Tag Archives: Jack Bruce

In January 1970.

In January 1970, “Dunhill” label released “The Grass Is Greener”, the third Colosseum album (released only in US and Canada). It was recorded in 1969, and was produced by Tony Reeves and Gerry Bron.


  • Dave Greenslade– vocals, organ, keyboards
  • Dick Heckstall-Smith– saxophone
  • Jon Hiseman– drums
  • Dave “Clem” Clempson– vocals, guitar
  • Tony Reeves– bass
  • James Litherland – vocals

Track listing:

  1. Jumping Off the Sun – Mike Taylor, Dave Tomlin
  2. Lost Angeles – Dave Greenslade, Dick Heckstall-Smith
  3. Elegy – James Litherland
  4. Butty’s Blues – James Litherland
  5. Rope Ladder to the Moon – Pete Brown, Jack Bruce
  6. Bolero – Maurice Ravel
  7. The Machine Demands a Sacrifice – Pete Brown, Jon Hiseman, James Litherland
  8. The Grass is Greener – Dick Heckstall-Smith, Jon Hiseman

In December 1980.

In December 1980, “Epic” label released “I’ve Always Wanted to Do This”, the seventh Jack Bruce studio album. It was recorded in August 1980, at “House of Music” in West Orange, New Jersey, and was produced by Jack Bruce, Stephen Galfas, Clem Clempson, Billy Cobham and David Sancious.


  • Jack Bruce- vocals, bass, harmonica
  • Clem Clempson- guitar
  • David Sancious- keyboards, guitar
  • Billy Cobham- drums

Track listing:

  1. Hit and Run
  2. Running Back
  3. Facelift 318
  4. In This Way
  5. Mickey the Fiddler
  6. Dancing On Air
  7. Livin’ Without Ja
  8. Wind and the Sea
  9. Out to Lunch
  10. Bird Alone

On June 12, 2018.

On June 12, 2018, Philip John “Jon” Hiseman died aged 73. He was musician,  recording engineer, record producer and music publisher, regarded as one of the best and most influential drummers in the history of the rock music. He has worked with many famous musicians and bands including Jack Bruce, John Mayall, Tempest, United Jazz + Rock Ensemble, JCM, but was best known as founding member and drummer of Colosseum. Hiseman released two solo albums:

  • A Night in the Sun– 1982
  • About Time Too!– 1991


In January 1973.

In January 1973, “Polydor” label released “We the People”, the third Ellen McIlwaine album. It was recorded in 1972, at “Record Plant Studios” and “Carnegie Hall” in New York City, and was produced by Peter K. Seigel.


  • Ellen McIlwaine- vocals, guitar, piano
  • Don Payne, Don Moore – bass
  • Jimmy Madison, Jerry Mercer- drums
  • Colin Tilton – saxophone
  • Candido- conga
  • West 44th Street Noise Choir – background vocals
  • The Persuasions- background vocals on

Track listing:

All tracks by Ellen McIlwaine except where noted.

  1. Ain’t No Two Ways About It (It’s Love)
  2. All to You
  3. Sliding
  4. Never Tell Your Mother She’s Out of Tune – Jack Bruce, Pete Brown
  5. Farther Along – traditional
  6. I Don’t Want to Play
  7. Underground River
  8. Everybody Wants To Go To Heaven (But Nobody Wants To Die) – Al Fields, Tom Delaney, Timmie Rogers
  9. Jimmy Jean
  10. We the People

In November 1980.

In November 1980, “Atlantic” label released “Song of Seven”, the second Jon Anderson album. It was recorded in 1980, and was produced by Jon Anderson.


  • Jon Anderson – lead vocals, acoustic guitar, keyboards, harp
  • Ronnie Leahy, Damian Anderson – keyboards
  • Ian Bairnson- guitar, bass, backing vocals
  • Clem Clempson- guitar
  • John Giblin- fretless bass
  • Jack Bruce- bass
  • Mel – bass
  • Morris Pert- drums, percussion
  • Simon Phillips- drums
  • Dick Morrissey- saxophone
  • Johnny Dankworth- alto saxophone
  • Chris Rainbow- backing vocals
  • Deborah Anderson- harmony vocals
  • Delmé String Quartet; arranged by David Ogden
  • Mike Dunne – engineer
  • Brian Gaylor – electronics
  • Alwyn Clayden – art direction, design
  • Ian Nicholson – illustration

Track listing:

All tracks by Jon Anderson, except where noted..

  1. For You for Me
  2. Some Are Born
  3. Don’t Forget (Nostalgia)
  4. Heart of the Matter – Jon Anderson, Ronnie Leahy
  5. Hear It
  6. Everybody Loves You
  7. Take Your Time
  8. Days
  9. Song of Seven


In November 1974.

In November 1974, “RSO” label released “Out of the Storm”, the fourth Jack Bruce studio album. It was recorded in 1974, at “Record Plant” in Los Angeles and San Francisco, and was produced by Jack Bruce and Andy Johns.


  • Jack Bruce– vocals, bass guitar, piano, clavinet, electric piano,  organ,  harmonium, harmonica, arranger
  • Steve Hunter– electric and acoustic guitars
  • Jim Keltner, Jim Gordon– drums
  • Andy Johns – engineer
  • Dennis Weinreich – remix engineer

Track listing:

All lyrics by Pete Brown, music by Jack Bruce, except “Running Through Our Hands” – music co-authored by Janet Godfrey.

  1. Pieces of Mind
  2. Golden Days
  3. Running Through Our Hands
  4. Keep on Wondering
  5. Keep It Down
  6. Into the Storm
  7. One
  8. Timeslip

In November 1972.

In November 1972, “Windfall” label released “Why Dontcha”, the debut West, Bruce and Laing studio album. It was recorded in 1972, and was produced by Andy Johns, Leslie West, Jack Bruce and Corky Laing.


  • Leslie West– vocals, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, Dobro,
  • Jack Bruce– bass, organ, harmonium, harp, vocals, choir, chorus, ARP synthesizer, acoustic guitar, harmonica, piano
  • Corky Laing– drums, rhythm guitar, vocals
  • Andy Johns– engineer
  • Dan Turbeville – assistant engineer
  • Ed Lee – art direction, design, photography

Track listing:

  1. Why Dontcha – Leslie West, Jack Bruce, Corky Laing
  2. Out into the Fields – Leslie West, Jack Bruce, Corky Laing, Pete Brown
  3. The Doctor – Leslie West, Jack Bruce, Corky Laing, Sue Palmer
  4. Turn Me Over – Leslie West, Jack Bruce, Corky Laing
  5. Third Degree – Eddie Boyd, Willie Dixon
  6. Shake Ma Thing (Rollin’ Jack) – Leslie West, Jack Bruce, Corky Laing
  7. While You Sleep – Leslie West, Jack Bruce, Corky Laing
  8. Pleasure – Leslie West, Jack Bruce, Corky Laing, Pete Brown
  9. Love Is Worth the Blues – Leslie West, Jack Bruce, Corky Laing
  10. Pollution Woman – Leslie West, Jack Bruce, Corky Laing, Pete Brown