Tag Archives: Hugh Hopper

On October 17, 1988.

On October 17, 1988, “Harvest” label released “Opel”, and album compiled from Syd Barrett’s recordings made between 1968 and 1970. It features unreleased material and alternate takes of recordings from sessions for Barrett’s solo albums, “The Madcap Laughs”,  and “Barrett”. It was recorded at “Abbey Road Studios” in London and was produced by Syd Barrett, Peter Jenner, Malcolm Jones, Roger Waters, and David Gilmour.


  • Syd Barrett – vocals, guitar
  • Mike Ratledge – organ
  • Robert Wyatt – drums
  • Hugh Hopper – bass
  • Gareth Cousins – mix engineer

Track listing”

All tracks by Syd Barrett, except where noted.

  1. Opel
  2. Clown and Jugglers
  3. Rats
  4. Golden Hair – lyrics based on a poem by James Joyce
  5. Dolly Rocker
  6. Word Song
  7. Wined and Dined
  8. Swan Lee (Silas Lang)
  9. Birdie Hop
  10. Let’s Split
  11. Lanky (Party One)
  12. Wouldn’t You Miss Me (Dark Globe)
  13. Milky Way
  14. Golden Hair (instrumental version)

In November 1969.

In November 1969, “Harvest” label released “Joy of a Toy”, the debut Kevin Ayers solo album. It was recorded June – September 1969, at “Abbey Road Studios” in London, and was produced by Kevin Ayers and Peter Jenner.


  • Kevin Ayers– guitars, bass, vocals
  • Robert Wyatt– drums
  • David Bedford– piano, mellotron, arranger
  • Mike Ratledge– organ
  • Hugh Hopper– bass
  • Paul Buckmaster– cello
  • Rob Tait – drums
  • Paul Minns – oboe
  • Peter Mews – engineer
  • Laurie Asprey – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Kevin Ayers

  1. Joy of a Toy Continued
  2. Town Feeling
  3. The Clarietta Rag
  4. Girl on a Swing
  5. Song for Insane Times
  6. Stop This Train (Again Doing It)
  7. Eleanor’s Cake (Which Ate Her)
  8. The Lady Rachel
  9. Oleh Oleh Bandu Bandong
  10. All This Crazy Gift of Time

In December 1968.


In December 1968, “Probe” label released the self titled, debut Soft Machine album. It was recorded April 1968, at “Record Plant Studios” in New York City, and was produced by Chas Chandler and Tom Wilson. It was the first album ever recorded in “Record Plant Studios” and was engineered by the studio co-founder Gary Kellgren.


  • Robert Wyatt – drums, lead vocals
  • Mike Ratledge – Lowrey Holiday De Luxe organ, piano
  • Kevin Ayers – bass, lead vocals , backing vocals, piano
  • Hugh Hopper – bass
  • The Cake – backing vocals
  • Byron Goto, Eli Allman & Henry Epstein – cover art

Track listing

  1. Hope for Happiness – Kevin Ayers, Mike Ratledge, Brian Hopper
  2. Joy of a Toy – Kevin Ayers, Mike Ratledge
  3. Hope for Happines (Reprise) – Kevin Ayers, Mike Ratledge, Brian Hopper
  4. Why Am I So Short? – Mike Ratledge, Kevin Ayers, Hugh Hopper
  5. So Boot If At All – Kevin Ayers, Mike Ratledge, Robert Wyatt
  6. A Certain Kind – Hugh Hopper
  7. Save yourself – Robert Wyatt
  8. Priscilla – Kevin Ayers, Mike Ratledge, Robert Wyatt
  9. Lullabye Letter – Kevin Ayers
  10. We Did it Again – Kevin Ayers
  11. Plus Belle qu’une Poubelle – Kevin Ayers
  12. Why Are We Sleeping – Kevin Ayers, Mike Ratledge, Robert Wyatt
  13. Box 25/4 Ltd. – Mike Ratledge, Hugh Hopper

On July 26, 1974.

Rock bottom

On July 26, 1974,”Virgin” label released “Rock Bottom”, the second Robert Wyatt album.  It was recorded in 1974, at “Delfina’s Farm” in Little Bedwyn, Wiltshire; “The Manor Studio” in Oxfordshire and “CBS Studios” in London, and was produced by Nick Mason.


