Tag Archives: Abbey Road Studios

In June 1978.

In June 1978, “Virgin” label released “Real Life”, the debut Magazine studio album. It was recorded March – April 1978, at “Virgin Mobile” and “Abbey Road Studios” in London, and was produced by John Leckie and Mick Glossop. The album artwork and mono print were by Linder. In 1986, “Sounds” magazine ranked “Real Life” at number 89 in its list “100 Best Albums of All Time”; in 2006, “Uncut” magazine ranked the album at number 37 on its list of the “100 Greatest Debut Albums”.


  • Howard Devoto– vocals
  • John McGeoch– guitar, saxophone
  • Barry Adamson– bass guitar
  • Dave Formula– keyboards
  • Martin Jackson– drums
  • John Leckie- engineer
  • Hayden Bendall – assistant engineer
  • Adrian Boot – photographs

Track listing:

All tracks by Howard Devoto.

  1. Definitive Gaze – Howard Devoto, John McGeoch
  2. My Tulpa – Howard Devoto, John McGeoch
  3. Shot by Both Sides – Howard Devoto, Pete Shelley
  4. Recoll – Howard Devoto, John McGeoch
  5. Burst – Howard Devoto
  6. Motorcade – Howard Devoto, Bob Dickinson
  7. The Great Beautician in the Sky – Howard Devoto, John McGeoch
  8. The Light Pours Out of Me – Howard Devoto, John McGeoch, Pete Shelley
  9. Parade – Barry Adamson, Dave Formula

In June 1976.

In June 1976, “Harvest” label released “Softs”, the ninth Soft Machine studio album. It was recorded January – March 1976, at at “Abbey Road Studios” in London, and was produced by Roy Babbington, John Etheridge, John Marshall, Alan Wakeman and Karl Jenkins.


  • Roy Babbington– bass guitar
  • John Etheridge– acoustic and electric guitars
  • John Marshall– drums, percussion
  • Alan Wakeman– soprano and tenor saxophones
  • Karl Jenkins– piano, electric piano, pianette, string and Mini-Moog synthesizers, orchestrations
  • Mike Ratledge– synthesizer

Track listing:

All tracks by Karl Jenkins except where noted.

  1. Aubade
  2. The Tale ofTaliesin
  3. Ban-BanCaliban
  4. Song ofAeolus
  5. Out of Season
  6. Second Bundle
  7. Kayoo – John Marshall
  8. The Camden Tandem – John Etheridge, John Marshall
  9. Nexus
  10. One Over the Eight – Karl Jenkins, John Marshall, John Etheridge,Alan Wakeman,Roy Babbington
  11. Etika – John Etheridge

In June 1975.

In June 1975, “Harvest” label released “HQ”, the eighth Roy Harper studio album. It was recorded in March 1975 at “Abbey Road Studios” in London, and was produced by Peter Jenner. The album artwork was by Hipgnosis.


  • Roy Harper– vocals, guitar
  • David Gilmour– guitar
  • John Paul Jones– bass
  • Steve Broughton –drums
  • Chris Spedding– guitar
  • Bill Bruford– drums
  • Dave Cochran –bass
  • TheGrimethorpe Colliery Band – brass

Track listing:

All tracks by Roy Harper

  1. The Game (Parts 1–5)
  2. he Spirit Lives
  3. Grown Ups Are Just Silly Children
  4. Referendum (Legend)
  5. Forget Me Not
  6. Hallucinating Light
  7. When an Old Cricketer Leaves the Crease


In June 1970.

In June 1970, “Harvest” label released “Parachute”, the fifth Pretty Things studio album. It was recorded September 1969-April 1970, at “Abbey Road Studios” in London, and was produced by Norman Smith.


  • Phil May– vocals
  • Vic Unitt – guitars
  • Wally Waller – bass, guitar, vocals
  • Jon Povey – keyboards, vocals
  • Skip Alan – drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Phil May and Wally Waller, except where noted.

