Tag Archives: Muff Winwood

On April 9, 1979.

On April 5, 1979, “CBS” label released “Laser Love”, the second After the Fire studio album. It was recorded July – August 1978, at “Record Plant” in New York City, and was produced by Muff Winwood, Rhett Davies, Rupert Hine, John Leckie, Andy Piercy, Peter Banks, John Russell and Igor Twidell.


  • Andy Piercy – vocals, guitar, bass
  • Peter Banks – keyboards
  • John Russell – guitar
  • Igor Twidell – drums

Track listing:

  1. Laser Love – Andy Piercy, Peter Banks
  2. Joy – Peter Banks, Andy Piercy, John Russell, Ivor Twiddell
  3. Take Me Higher – Andy Piercy, Peter Banks
  4. Life in the City – Andy Piercy, Peter Banks
  5. Suspended Animation – Andy Piercy, Peter Banks
  6. Like the Power of a Jet – Andy Piercy, Peter Banks
  7. One Rule For You – Andy Piercy, Peter Banks
  8. Time to Think – Andy Piercy, Peter Banks
  9. Timestar – Peter Banks
  10. Check It Out – Andy Piercy, Peter Banks


On January 7, 1966.

On January 7, 1966, “Fontana” label released “The Second Album”, the second  Spencer Davis Group album. It was recorded in 1966, and was produced by Jimmy Miller and Chris Blackwell.


  • Spencer Davis– lead and backing vocals, rhythm guitar
  • Steve Winwood– lead vocals, lead guitar, organ, piano
  • Muff Winwood– bass guitar
  • Pete York– drums, percussion
  • Clifford Jones – photography
  • Chris Welch– liner notes

Track listing:

  1. Look Away – Norman Meade, Bert Russell
  2. Keep on Running – Jackie Edwards
  3. This Hammer – Muff Winwood, Steve Winwood, Pete York, Spencer Davis
  4. Georgia On My Mind – Hoagy Carmichael, Stuart Gorrell
  5. Please do Something – Don Covay
  6. Let Me Down Easy – Dee Dee Ford
  7. Strong Love – Deadric Malone, Edward Silvers, Mary M. Brown
  8. I Washed My Hands In Muddy Water – Joe Babcock
  9. Since I Met You Baby – Ivory Joe Hunter
  10. You Must Believe Me – Curtis Mayfield
  11. Hey Darling – Davis, S. Winwood
  12. Watch Your Step – Bobby Parker

On November 11, 1974.

On November 11, 1974, “Island” label released “Propaganda”, the fourth Sparks album. It was recorded in 1974, and was produced by Muff Winwood.


  • Ron Mael- keyboards
  • Russell Mael- vocals
  • Trevor White – guitar
  • Ian Hampton – bass
  • Norman “Dinky” Diamond- drums
  • Adrian Fisher– guitar
  • Richard Digby-Smith, Robin Black, Bill Price – recording engineers
  • Bill Price – remix engineer
  • Monty Coles – art concept, photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Ron Mael, except where noted.

  1. Propaganda
  2. At Home, At Work, At Play
  3. Reinforcements – Ron Mael, Russell Mael
  4. B. C.
  5. Thanks But No Thanks – Ron Mael, Russell Mael
  6. Don’t Leave Me Alone with Her
  7. Never Turn Your Back on Mother Earth
  8. Something for the Girl with Everything
  9. Achoo
  10. Who Don’t Like Kids
  11. Bon Voyage

In June 1976.

In June 1976, “Harvest” label released “Yes We Have No Mañanas (So Get Your Mañanas Today)”, the seventh Kevin Ayers studio album. It was recorded in 1976, at “Basing Street Studios” in London, and was produced by Muff Winwood.


  • Kevin Ayers- guitar, vocals
  • Billy Livsey– keyboards
  • Charlie McCracken – bass
  • J. Cole- steel guitar
  • Tony Newman- drums
  • Roger Pope – drums
  • Rick Wills- bass
  • Zoot Money- keyboards
  • Andy Roberts – guitar,
  • Nick Rowley – keyboards
  • Ollie Halsall– guitar
  • Rob Townsend- drums, percussion
  • Roger Saunders – guitar
  • Mickey Feat – bass
  • Pip Williams, David Bedford- arranger

Track listing:

  1. Star– Kevin Ayers
  2. Mr Cool – Kevin Ayers
  3. The Owl – Kevin Ayers
  4. Love’s Gonna Turn You Round – Kevin Ayers
  5. Falling In Love Again- Connelly , Hollander
  6. Help Me – Kevin Ayers
  7. Ballad Of Mr Snake – Kevin Ayers
  8. Everyone Knows The Song– Kevin Ayers
  9. Yes I Do – Kevin Ayers
  10. Blue – Kevin Ayers

On October 7, 1978.

Dire Straits first album

On Octoebr 7, 1978, “Vertigo” label released the self titled, debut Dire Straits studio album. It was recorded February – March 1978, at the “Basing Street Studios”, London, and was produced by Muff Winwood. The album featured the hit single “Sultans of Swing”, which became the band’s trademark and helped the album to be certified 2 x Platinum in the US and UK.


  • Mark Knopfler– vocals, lead and rhythm guitars
  • David Knopfler– vocals, rhythm guitar
  • John Isley– vocals, bass
  • Pick Withers– drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Mark Knopfler.

  1. Down to the Waterline
  2. Water of Love
  3. Setting me Up
  4. Six Blade Knife
  5. Southbound Again
  6. Sultans of Swing
  7. In the Gallery
  8. Wild West End
  9. Lions