Tag Archives: Mo Foster

In April 1980.

In April 1980, “United Artists” label released “Snakes and Ladders”, the fourth Gerry Rafferty album. It was recorded in 1980, and was produced by Gerry Rafferty and Hugh Murphy.


  • Gerry Rafferty – vocals, guitar, keyboards
  • Mo Foster– bass
  • Ian Lynn – keyboards
  • Jerry Donahue– guitar
  • Richard Harvey – synthesiser, penny whistle
  • Bryn Haworth– guitar, slide guitar
  • Richard Brunton – guitar
  • Mel Collins– saxophone
  • Betsy Cook– backing vocals
  • Liam Genockey– drums
  • Billy Livsey – piano, keyboards
  • Raphael Ravenscroft– saxophone
  • Frank Ricotti– percussion
  • Pete Wingfield– organ
  • Pete Zorn– bass
  • Billy Wingfield – piano, Moog synthesiser

Track listing:

All tracks by Gerry Rafferty

  1. The Royal Mile (Sweet Darlin’)
  2. I Was a Boy Scout
  3. Welcome to Hollywood
  4. Wastin’ Away
  5. Look at the Moon
  6. Bring It All Home
  7. The Garden of England
  8. Johnny’s Song
  9. Didn’t I
  10. Syncopatin Sandy
  11. Cafe Le Cabotin
  12. Don’t Close the Door

In February 1980.


In February 1980, “Harvest” label released “That’s What You Get Babe”, the ninth Kevin Ayers studio album. It was recorded in 1980, at “Vineyard Studios”, and was produced by Graham Preskett. “That’s What You Get Babe” was the last Ayers album for “Harvest”.


  • Kevin Ayers- guitar, vocals
  • Mo Foster- bass
  • Liam Genockey- drums
  • Ollie Halsall- guitar
  • Roy Jones – percussion
  • Neil Lancaster – vocals
  • Trevor Murrell – drums
  • Graham Preskett – guitar, violin, keyboards, vocals, banjo, mandolin
  • Clare Torry- vocals
  • Geoff Whitehorn- guitar

Track listing:

All tracks by Kevin Ayers.

  1. That’s What You Get
  2. Where Do I Go From Here
  3. You Never Outrun Your Heart
  4. Given And Taken
  5. Idiots
  6. Super Salesman
  7. Money, Money, Money
  8. Miss Hanaga
  9. I’m So Tired
  10. Where Do The Stars End


On January 20, 1978.

City to city

On January 20, 1978, “United Artists” released “City to City”, the second Gerry Rafferty studio album.”City to City” was recorded in 1977,at the “ Chipping  Norton Recording Studios”, and was produced by Hugh Murphy. The album featured the song  “Baker Street”, which reached  5 million plays on British radio, and became Rafferty’s best known song. “City to City” reached gold status in UK, and was awarded platinum certificate by “RIAA”.


  • Gerry Rafferty– piano, acoustic guitar, vocals, backing vocals
  • Tommy Eyre– piano, electric piano, grand piano, Moog synthesizer, organ, keyboards, brass arrangements
  • Jerry Donahue– lead guitar, rhythm guitar, electric guitar
  • Hugh Burns– lead guitar, rhythm guitar, acoustic guitar, electric guitar
  • Nigel Jenkins– lead guitar, rhythm guitar, electric guitar
  • Andy Fairweather-Low– rhythm guitar, electric guitar
  • Micky Moody– acoustic guitar
  • Brian Cole– steel guitar, dobro
  • Mo Foster– bass, backing vocals
  • Graham Preskett– fiddle, mandolin, synthesizer, string machine, string, bass, arrangements
  • Henry Spinetti– drums
  • Glen LeFleur- drums, percussion, tambourine
  • Barbara Dickson– backing vocals
  • Raphael Ravenscroft– saxophone
  • Roger Brown – backing vocals
  • Vivian McAuliff – backing vocals
  • John McBurnie – backing vocals
  • Rab Noakes– backing vocals
  • Paul Jones– harmonica
  • Hugh Murphy – tambourine
  • Willy Ray – accordion
  • Joanna Carlin – backing vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by Gerry Rafferty.

  1. The Ark
  2. Baker Street
  3. Right Down the Line
  4. City to City
  5. Stealin’ Time
  6. Mattie’s Rag
  7. Whatever’s Written In Your Heart
  8. Home and Dry
  9. Island
  10. Waiting for the Day