Bring It All Home
  7. The Garden of England
  8. Johnny’s Song
  9. Didn’t I
  10. Syncopatin Sandy
  11. Cafe Le Cabotin
  12. Don’t Close the Door

In February 1982.


In February 1982, “Mercury” label released “Beautiful Vision”, the thirteenth Van Morrison studio album. It was recorded in 1981, at “The Record Plant” in Sausalito, California.


  • Van Morrison— guitar, electric piano, vocals
  • David Hayes— bass
  • Mark Isham— synthesizer, trumpet
  • Rob Wasserman— bass guitar
  • John Allair — organ
  • Herbie Armstrong — acoustic guitar
  • Pee Wee Ellis— tenor and baritone saxophones, flute
  • Tom Donlinger — drums
  • Sean Fulsom — Uilleann pipes
  • Chris Hayes — guitar
  • Mark Knopfler— guitar
  • Pauline Lozana — backing vocals
  • Gary Mallaber— drums
  • Chris Michie— guitar
  • Michele Segan — percussion
  • Annie Stocking — backing vocals
  • Bianca Thornton— backing vocals
  • Peter Van Hooke— drums
  • Engineers: Jim Stern and Hugh Murphy
  • Assistant Engineer: Ann Fry
  • Business Arrangements: Paul Charles
  • Cover Concept, Photograph and Design: Rudi Legname

Track listing:

  1. Celtic Ray
  2. Northern Muse – Solid Ground
  3. Dweller on the Threshold – music Van Morrison; lyrics Van Morrison, Hugh Murphy
  4. Beautiful Vision
  5. She Gives Me Religion
  6. Cleaning Windows
  7. Vanlose Stairway
  8. Aryan Mist – music Van Morrison; lyrics Van Morrison, Hugh Murphy
  9. Across the Bridge Where Angels Dwell – music Van Morrison; lyrics Van Morrison, Hugh Murphy
  10. Scandinavia

On January 20, 1978.

City to city

On January 20, 1978, “United Artists” released “City to City”, the second Gerry Rafferty studio album.”City to City” was recorded in 1977,at the “ Chipping  Norton Recording Studios”, and was produced by Hugh Murphy. The album featured the song  “Baker Street”, which reached  5 million plays on British radio, and became Rafferty’s best known song. “City to City” reached gold status in UK, and was awarded platinum certificate by “RIAA”.


  • Gerry Rafferty– piano, acoustic guitar, vocals, backing vocals
  • Tommy Eyre– piano, electric piano, grand piano, Moog synthesizer, organ, keyboards, brass arrangements
  • Jerry Donahue– lead guitar, rhythm guitar, electric guitar
  • Hugh Burns– lead guitar, rhythm guitar, acoustic guitar, electric guitar
  • Nigel Jenkins– lead guitar, rhythm guitar, electric guitar
  • Andy Fairweather-Low– rhythm guitar, electric guitar
  • Micky Moody– acoustic guitar
  • Brian Cole– steel guitar, dobro
  • Mo Foster– bass, backing vocals
  • Graham Preskett– fiddle, mandolin, synthesizer, string machine, string, bass, arrangements
  • Henry Spinetti– drums
  • Glen LeFleur- drums, percussion, tambourine
  • Barbara Dickson– backing vocals
  • Raphael Ravenscroft– saxophone
  • Roger Brown – backing vocals
  • Vivian McAuliff – backing vocals
  • John McBurnie – backing vocals
  • Rab Noakes– backing vocals
  • Paul Jones– harmonica
  • Hugh Murphy – tambourine
  • Willy Ray – accordion
  • Joanna Carlin – backing vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by Gerry Rafferty.

  1. The Ark
  2. Baker Street
  3. Right Down the Line
  4. City to City
  5. Stealin’ Time
  6. Mattie’s Rag
  7. Whatever’s Written In Your Heart
  8. Home and Dry
  9. Island
  10. Waiting for the Day