Tag Archives: Hertfordshire

On April 9, 1984.

On April 9, 1984, “Harvest” and “EMI” labels released “Identity” the only Zee album. It was recorded in September 1984, at “Rectory Studios” in Therfield, Hertfordshire, UK, and was produced by Richard Wright, Dave Harris and Tim Palmer.


  • Richard Wright – keyboards, synthesized percussion, Fairlight, backing vocals
  • Dave “Dee” Harris – lead vocals, guitars, keyboards, percussion, Fairlight
  • Tim Palmer – engineer
  • Utopia (London) – overdubs, mixdown
  • Dave Harris – artwork
  • Paul Cox – photography

Track listing:

All by Dave Harris; all music by Richard Wright and Dave Harris.

  1. Confusion
  2. Voices
  3. Private Person
  4. Strange Rhythm
  5. Cuts Like a Diamond
  6. By Touching
  7. How Do You Do It
  8. Seems We Were Dreaming

On June 7, 1993.

On June 7, 1993, “Delirium” label released “Up the Downstair”, the second Porcupine Tree studio album. It was recorded February 1992 – January 1993, at “No Man’s Land” in Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire, England, and was produced by Steven Wilson.


  • Steven Wilson- vocals, all other instruments
  • Colin Edwin– bass guitar
  • Richard Barbieri– electronics
  • Suzanne J. Barbieri– vocals

Track listing:

All music by Steven Wilson, all lyrics by Steven Wilson, except where noted.

  1. What You Are Listening To…
  2. Synesthesia
  3. Monuments Burn into Moments
  4. Always Never – Alan Duffy
  5. Up the Downstairs
  6. Not Beautiful Anymore
  7. Siren
  8. Small Fish – Alan Duffy
  9. Burning Sky
  10. Fadeaway – Alan Duffy

On May 12, 1992.

On May 12, 1992, “Delirium” label released “On the Sunday of Life…”, the debut Porcupine Tree album. It compiles tracks that Steven Wilson recorded for two cassette-only releases, “Tarquin’s Seaweed Farm” (1989) and “The Nostalgia Factory” (1991). It was recorded 1988 – 1992, at “No Man’s Land” in Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire, UK, and was produced by Steven Wilson.


  1. Steven Wilson – vocals, various instruments
  2. John Marshall – drums
  3. Solomon St. Jemain – voice, additional guitar
  4. Master Timothy Masters – oboe

Track listing:

All music by Steven Wilson, all lyrics by Alan Duffy except where noted.

Part 1: First Love

  1. Music for the Head
  2. Jupiter Island
  3. Third Eye Surfer
  4. On the Sunday of Love…
  5. The Nostalgia Factory

Part 2: Second Sight

  1. Space Transmission
  2. Message from a Self – Destructing Turnip
  3. Radioactive Toy – lyrics by Steven Wilson
  4. Nine Cats

Part 3: Third Eye

  1. Hymn
  2. Footprints
  3. Linton Samuel Dawson
  4. And the Swallows Dance Above the Sun
  5. Queen Quotes Crowley

Part 4: Fourth Bridge

  1. No Luck With Rabbits
  2. Begonia Seduction Scene
  3. The Long Silence
  4. It Will Rain for a Million Years


On September 30, 1996.

On September 30, 1996, “Delerium” label released “Signify”, the fourth Porcupine Tree studio album. It was recorded 1995 – 1996, at “No Man’s Land” in Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire, “The Doghouse”  in Henley-on-Thames,” Katrina & the Waves’ Studio” in Cambridge, and was produced by Steven Wilson.


  • Steven Wilson– vocals, guitars, piano, organ, mellotron, samples, tapes, banshee guitar, drum programming, chimes, musical boxes, mixing
  • Richard Barbieri- synthesisers, Hammond organ, Prophet V/System 700 electronics, piano, tapes, texture, sequencers
  • Colin Edwin- electric bass, double bass
  • Chris Maitland- drums, cymbals, percussion, vocal harmonies, drum loops, keyboards, voices
  • Terumi – voices
  • Chris Thorpe – mastering
  • John Blackford – art, design

Track listing:

All tracks by Steven Wilson, except where noted.

  1. Bornlivedie – Steven Wilson, Richard Barbieri
  2. Signify
  3. Sleep of No Dreaming
  4. Pagan
  5. Waiting (Phase One)
  6. Waiting (Phase Two)
  7. Sever
  8. Idiot Prayer – Steven Wilson, Colin Edwin
  9. Every Home Is Wired
  10. Intermediate Jesus – Steven Wilson, Richard Barbieri, Colin Edwin, Chris Maitland
  11. Light Mass Prayers – Chris Maitland
  12. Dark Matter (song ends at 8:10; after 19 seconds a hidden track plays)



On November 22, 1978.

On November 22, 1978, “Island” label released “Teenage Depression”, the debut Eddie and the Hot Rods album. It was recorded in 1978, at “Jackson Studios” in Rickmansworth, Hertfordshire, and was produced by Ed Hollis and Vic Maile.


  • Barrie Masters – vocals
  • Paul Gray– bass, backing vocals
  • Steve Nicol – drums, backing vocals
  • Dave Higgs – guitar, backing vocals, piano
  • Michael Beal – art direction, photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Dave Higgs, except where noted.

  1. Get Across to You
  2. Why Can’t It Be?
  3. Show Me – Joe Tex
  4. All I Need Is Money
  5. Double Checkin’ Woman
  6. The Kids Are Alright – Pete Townshend
  7. Teenage Depression
  8. Horseplay (Wearier of the Schmaltz)
  9. Been So Long
  10. Shake – Sam Cooke
  11. On the Run

In March 1978.

In March 1978, “Radar Records” label released “Jesus of Cool” the debut Nick Lowe solo album. It was recorded 1976-1977, at “Chalk Farm Studios” in London, “Eden Studios”; “Jackson Studios” in Rickmansworth, Hertfordshire, and “Pathway Studios” in Stoke Newington, and was produced by Nick Lowe. The album cover was designed by Barney Bubbles.


  • Nick Lowe– vocals, bass, guitars, piano
  • Billy Bremner– guitars
  • Dave Edmunds– guitars, vocals
  • John Turnbull– lead guitar
  • John McFee– guitar
  • Andrew Bodnar– bass
  • Norman Watt-Roy– bass
  • Terry Williams– drums
  • Steve Goulding– drums
  • Pete Thomas– drums
  • Charley Charles – drums
  • Bob Andrews– piano, organ
  • Steve Nieve– piano
  • Roger Bechirian– tambourine, backing vocals, organ

Track listing:

All tracks by Nick Lowe except where noted.

  1. Music for Money
  2. I Love the Sound of Breaking Glass – Nick Lowe, Andrew Bodnar, Steve Goulding
  3. Little Hitler – Nick Lowe, Dave Edmunds
  4. Shake and Pop
  5. Tonight
  6. So It Goes
  7. No Reason
  8. 36 Inches High – Jim Ford
  9. Marie Provost
  10. Nutted by Reality
  11. Heart of the City