Tag Archives: Bill Bruford

On January 14, 2003.

On January 14, 2003, “Sensory” label released “Emergent”, the second Gordian Knot  studio album. It was recorded in 2002, at “Wolf Studios” in London, “Knotwork Studios” in Oregon, “Beall Concert Hall” in Eugene, and was produced by Scott Burns, Sean Malone and Mark Prator.


  • Sean Malone– vocals, bass guitar, Chapman stick, fretless guitar, keyboards, e-bow, echoplex, loops
  • Paul Masvidal – vocals, guitars
  • Bob Brunin – vocals, guitars, fretless guitars
  • Jason Göbel – guitars
  • Jim Matheos – acoustic guitars
  • Steve Hackett – guitars
  • Sean Reinert- drums, v-drums, percussion
  • Bill Bruford – drums
  • Sonia Lynn – vocals

Track listing:

  1. Arsis
  2. Muttersprache
  3. A Shaman’s Whisper
  4. Fischer’s Gambit
  5. Grace (live)
  6. Some Brighter Thing
  7. The Brook the Ocean
  8. Singing Deep Mountain

In January 1978.

In January 1978, “EG” and “Polydor” labels released “Feels Good to Me”, the debut Bill Bruford album. It was recorded in August 1977, at “Trident Studios” in London, and was produced by Robin Lumley and Bill Bruford.


  • Bill Bruford– drums, percussion
  • Allan Holdsworth– electric guitar
  • Dave Stewart– keyboards
  • Jeff Berlin– bass
  • Kenny Wheeler– flugelhorn
  • Annette Peacock– vocals
  • John Goodsall– additional guitar
  • John Clark – additional guitar
  • Neil Murray– additional bass
  • John Brand, Colin Green, Stephen Short – tape operators
  • Stephen W Tayler – engineer
  • Peter Revill, Mick Rossi – equipment technicians

Track listing:

All tracks by Bill Bruford except where noted.

  1. Beelzebub
  2. Back to the Beginning
  3. Seems Like a Lifetime Ago (Part One)
  4. Seems Like a Lifetime Ago (Part Two)
  5. Sample and Hold – Bill Bruford, Dave Stewart
  6. Feels Good to Me
  7. Either End of August
  8. If You Can’t Stand the Heat…- Bill Bruford, Dave Stewart
  9. Springtime in Siberia – Bill Bruford, Dave Stewart
  10. Adios a la pasada (Goodbye to the Past) – Bill Bruford, Annette Peacock

On November 22, 1979.

On November 22, 1979, “Atlantic” label released “The Steve Howe Album”, the second Steve Howe album. It was recorded in 1979, and was produced by Steve Howe.


  • Steve Howe – acoustic, electric, bass, Spanish, Danelectro sitar and pedal steel guitar, mandolin, six-string banjo, Moog synthesizer, string ensembl
  • Claire Hamill– vocals
  • Ronnie Leahy– Korg & ARP synthesizers, Hammond organ
  • Patrick Moraz– piano
  • Alan White– drums
  • Bill Bruford– drums
  • Clive Bunker– percussion
  • Graham Preskett – violin
  • 59 piece classical orchestra arranged and conducted by Andrew Jackman

Track listing:

All tracks by Steve Howe except where noted.

  1. Pennants
  2. Cactus Boogie
  3. All’s a Chord
  4. Diary of a Man Who Vanished
  5. Look Over Your Shoulder
  6. Meadow Rag
  7. The Continental – Con Conrad, Herb Magidson
  8. Surface Tension
  9. Double Rondo – music by Steve Howe, orchestrated by Andrew Jackman
  10. Concerto In D (Second Movement) – Antonio Vivaldi, arranged by Steve Howe

On February 27, 2001.

On February 27, 2001, “Summerfold Records” label released “The Sound of Surprise”, the seventh Bill Bruford’s Earthworks album. It was recorded in November 2000, at “Livingston Studios” in London, and was produced by Bill Bruford.


  • Bill Bruford– drums
  • Patrick Clahar – saxophones
  • Steve Hamilton – piano
  • Mark Hodgson – bass
  • Mark Chamberlain – engineer
  • David Singleton- mastering
  • Dave McKean – illustration, design, photography

Track listing:

  1. Revel Without a Pause – Bill Bruford, Steve Hamilton
  2. Triplicity – Bill Bruford, Steve Hamilton
  3. Shadow of a Doubt – Bill Bruford, Steve Hamilton
  4. Teaching Vera to Dance – Bill Bruford
  5. Half Life – Bill Bruford
  6. Come to Dust – Bill Bruford, Steve Hamilton
  7. Cloud Cuckoo Land – Bill Bruford
  8. Never the Same Way Once – Bill Bruford
  9. The Wooden Man Sings, and the Stone Woman Dances – Bill Bruford

In June 1975.

In June 1975, “Harvest” label released “HQ”, the eighth Roy Harper studio album. It was recorded in March 1975 at “Abbey Road Studios” in London, and was produced by Peter Jenner. The album artwork was by Hipgnosis.


  • Roy Harper– vocals, guitar
  • David Gilmour– guitar
  • John Paul Jones– bass
  • Steve Broughton –drums
  • Chris Spedding– guitar
  • Bill Bruford– drums
  • Dave Cochran –bass
  • TheGrimethorpe Colliery Band – brass

Track listing:

All tracks by Roy Harper

  1. The Game (Parts 1–5)
  2. he Spirit Lives
  3. Grown Ups Are Just Silly Children
  4. Referendum (Legend)
  5. Forget Me Not
  6. Hallucinating Light
  7. When an Old Cricketer Leaves the Crease


In March 1978.

In March 1978, “E.G. Records” label released the debut, self-titled U.K. album. It was recorded December 1977-January 1978, at “Trident Studios” in London, and was produced by Alan Holdsworth, Eddie Jobson, John Wetton and Bill Bruford. In 2015, “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked the album at number 35 in its list of the “Best Progressive Albums All Time”.


  • Allan Holdsworth– guitar
  • Eddie Jobson– keyboards, electric violin, electronics
  • John Wetton– bass, lead and backing vocals
  • Bill Bruford– drums, percussion
  • Stephen W Tayler– engineering, mixing

Track listing:

  1. In the Dead of Night – Eddie Jobson, John Wetton
  2. By the Light of Day – Eddie Jobson, Jogn Wetton
  3. Presto Vivace and Reprise – Eddie Jobson, John Wetton
  4. Thirty Years – John Wetton, Eddie Jobson, Bill Bruford
  5. Alaska – Eddie Jobson
  6. Time To Kill – Eddie Jobson, John Wetton, Bill Bruford
  7. Nevermore – Allan Holdsworth, Eddie Jobson, John Wetton
  8. Mental Medication – Alan Holdsworth, Bill Bruford, Eddie Jobson

On January 31, 2017.


On January 31, 2017, John Kenneth Wetton died aged 67. He was singer, bassist, and songwriter, best known as founding member and bass player of King Crimson and Asia. He has recorded and performed with Mogul Thrash, Family,  Roxy Music, Uriah Heep, U.K., Jack-Knife, Wishbone Ash, Phenomena, Gordon Haskell, Renaissance, Qango, Brian Eno, Ayreon,Steve Howe, Bill Bruford, Geoff Downes, Larry Norman, Alan White, Billy Sherwood, Peter Banks, Bryan Ferry, Pete Sinfield, Roger Chapman, Duncan Mackay, Atoll, District 97, Ayreon, Eddie Jobson, David Cross and Steve Hackett. Wetton also had successful solo career and has released six solo studio albums.