Tag Archives: Gary Barnacle

In March 1987.

In March 1987, “Polydor” label released “Running in the Family”, the seventh Level 42 studio album. It was recorded in 1986, at “Sarm West” and “Maison Rouge”, and was produced by Wally Badarou, Mark King, Phil Gould, Boon Gould, Wally Badarou, Mike Lindup, Gary Barnacle and Krys Mach. The album was certified 2 x Platinum in the UK by “BPI”.

  • Mark King– bass, lead vocals
  • Phil Gould– drums
  • Boon Gould– lead and rhythm guitars
  • Wally Badarou– keyboards, backing vocals
  • Mike Lindup– keyboards, backing vocals
  • Gary Barnacle– saxophone
  • Krys Mach – saxophone

Track listing:

  1. Lessons in Love – Wally Badarou,  Gould, Mark King
  2. Children Say – Mark King, Mike Lindup, Phi Gould
  3. Running in the Family – Phil Gould, Wally Badarou, Mark King
  4. It’s Over – Mark King, R. Gould, Wally Badarou
  5. To Be with You Again – Mark King, R. Gould
  6. Two Solitudes – Mark King, Phil Gould, Mike Lindup
  7. Fashion Fever – Mark King, Phil Gould, R. Gould, Mike Lindup
  8. The Sleepwalkers – Mark King, Phil Gould
  9. Freedom Someday – Mark King, Phil Gould, R. Gould, Mike Lindup



In March 1982.

In March 1982, “Polydor” label released “The Anvil”, the second Visage studio album. It was recorded in 1981, at “Mayfair Studios” in London, and was produced by Midge Ure, Steve Strange, Dave Formula, Billy Currie and Rusty Egan. The album’s front cover photograph was taken by Helmut Newton.


  • Steve Strange– lead vocals
  • Midge Ure– guitars, backing vocals, synthesizer
  • Dave Formula– synthesizer
  • Billy Currie– electric violin, synthesizer
  • Rusty Egan– drums, backing vocals, electronic drums
  • Barry Adamson– bass
  • Gary Barnacle– saxophone
  • Perri Lister– backing vocals
  • Lorraine Whitmarsh – backing vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by Billy Currie, Rusty Egan, Dave Formula, Steve Strange and Midge Ure.

  1. The Damned Don’t Cry
  2. Anvil (Night Club School)
  3. Move Up
  4. Night Train
  5. The Horseman
  6. Look What They’ve Done
  7. Again We Love
  8. Wild Life
  9. Whispers


In February 1981.


In February 1981, “Arista” label released self-titled, debut Stray Cats album. It was recorded 1980 – 1981, and was produced by Dave Edmunds. The album song “Rock This Town” was listed by “The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame” as one of the songs that shaped rock and roll.


  • Brian Setzer- guitar, vocals
  • Slim Jim Phantom- drums
  • Lee Rocker- bass
  • Gary Barnacle- saxophone
  • Gavin Cochrane – photography

Track listing:

  1. Runaway Boys – Brian Setzer, Jim McDonnell
  2. Fishnet Stockings – Brian Setzer
  3. Ubangi Stomp – Charles Underwood
  4. Jeanie, Jeanie, Jeanie – George Motola, Ricky Page
  5. Storm the Embassy – Brian Setzer, Slim Jim Phantom
  6. Rock This Town – Brian Setzer
  7. Rumble in Brighton – Brian Setzer, Slim Jim Phantom
  8. Stray Cat Blues – Brian Setzer
  9. Crawl Up and Die – Brian Feli, Jim Feli
  10. Double Talkin’ Baby – Danny Wolfe
  11. My One Desire – Dorsey Burnette
  12. Wild Saophone – Roy Montrell, John Marascalo, Robert Blackwell

On November 22, 1985.


On November 22, 1985, “Polydor” label released “Easy Pieces”, the second Lloyd Cole and the Commotions album. It was recorded in 1985, at “Westside Studios” in London, and was produced by Clive Langer and Alan Winstanley.


