Tag Archives: John McLaughlin

On November 9, 1993.

On November 9, 1993, “Verve” label released “Time Remembered: John McLaughlin Plays Bill Evans”, the ninth John McLaughlin solo album. It was recorded March 1993,  and was produced by John McLaughlin.


  • John McLaughlin– acoustic guitar, mixing supervision, linear notes
  • Alexandre Delfa – acoustic guitar
  • Yan Maresz – acoustic bass
  • Pascal Rabatti – acoustic guitar
  • François Szonyi – acoustic guitar
  • Jean-Philippe Allard – executive producer
  • Paolo Bocchi – assistant engineer
  • Dario Bontempi, Max Costa – engineer
  • Charles French, Jean-Pierre Larcher – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Bill Evans; except where noted.

  1. Prologue
  2. Very Early (Homage to Bill Evans) – Bill Evans, John McLaughlin
  3. Only Child
  4. Waltz for Debby – Bill Evans, Gene Lees
  5. Homage – John McLaughlin
  6. My Bells
  7. Time Remembered
  8. Song for Helen
  9. Turn Out the Stars
  10. We Will Meet Again
  11. Epilogue



On October 16, 2012.

On October 16, 2012, “Abstract Logix” label released “Now Here This” the 17th John McLaughlin album, and the second one with The 4th Dimension. It was recorded in 2012, and was produced by John McLaughlin.


  • John McLaughlin– electric and synthesizer guitar
  • Ranjit Barot– drums
  • Gary Husband– drums, piano, synthesizer
  • Étienne M’Bappé – electric bass, fretless bass
  • Frédéric Betin – engineer
  • Marcus Wippersberg – engineer, mastering, mixing

Track listing:

All tracks by John McLaughlin.

  1. Trancefusion
  2. Riff Raff
  3. Echoes from Then
  4. Wonderfall
  5. Call and Answer
  6. Not Here Not There
  7. Guitar Love
  8. Take It or Leave It

On October 15, 1996.

On October 15, 1996, “Verve” label released “The Guitar Trio”, album by Al Di Meola, Paco de Lucía and John McLaughlin. It was recorded May – July 1996, at “Real World Studios” in England, and was produced by Al Di Meola, John McLaughlin and Paco de Lucía.


  • Al Di Meola– guitar,  percussion – plays Ovation and Hermanos Conde guitar-percution, hands, shaker
  • John McLaughlin– guitar – plays Wechter guitar and D’Addario strings
  • Paco de Lucía– guitar – plays Hermanos Conde guitar

Track listing:

  1. La Estiba – Paco de Lucía
  2. Beyond the Mirage – Al Di Meola
  3. Midsummer Night – John McLaughlin
  4. Manhã de Carnaval – Luiz Bonfá, Antônio Maria
  5. Letter from India – John McLaughlin
  6. Espiritu – Al Di Meola
  7. Le Monastère dans les Montagnes – John McLaughlin
  8. Azzura – Al Di Meola
  9. Cardeosa – Paco de Lucía

On October 14, 2003.

On October 14, 2003, “Verve” label released “Thieves and Poets”, the 13th John McLaughlin album. It was recorded in June 2002, and was produced by John McLaughlin.


  • John McLaughlin — guitar
  • Helmut Schartlmüller — bass
  • Matt Haimovitz — cello
  • Paul Meyer — clarinet
  • Viktoria Mullova — violin
  • Renato Rivolta — conductor
  • Yan Maresz — orchestration, sound design
  • Pascal Bod, Maureen Murphy, John Newcott — release coordinator
  • Lïla Guilloteau — assistant coordinator
  • Marcus Wippersberg — recording, mixing
  • Christian Pégand — production coordination
  • Christoph Stickel — mastering
  • Guido Andreani, Peppe de Angelis — assistant engineer
  • Thomas Dorn — cover photo
  • Ira McLaughlin — photography

Track listing:

All tracks by John McLaughlin, except where noted

  1. Thieves and Poets, Pt. 1
  2. Thieves and Poets, Pt. 2
  3. Thieves and Poets, Pt. 3
  4. My Foolish Heart – Ned Washington, Victor Young
  5. The Dolphin – Luiz Eça
  6. Stella by Starlight – Ned Washington, Victor Young
  7. My Romance – Lorenz Hart, Richard Rodgers

On October 8, 1976.

