Tag Archives: San Francisco

On April 1, 1983.

On April 1, 1983, “CBS” label released “Havana Moon”, the fifth Carlos Santana album. It was recorded in 1982, at “The Automatt” in San Francisco, and was produced by Jerry Wexler and Barry Beckett.


  • Carlos Santana– guitar, percussion, backing vocals
  • Roberto Moreno – vocals
  • Willie Nelson– vocals
  • Greg Walker – vocals
  • Candelario Lopez – vocals
  • Jose Santana – vocals, violin
  • Chris Solberg – vocals, keyboards, guitar
  • Jimmie Vaughan– guitar
  • Booker T. Jones– keyboards, backing vocals
  • Richard Baker – keyboards
  • Barry Beckett– keyboards
  • Alan Pasqua– vocals, keyboards
  • Flaco Jiménez– accordion
  • Orestes Vilató– flute, percussion, timbales, backing vocals
  • Kim Wilson– harmonica, backing vocals
  • Greg Adams– strings, horn
  • Jose Salcedo – trombone, trumpet
  • Oscar Chavez– trombone, trumpet
  • Mic Gillette– trumpet, horn
  • Lanette Stevens – horn
  • Emilio Castillo– horn, backing vocals
  • Marc Russo– horn
  • Tramaine Hawkins– horn
  • Stephen Kupka– horn
  • Gabriel Arias – violin
  • Francisco Coronado – violin
  • Raymundo Coronado – violin
  • Keith Ferguson– bass
  • Luis Gonsalez – bass
  • David Hood– bass
  • David Margen – bass, percussion
  • Fran Christina – drums
  • Armando Peraza– vocals, percussion, bongos
  • Graham Lear– percussion, drums
  • Raul Rékow – percussion, conga, backing vocals
  • Alex Ligertwood– vocals, percussion
  • Cherline Hall – backing vocals

Track listing:

  1. Watch Your Step – Phil Belmonte, Bobby Parker
  2. Lightnin’ – Booker T. Jones, Carlos Santana
  3. Who Do You Love? – Ellas McDaniel
  4. Mudbone – Carlos Santana
  5. One with You – Booker T. Jones
  6. Ecuador – Carlos Santana
  7. Tales of Kilimanjaro – Alan Pasqua, Armando Peraza, Raul Rekow, Carlos Santana
  8. Havana Moon – Chuck Berry
  9. Daughter of the Night – Hasse Huss, Mikael Rickfors
  10. They All Went to Mexico – Greg Brown
  11. Vereda Tropical – Gonzalo Curiel

On March 15, 1980.

On March 15, 1980, “Ralph Records” label released “Half-Mute”, the debut  Tuxedomoon studio album. It was recorded in December 1979, at “Audios Amigos Studios” in San Francisco, and was produced by Steven Brown, Peter Dachert and Blaine L. Reininger.


  • Steven Brown– lead vocals, alto saxophone, soprano saxophone,  keyboards,  synthesizer, drum programming
  • Peter Dachert(as Peter Principle) – bass guitar, guitar, synthesizer, drum programming
  • Blaine L. Reininger– violin, guitar, bass guitar, keyboards, synthesizer, drum programming, spoken word
  • Jim Renney – engineering
  • Patrick Roques – cover art

Track listing:

All tracks by Steven Brown, Peter Dachert and Blaine L. Reininger.

  1. Nazca
  2. 59 to 1
  3. Fifth Column
  4. Tritone (Musica Diablo)
  5. Loneliness
  6. James Whale
  7. What Use
  8. Volo Vivace
  9. 7 Years
  10. KM/Seeding the Clouds

On March 4, 2016.

On March 4, 2016, “Ribbon Music” label released “A Man Alive”, the fourth Thao & the Get Down Stay Down studio album. It was recorded in 2015, at “Tiny Telephone & Different Fur Studios” in San Francisco, and was produced by Merrill Garbus.


  • Thao Nguyen– vocals, bass, clapping, composer, drum programming, drums, guitar, loops, mandolin, oscillator, percussion, telecaster, toy piano, univox
  • Merrill Garbus– vocals, backing vocals, bass, cabasa, clapping, farfisa organ, flute, producer, sampling
  • Lynne Angel – drum samples, inspiration
  • Johanna Kunin – vocals, backing vocals
  • Sami Perez – clapping, backing vocals, clapping
  • Jason Slota – clapping, cowbell, drums, gamelan, percussion, shaker, tambourine
  • Beau Sorenson – clapping, engineer, guitar, linn drum, loops, mixing, programming, sampling, sequencing
  • Adam Thompson – audio manipulation, bass, casio, clapping, glockenspiel, guitar, polysynth, synthesizer, synthesizer bass
  • Charlie Glenn – guitar, organ, piano, lapsteel

Track listing:

  1. Astonished Man
  2. Slash/Burn
  3. The Evening
  4. Departure
  5. Nobody Dies
  6. Guts
  7. Fool Forever
  8. Millionaire
  9. Meticulous Bird
  10. Give Me Peace
  11. Hand to God
  12. Endless Love



On February 10, 2017.

