Tag Archives: John Brand

In January 1978.

In January 1978, “EG” and “Polydor” labels released “Feels Good to Me”, the debut Bill Bruford album. It was recorded in August 1977, at “Trident Studios” in London, and was produced by Robin Lumley and Bill Bruford.


  • Bill Bruford– drums, percussion
  • Allan Holdsworth– electric guitar
  • Dave Stewart– keyboards
  • Jeff Berlin– bass
  • Kenny Wheeler– flugelhorn
  • Annette Peacock– vocals
  • John Goodsall– additional guitar
  • John Clark – additional guitar
  • Neil Murray– additional bass
  • John Brand, Colin Green, Stephen Short – tape operators
  • Stephen W Tayler – engineer
  • Peter Revill, Mick Rossi – equipment technicians

Track listing:

All tracks by Bill Bruford except where noted.

  1. Beelzebub
  2. Back to the Beginning
  3. Seems Like a Lifetime Ago (Part One)
  4. Seems Like a Lifetime Ago (Part Two)
  5. Sample and Hold – Bill Bruford, Dave Stewart
  6. Feels Good to Me
  7. Either End of August
  8. If You Can’t Stand the Heat…- Bill Bruford, Dave Stewart
  9. Springtime in Siberia – Bill Bruford, Dave Stewart
  10. Adios a la pasada (Goodbye to the Past) – Bill Bruford, Annette Peacock

On September 10, 1984.

On September 10, 1984, “Beggars Banquet” label released “Dreamtime”, the debut  Cult album. It was recorded in 1984, and was produced by John Brand and Chris Kimsey.


  • Ian Astbury– vocals
  • Billy Duffy– guitar
  • Jamie Stewart– bass, backing vocals
  • Nigel Preston– drums, percussion
  • Mich Ebeling – backing vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by Ian Astbury and Billy Duffy, except where noted.

  1. Horse Nation
  2. Spiritwalker
  3. 83rd Dream
  4. Butterflies
  5. Go West (Crazy Spinning Circles)
  6. Gimmick
  7. A Flower in the Desert – Ian Astbury, Barry Jepson, David Burroughs, Haq Qureshi
  8. Dreamtime
  9. Rider in the Snow
  10. Bad Medicine Walt

In February 1984.

In February 1984, “Atlantic” label released “Parting Should Be Painless”, the fifth Roger Daltrey studio album. It was recorded in 1983, and was produced by Mike Thorne.


  • Roger Daltrey – leadand background vocals; harmonica
  • Chris Spedding– guitars
  • Mick Gallagher– keyboards
  • Allan Schwartzberg– drums
  • Norman Watt-Roy– bass guitar
  • Michael Brecker– tenor saxophone
  • Mike Thorne– synthesizers
  • Robert Medici – marimba
  • David Tofani – clarinet
  • Billy Nicholls– backing vocals
  • James Biondolillo – string and horn arrangements
  • Harvey Goldberg, John Brand, Don Wershba, Lincoln Clapp – engineer
  • Graham Hughes – photography

Track listing:

  1. Walking in My Sleep – Jack Green, Leslie Adey
  2. Parting Should Be Painless – Kit Hain
  3. Is There Anybody Out There? – Nicky Chinn, Steve Glen
  4. Would a Stranger Do? – Steve Andrews, Simon Climie
  5. Going Strong – Bryan Ferry
  6. Looking for You – Kit Hain
  7. Somebody Told Me – Annie Lennox, Dave Stewart
  8. One Day – Gerald Milne
  9. How Does the Cold Wind Cry – Colin Towns
  10. Don’t Wait on the Stairs – Steve Swindells

In June 1984.

In June 1984, “Ensign” label released “A Pagan Place”, the second Waterboys studio album. It was recorded November 1982 at “Redshop Studio”, September 1983 at “Rockfield Studio”, and was produced by Mike Scott.


  • Mike Scott– vocals, guitar, piano, bass, bellzouki
  • Anthony Thistlethwaite– saxophone, bass, mandolin
  • Kevin Wilkinson– drums
  • Karl Wallinger– piano, organ, percussion, backing vocals
  • Roddy Lorimer– trumpet
  • Tim Blanthorn – violin
  • Barbara Snow
  • Eddi Reader
  • V. Smith
  • Ingrid Schroeder
  • Nick Linden
  • Stephen W Tayler– mixing
  • Jim Preen, John Brand, Richard Digby Smith, Stephen W Tayler, Ted Sharp – engineer
  • Sheila Rock – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Mike Scott.

  1. Church Not Made With Hands
  2. All The Things She Gave Me
  3. The Thrill Is Gone
  4. Rags
  5. Somebody Might Wave Back
  6. The Big Music
  7. Red Army Blues
  8. A Pagan Place


In April 1983.

In April 1983, “Rough Trade” label released “High Land, Hard Rain”, the debut Aztec Camera album. It was recorded in 1983, at “ICC Studios” in Eastbourne, and was produced by John Brand and Bernie Clarke.


  • Roddy Frame– vocals, guitar, harmonica
  • Bernie Clark – piano, organ
  • Campbell Owens – bass
  • Dave Ruffy – drums, percussion


All tracks by Roddy Frame.

  1. Oblivious
  2. The Boy Wonders
  3. Walk Out to Winter
  4. The Bugle Sounds Again
  5. We Could Send Letters
  6. Pillar to Post
  7. Release
  8. Lost Outside the Tunnel
  9. Back on Board
  10. Down the Dip

On September 16, 1985.


On September 16, 1985, “Island” label released “This Is the Sea”, the third Waterboys album. It was recorded February – August 1985, at “Park Gates Studio” in Hastings; “Livingstone Studios”; “Seaview Studios”; “The Chocolate Factory”; “R G Jones Recording Studios”; “Townhouse Studios”, and “Good Earth Studios” in London, and was produced by Mike Scott, John Brand, Mick Glossop and Karl Wallinger. The album cover photography was taken by Lynn Goldsmith. “This Is the Sea” contains the best-selling Waterboys single, the song “The Whole of the Moon”.


  • Mike Scott– vocals, lead guitar, rhythm guitar, piano, percussion, synthesiser, drum machine programming, bells and effects
  • Anthony Thistlethwaite– saxophone, double bass, bass guitar, mandolin
  • Karl Wallinger– bass synth, piano, organ, keyboard programming, synthesiser, celeste, percussion and backing vocals
  • Steve Wickham– violin
  • Marek Lipski – violin
  • Roddy Lorimer– trumpet, background vocals
  • Stewart Bartlett – French horn
  • Kevin Wilkinson– bass guitar, drums
  • Martin Swain – bass guitar
  • Chris Whitten – drums, cymbals
  • Pete Thomas– snare drum
  • Martin Ditcham – percussion
  • Max Edie – background vocals
  • Lu Edmonds– Bass
  • Matthew Seligman– Bass

Track listing:

All tracks by Mike Scott except where noted.

  1. Don’t Bang the Drum – Mike Scott, Karl Wallinger
  2. The Whole of the Moon
  3. Spirit
  4. The Pan Within
  5. Medicine Bow – Mike Scott, Anthony Thistlethwaite
  6. Old England
  7. Be My Enemy
  8. Trumpets
  9. This Is the Sea