Tag Archives: Allan Holdsworth

In January 1978.

In January 1978, “EG” and “Polydor” labels released “Feels Good to Me”, the debut Bill Bruford album. It was recorded in August 1977, at “Trident Studios” in London, and was produced by Robin Lumley and Bill Bruford.


  • Bill Bruford– drums, percussion
  • Allan Holdsworth– electric guitar
  • Dave Stewart– keyboards
  • Jeff Berlin– bass
  • Kenny Wheeler– flugelhorn
  • Annette Peacock– vocals
  • John Goodsall– additional guitar
  • John Clark – additional guitar
  • Neil Murray– additional bass
  • John Brand, Colin Green, Stephen Short – tape operators
  • Stephen W Tayler – engineer
  • Peter Revill, Mick Rossi – equipment technicians

Track listing:

All tracks by Bill Bruford except where noted.

  1. Beelzebub
  2. Back to the Beginning
  3. Seems Like a Lifetime Ago (Part One)
  4. Seems Like a Lifetime Ago (Part Two)
  5. Sample and Hold – Bill Bruford, Dave Stewart
  6. Feels Good to Me
  7. Either End of August
  8. If You Can’t Stand the Heat…- Bill Bruford, Dave Stewart
  9. Springtime in Siberia – Bill Bruford, Dave Stewart
  10. Adios a la pasada (Goodbye to the Past) – Bill Bruford, Annette Peacock

On October 3, 1989.


On October 3, 1989, “Epic” label released “A Question of Time”, the ninth Jack Bruce studio album. It was recorded in 1989, and was produced by Jack Bruce and Joe Blaney.


  • Jack Bruce – vocals, bass, keyboards, piano, cello, acoustic guitar, synthesizer, harmonica
  • Jimmy Ripp, Vernon Reid, Albert Collins, Vivian Campbell, Malcolm Bruce – guitar
  • Paul Barrere- slide guitar
  • Allan Holdsworth- guitar, SynthAxe
  • Bernie Worrell- piano, keyboards, Melodica, Hammond organ, synth, Clavinet, backing vocals
  • Nicky Hopkins, Jonas Bruce – piano
  • Dougie Bowne, Ginger Baker, Tony Williams – drums
  • Mark Nauseef- Ghanaian drums, percussion
  • Zakir Hussain– tablas
  • Steve Jordan– percussion
  • The Savage Horns – John Abernathy saxophone
  • Gary “Bone” Cooper – backing vocals
  • The Golden Gate Boys Choir, The SoMa Footlights Chorus – choir

Track listing:

All tracks by Jack Bruce.

  1. Life on Earth
  2. Make Love
  3. No Surrender
  4. Flying
  5. Hey Now Princess
  6. Blues You Can’t Lose
  7. Obsession
  8. Kwela
  9. Let Me Be
  10. Only Playing Games
  11. A Question of Time
  12. Grease the Wheels

On May 20, 1996.

On May 20, 1996, “Nox Music” label released “Stare”, the third Gorky Park album. It was recorded 1995 – 1996, at “MIR Studios” in Los Angeles, “GDRZ Studio – 5” in Moscow, and was produced by Alexandre “Big Sasha” Minkov, Alexei Belov, Alexandre “Jan” Janenkov, Alexandre “Little Sasha” Lvov and Nikolai Kuzminih.


  • Alexandre “Big Sasha” Minkov – lead vocals, bass guitar
  • Alexei Belov – guitar, keyboards, backing vocals
  • Alexandre “Jan” Janenkov – guitar
  • Alexandre “Little Sasha” Lvov – drums
  • Nikolai Kuzminih – keyboards
  • Allan Holdsworth– guitar
  • Dorothy Colman – harmonica, backing vocals
  • Ester Nicholson, Latonya Reed – backing vocals
  • Ron Powel – percussion
  • Moscow Philharmonic Orchestra- orchestral arrangements

Track listing:

All music by Alexei Belov, except where noted.

  1. Stare – lyrics by Johannes, N.Shneider
  2. California Promises – lyrics by Alexei Belov
  3. Five Wheel Drive – lyrics by Johannes, N.Shneider
  4. Ego – music by Alexei Belov, Alexandre Minkov, lyrics by Johannes, N.Shneider
  5. Stop the World I Want to Get Off – lyrics by Alexei Belov
  6. Taga – music by Nikolai Kuzminih
  7. Don’t Make Me Stay – lyrics by Alexei Belov
  8. Live For…- lyrics by Alexei Belov
  9. Scared – lyric by Alexei Belov
  10. Animal Shelter – lyrics by Johannes, N.Shneider
  11. Ocean – Alexei Belov


On May 8, 2007.