On February 10, 2017, “Yep Roc” label released “Bobby Fuller Died for Your Sins”, the fourteenth Chuck Prophet album. It was recorded in 2016, at “Hyde Street Studios” in San Francisco, and was produced by Brad Jones, Paul Q. Kolderie, Chuck Prophet and Bill Wesemann.


  • Chuck Prophet – vocals, guitar
  • Kevin T White – bass
  • Brad Jones – bass, harmonica, keyboards
  • Stephanie Finch – vocals
  • Jim Hoke – woodwind
  • Paul Revelli, Prairie Prince, Vicente Rodriquez – drums
  • James DePrato – guitar
  • Matt Winegar – keyboards, bass, guitar
  • Richard Dodd – mastering

Track listing:

All tracks by Chuck Prophet, except where noted.

  1. Bobby Fuller Died For Your Sins – Chuck Prophet, klipschutz (Kurt Lipschutz)
  2. Your Skin
  3. Open Your Heart – Chuck Prophet, klipschutz (Kurt Lipschutz)
  4. Come Out in Code – Chuck Prophet, klipschutz (Kurt Lipschutz)
  5. Killing Machine – Chuck Prophet, klipschutz (Kurt Lipschutz)
  6. Bad Year for Rock and Roll – Chuck Prophet, klipschutz (Kurt Lipschutz)
  7. Jesus Was a Social Drinker
  8. In The Mausoleum (For Alan Vega) – Chuck Prophet, James DePrato, klipschutz (Kurt Lipschutz)
  9. Rider of the Train
  10. It Was Connie Britton
  11. Post-War Cinematic Dead Man Blues – Chuck Prophet, klipschutz (Kurt Lipschutz)
  12. We Got Up and Played
  13. Alex Nieto – Chuck Prophet, klipschutz (Kurt Lipschutz)

On January 16, 1981.

On January 16, 1991, “Warner Bros” label released “2nd Wind”, the thirteenth Todd Rundgren studio album. It was recorded in 1991, at “Palace of Fine Arts” in San Francisco, and was produced by Todd Rundgren.


  • Todd Rundgren – vocals, guitar, keyboards
  • Roger Powell– vocals, keyboard
  • Vince Welnick– vocals, keyboards
  • Ross Valory– bass
  • Lyle Workman– guitar
  • Prairie Prince– drums
  • Max Haskett – vocals, brass
  • Bobby Strickland – vocals, reeds, winds
  • Scott Mathews– vocals, percussion, guitar, samples
  • Shandi Sinnamon– vocals
  • Michele Gray – vocals
  • Jenni Muldaur- vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by Todd Rundgren.

  1. Change Myself
  2. Love Science
  3. Who’s Sorry Now?
  4. The Smell of Money (from the musical Up Against It)
  5. If I Have to Be Alone (from the musical Up Against It)
  6. Love in Disguise (from the musical Up Against It)
  7. Kindness
  8. Public Servant
  9. Gaya’s Eyes
  10. Second Wind

In January 1969.

In 1969, “Philips” label released the self-titled, debut Charlatans album. It was recorded in 1967, at “Pacific High Recorders” in San Francisco, and was produced by Dan Healy, Mike Wilhelm, Richard Olsen, Darrell DeVore and Terry Wilson.


  • Mike Wilhelm- vocals, guitar, fretted instruments, percussion
  • Richard Olsen – vocals, bass, woodwind instruments, percussion
  • Darrell DeVore – vocals, piano, keyboards, bass, percussion
  • Terry Wilson – drums, percussion

Track listing:

  1. High Coin – Van Dyke Parks
  2. Easy When I’m Dead – Darrell DeVore
  3. Ain’t Got the Time – Mike Wilhelm
  4. Folsom Prison Blues – Johnny Cash
  5. The Blues Ain’t Nothin’ – Mike Wilhelm
  6. Time to Get Straight – Darrell DeVore
  7. When I Go Sailin’ By – Richard Olsen
  8. Doubtful Waltz – Darrell DeVore
  9. Wabash Cannonball – Alvin Pleasant Carter
  10. Alabama Bound – traditional, arranged by Mike Wilhelm, Richard Olsen, Darrell DeVore, Terry Wilson
  11. When the Movies Are Over – Darrell DeVore

On December 25, 2009.

On December 25, 2009, Robert Anthony Bellamy aka Tony “T-Bone” Bellamy died aged 63. He was musician (guitar, piano, vocals), performed with Dobie Gray, was a member of Peter and the Wolves (San Francisco band that evolved into Moby Grape), but was best known as founding member, vocalist, guitarist and pianist for Redbone.