Tag Archives: Barry Morgan

On October 30, 1970.

On October 30, 1970, “DJM” label released “Tumbleweed Connection”, the third Elton John studio album. It was recorded March 1970, at “Trident Studios” in London, and was produced by Gus Dudgeon.


  • Elton John – lead and backing vocals, piano, Hammond organ
  • Madeline Bell, Tony Burrows, Kay Garner, Tony Hazzard, Tammi Hunt, Dusty Springfield, Heather Wheatman, Yvonne Wheatman – backing vocals
  • Paul Buckmaster– arrangement, conductor, orchestration
  • Brian Dee– Hammond organ
  • Ian Duck – harmonica
  • Lesley Duncan– backing vocals, acoustic guitar
  • Mike Egan – acoustic guitar
  • Herbie Flowers, Dave Glover, Chris Laurence – bass guitar
  • Gordon Huntley – steel guitar
  • Karl Jenkins– oboe
  • Robin Jones – congas, tambourine
  • Skaila Kanga– harp
  • Barry Morgan– drums
  • Dee Murray– backing vocals, bass guitar
  • Nigel Olsson– backing vocals, drums
  • Roger Pope – drums, percussion
  • Caleb Quaye– lead guitar, acoustic guitar, electric guitar
  • Les Thatcher – acoustic guitar, twelve-string acoustic guitar
  • Johnny Van Derek – violin
  • Robin Geoffrey Cable – engineer
  • Gus Skinas – editing
  • David Larkham – art direction, design, cover design, artwork, photography
  • Barry Wentzell, Ian Digby-Ovens – photography
  • John Tobler– liner notes

Track listing:

All tracks by Elton John and Bernie Taupin, except where noted.

  1. Ballad of a Well-Known Gun
  2. Come Down in Time
  3. Country Comfort
  4. Son of Your Father
  5. My Father’s Gun
  6. Where to Now St. Peter?
  7. Love Song – Lesley Duncan
  8. Amoreena
  9. Talking Old Soldiers
  10. Burn Down the Mission



In April 1977.

In April 1977, “Island” label released “Izitso”, the tenth Cat Stevens studio album. It was recorded September 1976 – March 1977, at “Muscle Shoals Sound Studio” in Sheffield, Alabama;“Sound 80 Studios” in Minneapolis; “Ardent Studios” in  Memphis, Tennessee; “Le Studio”, “Morin Heights” in Quebec, Canada;  “Sweet Silence Studios” in Copenhagen, Denmark, and was produced by Cat Stevens
and David Kershenbaum.


  • Cat Stevens– electric and acoustic guitars, steel guitar, guitar synthesizer, bouzouki, keyboards, piano, celesta, harpsichord, Wurlitzer electric piano, Fender Rhodes, Polymoog, Moog synthesizer, Minimoog, ARP String Synthesizer, ARP 2600, Yamaha CS-80, Yamaha GX-1, Yamaha  EA5R  electronic organ, music sequencer,[5] drums, percussion, harmonica,  brass,  arrangements, vocals, programming, illustrations, cover design
  • Jean Roussel– Hammond organ, piano, organ, synthesizer, ARP String Synthesizer, Yamaha CS-80, keyboards, flute, glockenspiel, vibraphone, string instruments, brass instruments, arrangements
  • David Campbell– string and brass arrangements
  • Chick Corea– electric piano, keyboards
  • Barry Beckett– piano, electric piano, organ, keyboards
  • Tim Henson– acoustic piano, piano, organ, keyboards
  • Little Brother Montgomery– ARP 2600
  • Broderick Smith– harmonica
  • Marjorie Lagerwall– harp
  • Ray Gomez– guitar
  • Pete Carr– electric and acoustic guitar, steel guitar, ovation guitar, Epiphone Casino, guitar synthesizer, bouzouki
  • Jim Johnson– rhythm guitar
  • Weldon Myrick– steel guitar
  • Reggie Young– electric guitar
  • Bruce Lynch– double bass, electbass, bass synthesizer
  • David Hood– double bass, bass, bass synthesizer
  • Andy Newmark– drums, percussion
  • Bill Berg– drums, percussion
  • Barry Morgan– drums, percussion
  • Roger Hawkins– drums, percussion
  • Elkie Brooks– vocals on
  • Suzanne Lynch– backing vocals
  • Carla Benson– backing vocals
  • Evette Benton– backing vocals
  • Barbara Ingram– backing vocals
  • Gene Page– string instruments, brass instruments, arrangements
  • Engineers – Harvey Goldberg, Mike Stavros, Ian Boughey, Nigel Walker, Flemming Rasmussen, Tom Jung, Paul Martinson, Nick Blagona, Mike Ross, Freddy Hansson, Steve Brandon, Jerry Masters, Gene Eichelberger, Dee Robb, John Kelly, Ken Frieson
  • Mastering – Ted Jensen, Bernie Grundman
  • Mixing – Claude Dupras
  • Design – Mathieu Bitton
  • Programming – Cat Stevens, Claude Dupras
  • Supervisor – Bill Levenson
  • Cover Designs – Eckford Stimpson
  • Photography – Moshe Brakha
  • Coordinator – Beth Stempel

