Tag Archives: John Marshall

On June 14, 1994.

On June 14, 1994, “Blackheart” / “Warner Bros” labels released “Pure and Simple”, the ninth Joan Jett and the Blackhearts studio album. It was recorded in 1994, at “The Hit Factory” in New York City, “Studio Works 11”, “Music Palace” in New York,
“Armoury Studios” in Vancouver, Canada, “Bad Animals Studio” in Seattle, Washington, “Indigo Ranch” in Malibu, California, and was produced by Kenny Laguna, Thom Panunzio, Ed Stasium, Desmond Child, Jim Vallance and Joan Jett.


  • Joan Jett– lead vocals, guitars
  • Tony “Bruno” Rey- lead guitars
  • Kenny Aaronson- bass
  • Thommy Price– drums
  • Ricky Byrd, John Marshall, Billy Karren, Blake Brocksmith – guitar
  • Mike Howe, Kathleen Hanna– vocals
  • Chuck Kentis – keyboards
  • Arno Hecht – saxophone
  • Thom Panunzio- engineer, mixing
  • John Aiosa – engineer, digital editing
  • Lance Clark – digital editing
  • Carl Glanville, Lee Anthony, Tim Donovan, Mike Thompson, Neil Perry, Danny Kadar, Adam Kasper, Delwyn Brooks, Chuck Johnson – assistant engineers
  • Bob Ludwig- mastering

Track listing:

  1. Go Home – Joan Jett, Kathleen Hanna
  2. Eye to Eye – Joan Jett, Jim Vallance, Kenny Laguna
  3. Spinster – Joan Jett, Kathleen Hanna
  4. Torture – Joan Jett, Jim Vallance, Kenny Laguna
  5. Rubber & Glue – Joan Jett, Kathleen Hanna
  6. As I Am – Joan Jett, Desmond Child
  7. Activity Grrrl – Joan Jett, Kathleen Hanna
  8. Insecure – Joan Jett, Jim Vallance, Kenny Laguna
  9. Wonderin’ – Joan Jett, Jim Vallance, Kenny Laguna
  10. Consumed – Joan Jett, Thommy Price
  11. You Got a Problem – Joan Jett, Desmond Child, Kathleen Hanna
  12. Brighter Day – Joan Jett, Desmond Child

In July 1971.

In July 1971, “Polydor” label released “Harmony Row”, the third Jack Bruce studio album. It was recorded October 1969 at “Morgan Studios” in London, January 1971 at “Command Studios” in London, and was produced by Jack Bruce. The album title is from a tenement street in Glasgow, near where Jack Bruce grew up.


  • Jack Bruce– vocals, bass guitar, guitar, piano, cello, keyboards, arranger
  • Chris Spedding– guitar
  • John Marshall– drums
  • Andy Johns– engineer
  • Barry Ainsworth – engineer

Track listing:

All lyrics by Peter Brown, all music by Jack Bruce.

  1. Can You Follow?
  2. Escape to the Royal Wood (On Ice)
  3. You Burned the Tables on Me
  4. There’s a Forest
  5. Morning Story
  6. Folk Song
  7. Smiles and Grins
  8. Post War
  9. A Letter of Thanks
  10. Victoria Sage
  11. The Consul at Sunset


In June 1976.

In June 1976, “Harvest” label released “Softs”, the ninth Soft Machine studio album. It was recorded January – March 1976, at at “Abbey Road Studios” in London, and was produced by Roy Babbington, John Etheridge, John Marshall, Alan Wakeman and Karl Jenkins.


  • Roy Babbington– bass guitar
  • John Etheridge– acoustic and electric guitars
  • John Marshall– drums, percussion
  • Alan Wakeman– soprano and tenor saxophones
  • Karl Jenkins– piano, electric piano, pianette, string and Mini-Moog synthesizers, orchestrations
  • Mike Ratledge– synthesizer

Track listing:

All tracks by Karl Jenkins except where noted.

  1. Aubade
  2. The Tale ofTaliesin
  3. Ban-BanCaliban
  4. Song ofAeolus
  5. Out of Season
  6. Second Bundle
  7. Kayoo – John Marshall
  8. The Camden Tandem – John Etheridge, John Marshall
  9. Nexus
  10. One Over the Eight – Karl Jenkins, John Marshall, John Etheridge,Alan Wakeman,Roy Babbington
  11. Etika – John Etheridge

On August 29, 1969.


On August 29, 1969, “Polydor” label released “Song for a Tailor”, the debut Jack Bruce studio debut. It was recorded from April – May, 1969, and was produced by Felix Pappalardi. “Songs for a tailor” was the second solo album that Bruce recorded, he did not release the first one, “Things we like”, for another year. “Songs for a tailor” was titled in tribute to Cream’s recently deceased clothing designer.


  • Harry Beckett – trumpet
  • Jack Bruce– lead and backing vocals, bass, organ, piano, acoustic guitar, cello
  • George Harrison– guitar
  • Dick Heckstall-Smith– tenor and soprano saxophones
  • Jon Hiseman– drums
  • Henry Lowther– trumpet
  • John Marshall– drums
  • John Mumford – trombone
  • Felix Pappalardi– percussion, additional vocals, acoustic guitar
  • Chris Spedding– electric guitar
  • Art Themen– tenor and soprano saxophone

Track listing:

All lyrics by Peter Brown, music by Jack Bruce.

  1. Never Tell Your Mother She’s Out of Tune
  2. Theme for an Imaginary Western
  3. Tickets to Water Falls
  4. Weird of Hermiston
  5. Rope Ladder to the Moon
  6. The Ministry of Bag
  7. He the Richmond
  8. Boston Ball Game 1967
  9. To Isengard
  10. The Clearout