  • Robert Wyatt– vocals, keyboards, percussion, slide guitar
  • Mike Oldfield– guitar
  • Gary Windo– bass clarinet, tenor saxophone
  • Ivor Cutler– voice, baritone concertina, harmonium
  • Alfreda Benge– voice
  • Mongezi Feza– trumpets
  • Fred Frith– viola
  • Hugh Hopper– bass guitar
  • Richard Sinclair– bass guitar
  • Laurie Allan– drums
  • Steve Cox – engineer
  • Dick Palmer – engineer
  • Toby Bird – assistant engineer

Track listing:

All tracks by Robert Wyatt.

  1. Sea Song
  2. A Last Straw
  3. Little Red Riding Hood Hit the Road
  4. Alifib
  5. Alife
  6. Little Red Robin Hood Hit the Road

On June 6, 1970.


On June 6, 1970, “CBS” label released “Third”, the third Soft Machine studio album. It was recorded April – May 1970 at “IBC” in London, “Facelift” was recorded live in Croydon and Birmingham, January 1970, and was produced by Mike Ratledge, Hugh Hopper, Robert Wyatt and Elton Dean.


  • Mike Ratledge– Hohner Pianet, Lowrey organ, piano
  • Hugh Hopper– bass guitar
  • Robert Wyatt– drums, vocals, Hammond organ, Mellotron, Hohner Pianet, piano, bass
  • Elton Dean– alto saxophone, saxello
  • Lyn Dobson– soprano saxophone, flute
  • Jimmy Hastings– flute, bass clarinet
  • Rab Spall– violin
  • Nick Evans– trombone

Track listing:

  1. Facelift – Hugh Hopper
  2. Slightly All the Time – Mike Ratledge
  • Noisette – Hugh Hopper
  • Backwards – Mike Ratledge
  • Noisette Reprise Hugh Hopper
  1. Moon in June – Robert Wyatt
  2. Out-Bloody-Rageous – Mike Ratledge

On February 28, 1971.

Soft_Machine - fourth

On February 28, 1971, “CBS” released “Fourth”, the fourth Soft Machine” studio album. It was recorded October – November 1970, at “Olympic Studios” in London, and was produced by Hugh Hopper, Mike Ratledge, Robert Wyatt, Elton Dean and Roy Babbington.



  • Hugh Hopper – bass guitar
  • Mike Ratledge – Lowrey organ, Hohner piano, acoustic piano
  • Robert Wyatt – drums
  • Elton Dean – alto saxophone, saxello
  • Roy Babbington – double bass
  • Mark Charig – cornet
  • Nick Evans – trombone
  • Jimmy Hastings – alto flute, bass clarinet
  • Alan Skidmore – tenor saxophone

Track listing:

  1. Teeth – Mike Ratledge
  2. Kings and Queens – Hugh Hopper
  3. Fletcher’s Blemish – Elton Dean
  4. Virtually Part 1 – Hugh Hopper
  5. Virtually Part 2 – Hugh Hopper
  6. Virtually Part 3 – Hugh Hopper
  7. Virtually Part 4 – Hugh Hopper

On January 3, 1970.

Syd Barrett - Mad Cap Laughs

On January 3, 1970, “Harvest” label released “The Madcap Laughs”, the debut Syd Barrett solo album.  It was recorded May 1968 – August 1969, at the “Abbey Road Studios” in London, and was produced by Syd Barrett, Peter Jenner, Malcolm Jones, David Gilmour and Roger Waters.


  • Syd Barrett– acoustic and electric guitar, vocals, production
  • David Gilmour– bass guitar, 12-string acoustic guitar, drums
  • Jerry Shirley– drums
  • Willie Wilson– bass guitar
  • Robert Wyatt– drums
  • Hugh Hopper– bass guitar
  • Mike Ratledge– keyboards
  • Mick Rock– photography
  • Storm Thorgerson and Aubrey Powell of Hipgnosis – cover designs

Track listing:

All tracks by Syd Barrett, except “Golden Hair” – music by Syd Barrett, based on a poem by James Joyce.

  1. Terrapin
  2. No Good Trying
  3. Love You
  4. No Man’s Land
  5. Dark Globe
  6. Here I Go
  7. Octopus
  8. Golden Hair
  9. Long Gone
  10. She Took A Long Cold Look
  11. Feel
  12. If It’s in You
  13. Late Night