Tag Archives: Cass Elliot

In November 1971.

In November 1971, “Dunhill” label released “People Like Us”, the fifth and the final  Mamas & the Papas studio album. It was recorded in 1971, and was produced by John Philips.


  • John Phillips– vocals, guitar
  • Michelle Phillips– vocals
  • Denny Doherty– vocals
  • Cass Elliot– vocals
  • Gary Coleman – drums, tambourine, bells, vibraphone, shaker
  • Ed Greene– drums
  • Bobbye Hall– conga, tambourine, shaker, cabasa
  • Jim Horn– flute, saxophone
  • Clarence McDonald– keyboards
  • Tony Newton– bass guitar
  • Earl Palmer– drums
  • Donald Peake, Louie Shelton, David T. Walker– guitar
  • Joe Sample– keyboards
  • Gene Page- orchestral arrangement
  • Dave Hassinger– engineer
  • Rick Heenan, Val Garay- assistant engineer
  • Henry Diltz- cover photography

Track listing:

All tracks by John Phillips, except where noted.

  1. People Like Us
  2. Pacific Coast Highway
  3. Snowqueen of Texas
  4. Shooting Star
  5. Step Out
  6. Lady Genevieve
  7. No Dough
  8. European Blueboy
  9. Pearl
  10. I Wanna Be a Star – John Phillips, Michelle Phillips
  11. Grasshopper
  12. Blueberries for Breakfast



In May 1968.

In May 1968, “Dunhill” label released “The Papas & the Mamas”, the fourth The Mamas & the Papas album. It was recorded 1967-1968, at the home of John  and Michelle Phillips, and was produced by Lou Adler.


  • Denny Doherty- lead and background vocals
  • Cass Elliot- lead and background vocals
  • John Phillips- guitar, lead anbackground vocals
  • Michelle Phillips- lead and background vocals
  • “Doctor” Eric Hord – guitar
  • Hal Blaine- percussions
  • Larry Knechtel- keyboards
  • Joe Osborn- bass guitar
  • Paul Downing – guitar
  • John York- bass guitar
  • Peter Pilafian -engineer
  • Tad Diltz- album photos
  • Gary Burden- art direction, package design

Track listing:

All tracks by John Phillips, except where noted.

  1. The Right Somebody to Love – Jack Yellen,Lew Pollack
  2. Safe in My Garden
  3. Meditation Mama (Transcendental Woman Travels) – John Phillips,Lou Adler –
  4. For the Love of Ivy – John Phillips,Denny Doherty
  5. Dream a Little Dream of Me – Fabian Andre,Wilbur Schwandt, Gus Kahn
  6. Mansions
  7. Gemini Childe
  8. Nothing’s Too Good for My Little Girl – Ned Wynn
  9. Too Late
  10. Twelve Thirty
  11. Rooms
  12. Midnight Voyage

In March 1971.


In March 1971, “Blue Thumb Records” label released “Dave Mason & Cass Elliot”, the only mutual album by Dave Mason and Cass Elliot. It was recorded in1970 at “The Record Plant” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Dave Mason and Cass Elliot.


  • Bryan Garo – bass
  • Russ Kunkel- drums
  • Paul Harris- keyboards, strings
  • Gary Kellgren- engineer

Track listing:

  1. Walk to the Point – Dave Mason
  2. On and On – Ned Doheny
  3. To Be Free – Dave Mason
  4. Here We Go Again – Cass Elliot, Bryan Garo
  5. Pleasing You – Dave Mason, M. Juster
  6. Sit and Wonder – Dave Mason
  7. Something to Make You Happy – Dave Mason, Cass Elliot
  8. Too Much Truth, Too Much Love – Dave Mason
  9. Net to You – Bryan Garo
  10. Glittering façade – Dave Mason

In March 1968.


In March 1968, “Columbia” label released “A Long Time Comin’”, the debut Electric Flag album. It was recorded June 1967 – January 1968, and was produced by John Court and Joe Church.


  • Mike Bloomfield– lead guitar, vocals
  • Buddy Miles– drums, vocals
  • Barry Goldberg– keyboards
  • Harvey Brooks– bass
  • Nick Gravenites– vocals, guitar
  • Herb Rich –organ, vocals, baritone saxophone, guitar
  • Michael Fonfara– keyboards
  • Marcus Doubleday –trumpet
  • Peter Strazza –tenor saxophone
  • Stemsy Hunter– alto saxophone
  • Richie Havens– percussion, sitar
  • Sivuca– guitar, percussion
  • Paul Beaver– keyboards, Moog synthesizer
  • Leo Daruczek – strings
  • Charles McCracken – strings
  • Bobby Notkoff– strings
  • Julius Held – strings
  • Roy Segal – engineer
  • Jim Marshall– cover photo
  • Joe Church – percussion, producer
  • John Court – percussion, vocals, producer
  • Cass Elliot- vocal