On October 8, 1976, “Nemperor” label released “School Days”, the fourth Stanley Clarke studio album. It was recorded in June 1976, at “Electric Lady Studios” in New York Cty, “A&M Studios” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Stanley Clarke and Ken Scott.


  • Stanley Clarke – vocals, electric, piccolo and acoustic bass guitar, handbells, acoustic piano, humming, gong, chimes, arranger, ctic andonductor
  • George Duke– keyboards
  • Ray Gomez – electric and, rhythm guitar
  • Icarus Johnson– acoustic and electric guitar
  • John McLaughlin– acoustic guitar
  • David Sancious– keyboards, Minimoog, organ, electric guitar
  • Gerry Brown– drums, handbells
  • Billy Cobham– drums, Moog 1500
  • Steve Gadd– drums
  • Milt Holland– percussion, triangls
  • Tom Malone, Dave Taylor– trombone
  • Jon Faddis, Alan Rubin,Lew Soloff – trumpet
  • Earl Chapin, John Clark, Peter Gordon, Wilmer Wise – horns
  • Al Aarons, Stewart Blumberg, George Bohanon, Buddy Childers, Robert Findley, Gary Grant, Lew McCreary, Jack Nimitz, William Peterson, Dalton Smith – brass
  • Marilyn Baker, Thomas Buffum, David Campbell, Rollice Dale, Robert Dubow, Janice Gower, Karen Jones, Dennis Karmazyn, Gordon Marron, Lya Stern, Ron Strauss, Marcia Van Dyke& John Wittenberg – strings
  • Lynn Dreese Breslin, Bob Defrin – art direction
  • Ken Scott – engineer, remixing
  • Jerry Solomon, Ed Thacker, Michael Frondelli – assistant engineer

Track listing:

All tracks by Stanley Clarke.

  1. School Days
  2. Quiet Afternoon
  3. The Dancer
  4. Desert Song
  5. Hot Fun
  6. Life Is Just a Game

In March 1967.

In March 1967, “Epic” label released “Mellow Yellow”, the fourth Donovan album.  It was recorded September – October 1966, at “Abbey Road Studio” and “Landsowne Studios” in London, and was produced by Mickie Most.


  • Donovan – acoustic guitar, vocals
  • John Cameron – piano, harpsichord, organ, celesta, arrangements
  • John Paul Jones– bass, arrangement
  • Danny Thompson– bass
  • Spike Heatley– bass
  • Phil Seamon, Bobby Orr– drums
  • John McLaughlin, Joe Moretti – rhythm guitar
  • Danny Moss, Ronnie Ross– saxophone
  • Big Jim Sullivan, Eric Ford – electric guitar
  • Shawn Phillips– sitar
  • Pat Halling – violin
  • Harold McNair – flute

Track listing:

All tracks by Donovan Leitch. .

  1. Mellow Yellow
  2. Writer in the Sun
  3. Sand and Foam
  4. The Observation
  5. Bleak City Woman
  6. House of Jansch
  7. Young Girl Blues
  8. Museum
  9. Hampstead Incident
  10. Sunny South Kensington

On February 19, 2017.


On February 19, 2017, Larry Coryell died aged 73. He was guitarist known as the “Godfather of Fusion”. As a leader he has recorded 65 albums, and has performed and recorded with many world known music acts including: John McLaughlin,  Miroslav Vitouš, Chick Corea, Paul Santa Maria, Lenny White, Victor Bailey, Badi Assad, John Abercrombie, John Hicks, Willie Williams, Santi Debriano, Yoron Israel, Billy Cobham, Alphonse Mouzon, The Eleventh House, The Appletree Theatre, Jim Pepper, Gary Burton, Randy Brecker, Jazz Composer’s Orchestra, Wolfgang Dauner, The 5th Dimension, The Free Spirits, Chico Hamilton, Arnie Lawrence, Herbie Mann, Michael Mantler, Steve Marcus, Charles Mingus, Bob Moses, Chico O’Farrill, The Arista All Stars, Simon & Bard Group, Dennis Haklar, Joey DeFrancesco, The Fusion Syndicate, The Wide Hive Player, Kenny Drew Jr., Michael Urbaniak and Dylan Taylor.