Tag Archives: Rayford Griffin

On August 1, 1983.

On August 1, 1983, “Atlantic” label released “Individual Choice”, the 27th Jean-Luc Ponty album. It was recorded March – May 1983, at “Music Grinder Studios” in Hollywood, and was produced by Jean-Luc Ponty.


  • Jean-Luc Ponty– violin, synthesizer, keyboard bass, rhythm programming, organ
  • George Duke– Minimoog synthesizer solo
  • Allan Holdsworth– electric guitar solos
  • Randy Jackson– electric bass
  • Rayford Griffin – drums, percussion
  • Gary Skardina – drum recordings
  • Peter R. Kelsey – engineer, mixing
  • Stuart Graham – engineer, assistant engineer
  • Steve Hall – engineer, mastering
  • Bob Defrin – art direction
  • Mark Hanauer – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Jean-Luc Ponty.

  1. Computer Incantations For World Peace
  2. Far from the Beaten Paths
  3. In Spiritual Love
  4. Eulogy to Oscar Romero
  5. Nostalgia
  6. Individual Choice
  7. In Spite of All


On January 18, 1982.

Mystical Adventures

On January 18, 1982, “Atlantic” label released Jean-Luc Ponty’s album  “Mystical Adventures”.  It was recorded August – September, 1981, at “Cherokee Recording Studios” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Jean-Luc Ponty and Arif Mardin.

  • Jean-Luc Ponty– electric violin, organ, synthesizer, keyboards, vocals, acoustic violin
  • Paulinho Da Costa– percussion
  • Jamie Glaser– guitar
  • Rayford Griffin – drums
  • Randy Jackson– bass
  • Chris Rhyne – synthesizer, piano, Fender Rhodes, synthesizer bass, Oberheim 8 Voice, Prophet 5

Track listing:

All tracks by Jean-Luc Ponty, except where noted.

  1. Mystical Adventures (Suite) Part I
  2. Mystical Adventures (Suite) Part II
  3. Mystical Adventures (Suite) Part III
  4. Mystical Adventures (Suite) Part IV
  5. Mystical Adventures (Suite) Part V
  6. Rhythms of Hope
  7. As – Stevie Wonder, arr. by Jean-Luc Ponty
  8. Final Truth – Part I
  9. Final Truth – Part II
  10. Jig