Track listing:

  1. Killing Floor – Chester “Howlin’ Wolf” Burnett
  2. Groovin’ Is Easy – Nick Gravenites
  3. Over-Lovin’ You – Mike Bloomfield,Barry Goldberg
  4. She Should Have Just – Ron Polte
  5. Wine – Traditional
  6. Texas – Mike Bloomfield,Buddy Miles
  7. Sittin’ in Circles – Barry Goldberg
  8. You Don’t Realize – Mike Bloomfield
  9. Another Country – Ron Polte
  10. Easy Rider – Mike Bloomfield



On December 8, 1980.


On December 8, 1980, “Atlantic” label released “Replay”, the sixth Crosby, Stills & Nash album. It was recorded in 1980, and was produced by Bill Halverson, David Crosby,
Graham Nash and Stephen Stills.


  • David Crosby— vocals; acoustic guitar; string arrangements
  • Stephen Stills— vocals; guitars, bass, keyboards, congas, overdubbed drums, steel drum, percussion
  • Graham Nash— vocals; rhythm guitar, piano, string arrangements, congas
  • Joe Vitale— drums, percussion, organ, electric piano, tympani
  • Craig Doerge— electric piano, piano, synthesizer
  • James Taylor— acoustic guitar
  • Paul Harris— keyboards
  • George “Chocolate” Perry— bass
  • Calvin “Fuzzy” Samuels— bass
  • Tim Drummond— bass
  • Leland Sklar— bass
  • Kenny Passarelli — bass
  • Dallas Taylor— drums
  • Russ Kunkel— drums, congas, percussion
  • Jim Gordon— drums
  • Jeff Whitaker — congas
  • Joe Lala— percussion
  • Rita Coolidge, Priscilla Jones, John Sebastian— backing vocals
  • Fred Neil, Henry Diltz— backing vocals
  • Cass Elliot— backing vocals
  • Mike Lewis, Joel Bernstein— string arrangements
  • Jerry Garcia- pedal steel guitar

Track listing:

  1. Carry On – Stephen Stills
  2. Marrakesh Express – Graham Nash
  3. Just a Song Before I Go – Graham Nash
  4. First Things First – Stephen Stills, Joe Schermie, Jon Smith
  5. Shadow Captain – David Crosby, Craig Doerge
  6. To the Last Whale…- David Crosby, Graham Nash
  7. Love the One You’re With – Stephen Stills
  8. Pre-Road Downs – Graham Nash
  9. Change Partners – Stephen Stills
  10. I Give You Give Blind- Stephen Stills
  11. Cathedral – Graham Nash

On October 19, 1968.


On October 19, 1968, “Dunhill Records” released “Dream a Little Dream”, the debut Mama Cass solo album. It was recorded in 1968, and was produced by Lou Adler and John Simon.


  • Cass Elliot- vocals
  • Hal Blaine- drums
  • Harvey Brooks- bass guitar
  • James Burton- guitar, dobro
  • Cyrus Faryar- guitar, ukulele
  • Renais Faryar – vocals
  • Jim Gordon- drums
  • Paul Harris- organ, piano
  • Brenda Holloway- backing vocals
  • Plas Johnson- saxophone
  • Larry Knechtel- keyboards
  • John Sebastian- guitar, harmonica
  • John Simon- piano, arrangements
  • Stephen Stills- guitar, vocals
  • Henry Diltz- photography

Track listing:

  1. Dream a Little Dream of Me – Wilbur Schwandt, Fabian Andre, Gus Kahn
  2. California Earthquake – John Hartford
  3. The Room Nobody Lives In – John Sebastian
  4. Talkin’ to Your Toothbrush – John Simon
  5. Blues for Breakfast – Richard Manuel
  6. You Know Who I Am – Leonard Cohen
  7. Rubber Band – Cyrus Faryar
  8. Long Time Loving You – Stuart Scharf
  9. Jane, The Insane Dog Lady – John Simon
  10. What Was I Thinking Of – Leah Cohen
  11. Burn Your Hatred – Graham Nash
  12. Sweet Believer – Cyrus Faryar

On July 29, 1974.

Cass Elliot

On July 29, 1974, Ellen Naomi Cohen aka Cass Elliot also known as Mama Cass, died aged 32. Being singer and actress, she was member of The Mugwumps, The Big 3, but she was best known as vocalist of The Mamas & the Papas. After the breakup of The Mamas & the Papas, Elliot embarked on a solo career. Her most successful recording during this period was 1968’s “Dream a Little Dream of Me” from her solo album of the same name.