  1. Scene One
  2. The Good Mr. Square
  3. She Was Tall, She Was High
  4. In the Square
  5. The Letter
  6. Rain
  7. Miss Fay Regrets
  8. Cries From the Midnight Circus
  9. Grass
  10. Sickle Clowns
  11. She’s a Lover
  12. What’s the Use
  13. Parachute – Phil May, Norman Smith

In June 1969.

In June 1969, “Columbia” label released “Beck-Ola”, the second Jeff Beck album. It was recorded in April 1969, at “De Lane Lea Studios”, “Abbey Road Studios  and  “Trident Studios” in London; “Mirasound Studios” in New York City, and was produced by Mickie Most.


  • Jeff Beck– guitars, backing vocals
  • Rod Stewart– vocals
  • Nicky Hopkins– piano, organ
  • Ronnie Wood– bass
  • Tony Newman– drums
  • Micky Waller– drums

Track listing:

  1. All Shook Up – Otis Blackwell, Elvis Presley
  2. Spanish Boots – Ronnie Wood, Jeff Beck, Rod Stewart
  3. Girl From Mill Valley – Nicky Hopkins
  4. Jailhouse Rock – Jerry Leiber, Mike Stoller
  5. Plynth (Water Down the Drain) – Nicky Hopkins, Ronnie Wood, Rod Stewart
  6. The Hangman’s Knee – Tony Newman, Jeff Beck, Nicky Hopkins, Rod Stewart, Ronnie Wood
  7. Rice Pudding – Nicky Hopkins, Ronnie Wood, Jeff beck, Tony Newman

On June 7, 2004.

On June 7, 2004, “Virgin” label released “Rewired”, the sixth Mike + The Mechanics  studio album. It was recorded 2003-2004 at “Fisher Lane Farm Studios” and “Abbey Road Studios”, and was produced by Mike Rutherford and  Peter Van Hooke.


  • Mike Rutherford– guitar, bass guitar, programming
  • Paul Carrack– vocals, keyboards, guitar, drums
  • Robbie McIntosh– guitar
  • Ian Thomas – drums
  • Neil Wilkinson – drums
  • Peter Van Hooke– drums
  • Sharon Woolf, Lisa Law, Paul McGee, Owen Paul McGee, Ricky Hanley, Rupert Cobb, Andrea Hunnisett – backing vocals
  • Will Bates – programming, additional production
  • Rupert Cobb, Ashley Clarke – programming
  • Mixes engineered by Graham Bonnett
  • Vocals engineered by Nick Davis
  • Mastered by Tim Young, Ian Cooper

Track listing:

  1. One Left Standing – Paul Carrack, Mike Rutherford, Sharon Woolf
  2. If I Were You – Paul Carrack, A. Robertson, Mike Rutherford
  3. Perfect Child – Paul Carrack, A. Robertson, Mike Rutherford
  4. Rewired – Will Bates, Paul Carrack, Mike Rutherford
  5. I Don’t Want It All – Paul Carrack, Mike Rutherford
  6. How Can I? – Paul Carrack, Mike Rutherford
  7. Falling – Paul Carrack, Mike Rutherford, Sharon Woolf
  8. Somewhere Along The Line – Paul Carrack, A. Robertson, Mike Rutherford
  9. Underscore – Will Bates, Paul Carrack, Mike Rutherford


In June 1967.

In June 1967, “Parlaphone” label released “Evolution”, the sixth Hollies album. It was recorded January-March 1967, at “Abbey Road Studios” in London, and was produced by Ron Richards.


  • Allan Clarke– vocals, harmonica
  • Tony Hicks– lead guitar, vocals
  • Graham Nash– rhythm guitar, vocals
  • Bobby Elliott– drums
  • Bernie Calvert– bass guitar

Track listing:

All tracks by Graham Nash, Allan Clarke and Tony Hicks.

  1. Then the Heartaches Begin
  2. Stop Right There
  3. Water on the Brain
  4. Lullaby to Tim
  5. Have You Ever Loved Somebody?
  6. You Need Love
  7. Rain on the Window
  8. Heading for a Wall
  9. Ye Olde Toffee Shoppe
  10. When Your Light’s Turned On
  11. Leave Me
  12. The Games We Pay