On October 30, 1970.

On October 30, 1970, “DJM” label released “Tumbleweed Connection”, the third Elton John studio album. It was recorded March 1970, at “Trident Studios” in London, and was produced by Gus Dudgeon.


  • Elton John – lead and backing vocals, piano, Hammond organ
  • Madeline Bell, Tony Burrows, Kay Garner, Tony Hazzard, Tammi Hunt, Dusty Springfield, Heather Wheatman, Yvonne Wheatman – backing vocals
  • Paul Buckmaster– arrangement, conductor, orchestration
  • Brian Dee– Hammond organ
  • Ian Duck – harmonica
  • Lesley Duncan– backing vocals, acoustic guitar
  • Mike Egan – acoustic guitar
  • Herbie Flowers, Dave Glover, Chris Laurence – bass guitar
  • Gordon Huntley – steel guitar
  • Karl Jenkins– oboe
  • Robin Jones – congas, tambourine
  • Skaila Kanga– harp
  • Barry Morgan– drums
  • Dee Murray– backing vocals, bass guitar
  • Nigel Olsson– backing vocals, drums
  • Roger Pope – drums, percussion
  • Caleb Quaye– lead guitar, acoustic guitar, electric guitar
  • Les Thatcher – acoustic guitar, twelve-string acoustic guitar
  • Johnny Van Derek – violin
  • Robin Geoffrey Cable – engineer
  • Gus Skinas – editing
  • David Larkham – art direction, design, cover design, artwork, photography
  • Barry Wentzell, Ian Digby-Ovens – photography
  • John Tobler– liner notes

Track listing:

All tracks by Elton John and Bernie Taupin, except where noted.

  1. Ballad of a Well-Known Gun
  2. Come Down in Time
  3. Country Comfort
  4. Son of Your Father
  5. My Father’s Gun
  6. Where to Now St. Peter?
  7. Love Song – Lesley Duncan
  8. Amoreena
  9. Talking Old Soldiers
  10. Burn Down the Mission



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.