  • Neil Clark– guitar
  • Lloyd Cole– vocals, guitar
  • Blair Cowan– keyboards
  • Lawrence Donegan– bass guitar, guitar
  • Stephen Irvine – drums, tambourine
  • Jimmy Thomas, Jimmy Helms, Lance Ellington, Jimmy Chambers, Tony Jackson, Lynda Hayes – additional vocals
  • Anne Dudley– string arrangements
  • Gary Barnacle– brass arrangements

Track listing:

All tracks by Lloyd Cole.

  1. Rich
  2. Why I Love Country Music – Lloyd Cole, Blair Cowan
  3. Pretty Gone – Neil Clark, Lloyd Cole
  4. Grace
  5. Cut Me Down
  6. Brand New Friend – Lloyd Cole, Blair Cowan
  7. Lost Weekend – Neil Clark, Lloyd Cole, Lawrence Donegan
  8. James
  9. Minor Character – Neil Clark, Lloyd Cole
  10. Perfect Blue


On November 13, 1990.


On November 13, 1990, “Go! Disc” label released “Choke”, the second Beautiful South studio album. It was recorded in 1990, and was produced by Mike Hedges and The Beautiful South.


  • Paul Heaton- vocals
  • Dave Hemingway- vocals
  • Briana Corrigan- vocals
  • Dave Rotheray- guitar
  • Sean Welch- bass
  • Dave Stead– drums
  • Gary Barnacle– flute, saxophone
  • Kevin Brown – saxophone
  • Damon Butcher – piano, keyboards
  • Rupert Coulson – engineer
  • Ben Kape – engineer
  • Jody Kitson – percussion
  • Lance Phillips – engineer
  • Tony Robinson – trumpet
  • Pete Wingfield– piano

Track listing:

All tracks by Paul Heaton, David Rotheray, except where noted

  1. Tonight I Fancy Myself
  2. My Book
  3. Let Love Speak Up Itself
  4. Should’ve Kept My Eyes Shut
  5. I’ve Come For My Award
  6. Lips
  7. I Think The Answer’s Yes
  8. A Little Time
  9. Mother’s Pride
  10. I Hate You (But You’re Interesting
  11. The Rising Of Grafton Street

On November 6, 1989.


On November 6, 1989, “Polydor” label released “Boomerang”, the second Creatures album. It was recorded May 1989, in Andalusia, Spain, and was produced by Mike Hedges and The Creatures.


  • Siouxsie Sioux- voice, instruments
  • Budgie- Drums, percussion, other instruments
  • Peter Thoms – trombone
  • Gary Barnacle- saxophone
  • Nico Tomasso – trumpet
  • Martin McCarrick- accordion

Track listing:

  1. Standing There
  2. Manchild
  3. You!
  4. Pity
  5. Killing Time
  6. Willow
  7. Pluto Drive
  8. Solar Choir
  9. Speeding
  10. Fury Eyes
  11. Fruitman
  12. Untiedundone
  13. Simoom
  14. Strolling Wolf
  15. Venus Sands
  16. Morriña

On June 18, 1984.

Goodbye Cruel World

On June 18, 1984, “F-Beat Records” label released “Goodbye Cruel World”, the ninth Elvis Costello album overall and the eighth with The Attractions. It was recorded in February 1984, at “Sarm West Studios” in London, and was produced by Clive Langer and Alan Winstanley.


  • Elvis Costello– vocals, guitars
  • Steve Nieve– keyboards
  • Bruce Thomas– bass guitar
  • Pete Thomas– drums
  • Gary Barnacle– saxophones
  • Jim Paterson –trombone
  • Luis Jardim– percussion
  • Daryl Hall– vocals
  • Green Gartside– vocal

Track listing:

All tracks by Elvis Costello, except where noted.

  1. The Only Flame in Town
  2. Home Truth
  3. Room with No Number
  4. Inch By Inch
  5. Worthless Thing
  6. Love Field
  7. I Wanna Be Loved – Farnell Jenkins
  8. The Comedians
  9. Joe Porterhouse
  10. Sour Milk-Cow Blues
  11. The Great Unknown – Elvis Costello,Clive Langer
  12. The Deportees Club
  13. Peace in Our Time