Track listing:

All tracks by Cat Stevens, except where noted.

  1. (Remember the Days of the) Old Schoolyard
  2. Life
  3. Killin’ Time
  4. Kypros
  5. Bonfire
  6. (I Never Wanted) To Be a Star
  7. Crazy
  8. Sweet Jamaica
  9. Was Dog a Doughnut?- Cat Stevens, Bruce Lynch, Jean Roussel
  10. Child for a Day – Paul Travis, David Gordon

In April 1972.

In April 1972, “Columbia” label released “A Possible Projection of the Future / Childhood’s End”, the fifth Al Kooper album. It was recorded in 1972, and was produced by Al Kooper.


  • Al Kooper: acousticand electric pianos, organ, guitars, ARP, VCS3 and Moog synthesizers, Mellotron, tambourine, sitar, vocals
  • Harvey Brooks: electric bass
  • Herbie Flowers: electric bass
  • Barry Morgan: drums
  • Alan Parker: acoustic guitar
  • Claudia Lennear, Linda Lewis, Michael Gately, Robert John: backing vocals
  • Bobby West: electric bass
  • Paul Humphrey: drums
  • Bobbye Hall Porter: percussion
  • Clydie King, Venetta Fields, Oma Drake, Edna Wright: backing vocals
  • John Punter- spoken introduction, engineer

Track listing:

All tracks by Al Kooper; except where noted

  1. A Possible Projection of the Future
  2. The Man in Me – Bob Dylan
  3. Fly On
  4. Please Tell Me Why – Guilly Bright, Jimmy Cliff
  5. The Monkey Time – Curtis Mayfield
  6. Let Your Love Shine
  7. Swept for You Baby – Smokey Robinson
  8. Bended Knees (Please Don’t Leave Me Now)
  9. Love Trap
  10. Childhood’s End

In April 1970.

In April 1970, “Buddah” label released “Candles in the Rain”, the third Melanie album. It was recorded in 1970, and was produced by Peter Schekeryk.


  • Melanie – guitars, vocals
  • Alan Parker- guitars
  • Alan Hawkshaw- keyboards, organ
  • Edwin Hawkins- keyboards, piano
  • Harold McNair- fiddle, flute
  • Herbie Flowers- bass
  • Barry Morgan- drums
  • Rico Reyes – congas, percussion
  • John Abbott, Lee Holdridge- arrangements

Track listing:

All tracks by Melanie Safka except where noted.

  1. Candles in the Rain
  2. Lay Down (Candles in the Rain)
  3. Carolina in My Mind – James Taylor
  4. Citiest People
  5. What Have They Done to My Song Ma
  6. Alexander Beetle – Melanie Safka, A. Milne
  7. The Good Guys
  8. Lovin’ Baby Girl
  9. Ruby Tuesday – Mick Jagger, Keith Richards
  10. Leftover Wine