Tag Archives: Bill Evans

Bill Evans: Interplay

In June 1963, “Riverside” label released “Interplay”, the thirteenth Bill Evans album. It was recorded in July 1962, at “Sound Makers Studio” in New York City, and was produced by Orrin Keepnews.


  • Bill Evans – piano
  • Freddie Hubbard – trumpet
  • Jim Hall – guitar
  • Percy Heath – bass
  • Philly Joe Jones – drums

Track listing:

  1. You and the Night and the Music – Howard Dietz, Arthur Schwartz
  2. When You Wish upon a Star – Leigh Harline, Ned Washington
  3. I’ll Never Smile Again (take 7; original take) – Ruth Lowe
  4. Interplay – Bill Evans
  5. You Go to My Head – J. Fred Coots, Haven Gillespie
  6. Wrap Your Troubles in Dreams (And Dream Your Troubles Away) – Harry Barris, Ted Koehler, Billy Moll

Ahmad Jamal: Ballades

On September 13, 2019, “Jazz Village” label released “Ballades”, the 69th Ahmad Jamal album.


  • Ahmad Jamal – piano
  • James Cammack – bass 

Track listing:

All tracks by Ahmad Jamal, except where noted.

  1. Marseille
  2. Because I Love You
  3. I Should Care – Paul Weston, Axel Stordahl, Sammy Cahn
  4. Poinciana – Nat Simon, Buddy Bernier
  5. Land of Dreams – Eddie Heywood, Jr., Norman Gimbel
  6. What’s New? – Bob Haggart, Johnny Burke
  7. So Rare – Jerry Herst, Jack Sharpe
  8. Whisperings
  9. Spring is Here – Richard Rodgers, Lorenz Hart / Your Story – Bill Evans
  10. Emily – Johnny Mandel, Johnny Mercer

On January 21, 2013.

On January 21, 2014, “High Note” label released “Icons & Influences”, the 32nd George Cables album. It was recorded in September 2013, at “Systems Two” in Brooklyn, New York, and was produced by George Cables.


  • George Cables – piano
  • Dezron Douglas – bass
  • Victor Lewis – drums

Track listing:

All tracks by George Cables except where noted

  1. Cedar Walton
  2. Farewell Mulgrew
  3. Happiness
  4. The Duke – Dave Brubeck
  5. Come Sunday – Duke Ellington
  6. Little B’s Poem – Bobby Hutcherson
  7. Nature Boy – Eden Ahbez
  8. Very Early – Bill Evans
  9. Isotope – Joe Henderson
  10. The Very Thought of You – Ray Noble
  11. Mo’ Pan – Aldwyn Roberts
  12. Blue Heart – Benny Golson

On October 16, 1989.

On October 16, 1989, “Columbia” label released “We Meet Again”, the 62nd Ramsey Lewis album. It was recorded 1988 – 1989, at “Master Sound Studios” in New York City, and was produced by Gary Schultz and Ramsey Lewis.


  • Ramsey Lewis – piano
  • Billy Taylor – piano

Track listing:

  1. I’m Just a Lucky So and So – Duke Ellington
  2. Django – John Lewis
  3. ‘Cookin’ at the Continental – Horace Silver
  4. Somewhere Soon – Billy Taylor
  5. We Meet Again – Chick Corea
  6. Quiet Now – Denny Zeitlin
  7. Soul Sister – Billy Taylor
  8. Waltz for Debby – Bill Evans
  9. Nigerian Marketplace – Oscar Peterson

On September 5, 2020.

On September 5, 2020, Gary Peacock died aged 85. He was a musician (bass), one of the most important figures in modern jazz history. He recorded and performed with major jazz figures such as Albert Ayler, Paul Bley, Bill Evans, Keith Jarret, Frank Amsallem, Bill Carrothers, Marc Copland, Marilyn Crispell, Don Ellis, Clare Fischer, Barney Kessel, Sonny Simmons, Prince Lasha, Misha Mengelberg, Don Pullen, Bud Shank, Ravi Shankar, John Surman, Ralph Towner, Mal Waldrom, Tony Williams, Jack DeJohnette, Jimmy Woods, Toninho Horta, and Masabumi Kikuchi. As leader, he released twelve albums.

On August 15, 2006.

On August 15, 2006, “Chesky” label released “Structures”, the 36th John Abercrombie album. It was recorded in March 2006, at “St. Peter’s Episcopal Church” in New York City, and was produced by Charles Carlini and David Chesky.