On May 8, 2007, “Koch” label released “The Atacama Experience”, the 32nd Jean-Luc Ponty album. It was recorded in 2007, and was produced by Jean-Luc Ponty.


  • Jean-Luc Ponty– violin, keyboards, synthesizer, effects, engineer
  • William Lecomte – piano, keyboards
  • Philip Catherine– guitar
  • Allan Holdsworth– guitar
  • Guy N’Sangue – bass guitar
  • Thierry Arpino – drums
  • Taffa Cissé – percussion
  • Greg Calbi – mastering
  • Karim Sai – engineer, mixing
  • Claudia Ponty – cover photo
  • Kimberly Wright – photography
  • Frederic Houis – photography
  • Jacky Lepage – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Jean-Luc Ponty, except where noted.

  1. Intro
  2. Parisian Thoroughfare – Bud Powell
  3. Premonition
  4. Point of No Return
  5. Back in the 60’s
  6. Without Regrets
  7. Celtic Steps
  8. Desert Crossing
  9. Last Memories of Her
  10. The Atacama Experience
  11. On My Way to Bombay
  12. Still in Love
  13. Euphoria – William Lecomte
  14. To and Fro

On March 22, 1975.

On March 22, 1975, “Harvest” label released “Bundles”, the eighth Soft Machine  album. It was recorded in July 1974 at “CBS Whitfield St Studios” in London, and was produced by Roy Babbington, Allan Holdsworth, Karl Jenkins, John Marshall and Mike Ratledge.


  • Allan Holdsworth– acoustic, 12-string and electric guitars
  • Roy Babbington– bass guitar
  • Karl Jenkins– oboe, piano, electric piano, soprano saxophone
  • John Marshall– drums, percussion
  • Mike Ratledge– Lowrey Holiday Deluxe organ, Fender Rhodes electric piano, AKS synthesizer
  • Ray Warleigh– alto and bass flute

Track listing

All tracks by Karl Jenkins except where noted.

  1. Hazard Profile Part One
  2. Hazard Profile Part Two (Toccatina)
  3. Hazard Profile Part Three
  4. Hazard Profile Part Four
  5. Hazard Profile Part Five
  6. Gone Sailing – Allan Holdsworth
  7. Bundles
  8. Land of the Bag Snake – Allan Holdsworth
  9. The Man Who Waved at Trains – Mike Ratledge
  10. Peff – Mike Ratledge
  11. Four Gongs Two Drums – John Marshall
  12. The Floating World

On December 1, 2001.

On December 1, 2001, “Megazoidal Records” label released “Flat Tire: Music for a Non-Existent Movie”, the eleventh and the final Allan Holdsworth studio album. It was recorded in 2001, at “The House” in San Juan Capistrano, California, and was produced by Allan Holdsworth.


  • Allan Holdsworth– guitar, SynthAxe, drum programming
  • Dave Carpenter– bass
  • Chris Bellman – mastering

Track listing:

All tracks by Allan Holdsworth.

  1. The Duplicate Man (Intro)
  2. The Duplicate Man
  3. Eeny Meeny
  4. Please Hold On
  5. Snow Moon
  6. Curves
  7. So Long
  8. Bo Peep
  9. Don’t You Know

On September 1, 1977.

On September 1, 1977, “Atlantic” label released “Enigmatic Ocean”, the sixteen  Jean-Luc Ponty album. It was recorded June – July 1977, and was produced by Jean-Luc Ponty.


  • Jean-Luc Ponty– electric violin, five-string electric violin, violectra, bells, grand piano, orchestration, arrangements
  • Allan Holdsworth– lead electric guitar
  • Daryl Stuermer– lead and rhythm electric guitar
  • Allan Zavod– organ, synthesizer, electric piano, grand piano, clavinet
  • Ralphe Armstrong– electric basses, fretless bass
  • Steve Smith– drums and percussion

Track listing:

All tracks by Jean-Luc Ponty.

  1. Overture
  2. The Trans-Love Express
  3. Mirage
  4. Enigmatic Ocean – Part I
  5. Enigmatic Ocean – Part II
  6. Enigmatic Ocean – Part III
  7. Enigmatic Ocean – Part IV
  8. Nostalgic Lady
  9. The Struggle of the Turtle to the Sea – Part I
  10. The Struggle of the Turtle to the Sea – Part II
  11. The Struggle of the Turtle to the Sea – Part III