  • John Abercrombie – guitar
  • Eddie Gómez– double bass
  • Gene Jackson – drums

Track listing:

  1. Jazz Folk – John Abercrombie
  2. The Touch of Your Lips – Ray Noble
  3. Moon and Sand – Alec Wilder, Morty Palitz, William Engvick
  4. Walter Pigeon – Eddie Gomez
  5. Everything I Love – Cole Porter
  6. Embraceable You – George Gershwin, Ira Gershwin
  7. 3 for Three – John Abercrombie
  8. Turn out the Stars – Bill Evans
  9. Missing You – Eddie Gomez
  10. How Deep Is the Ocean – Irving Berlin


In August 1962.

In August 1962, “United Artists” label released “Undercurrent”, an album by Bill Evans and Jim Hall. It was recorded April – May 1962, at “Sound Makers” in New York City, and was produced by Alan Douglas.


  • Bill Evans– piano
  • Jim Hall– guitar

Track listing:

  1. My Funny Valentine – Richard Rodgers, Lorenz Hart
  2. I Hear a Rhapsody – Jack Baker, George Fragos, Dick Gasparre
  3. Dream Gypsy – Judith Veevers
  4. Romain – Jim Hall
  5. Skating in Central Park – John Lewis
  6. Darn That Dream – Eddie DeLange, Jimmy Van Heusen

On May 24, 2020.

On May 24, 2020, Wilbur James Cobb died aged 91. He was musician (drums), one of the most influential and respected drummers in Jazz music. He has recorded and performed with many musicians including Miles Davis, John Coltrane, Wayne Shorter, Dinah Washington, Pearl Bailey, Clark Terry, Cannonball Adderley, Dizzy Gillespie, Sarah Vaughan, Billie Holiday, Wynton Kelly, Stan Getz, Wes Montgomery, Art Pepper, Gil Evans, Paul Chambers, Kenny Burrell, J. J. Johnson, Sonny Stitt, Nat Adderley, Phil Upchurch, Benny Golson, Hank Jones, Ron Carter, George Coleman, Fathead Newman, Geri Allen, Earl Bostic, Leo Parker, Charlie Rouse, Ernie Royal, Philly Joe Jones, Bobby Timmons, Walter Booker, Jerome Richardson, Joey DeFrancesco, Keter Betts, Jimmy Cleveland, Sam Jones, Red Garland, Joe Henderson, Eddie Gómez, Bill Evans, Jeremy Steig, Richard Wyands, Peter Bernstein, Walter Bishop, Jr., Richie Cole, Nancy Wilson, Ricky Ford, David Amram, Donald Byrd, Kenny Barron and Toshiko Akiyoshi. Cobb recorded 17 albums as a leader.


On May 6, 2016.

On May 6, 2016, “ECM” label released “In Movement”, the 37th Jack DeJohnette album. It was recorded in 2015, “Avatar Studios” in New York City, and was produced by Manfred Eicher.


  • Jack DeJohnette– drums, piano, electronic percussion
  • Ravi Coltrane– sopranino saxophone, soprano saxophone, tenor saxophone
  • Matthew Garrison– electric bass, electronics

Track listing:

All tracks by Ravi Coltrane, Jack DeJohnette and Matthew Garrison except where noted.

  1. Alabama – John Coltrane
  2. In Movement
  3. Two Jimmys
  4. Blue in Green – Miles Davis, Bill Evans
  5. Serpentine Fire – Reginald Burke, Maurice White, Verdine White
  6. Lydia – Jack DeJohnette
  7. Rashied – Ravi Coltrane, Jack DeJohnette
  8. Soulful Ballad – Jack DeJohnette

On April 15, 2020.

On April 15, 2020, Lee Konitz died aged 92. He was composer and musician (alto saxophone), performing in a wide range of jazz styles, including bebop, cool jazz, and avant-garde jazz, noted for improvising long, melodic lines with the rhythmic interest coming from odd accents, Konitz has recorded and performed with many famous musicians including Miles Davis, Ornette Coleman, Elvin Jones, Charlie Haden, Dave Holland, Lennie Tristano, Stan Kenton, Chick Corea, Gerry Mulligan, Claude Thornhill, Ralph Burns, Gil Evans, Warne Marsh, Dave Pike, Attila Zoller, Charles Mingus, Dave Brubeck, Warne Marsh, Hal Galper, Bill Evans, Martial Solal, Max Roach, Don Friedman, Kenny Wheeler, Kenny Werner, Brian Dickenson, Paul Motian,  Bill Frisell, Gary Peacock, and Joey Baron.