Tag Archives: Dave Formula

In June 1978.

In June 1978, “Virgin” label released “Real Life”, the debut Magazine studio album. It was recorded March – April 1978, at “Virgin Mobile” and “Abbey Road Studios” in London, and was produced by John Leckie and Mick Glossop. The album artwork and mono print were by Linder. In 1986, “Sounds” magazine ranked “Real Life” at number 89 in its list “100 Best Albums of All Time”; in 2006, “Uncut” magazine ranked the album at number 37 on its list of the “100 Greatest Debut Albums”.


  • Howard Devoto– vocals
  • John McGeoch– guitar, saxophone
  • Barry Adamson– bass guitar
  • Dave Formula– keyboards
  • Martin Jackson– drums
  • John Leckie- engineer
  • Hayden Bendall – assistant engineer
  • Adrian Boot – photographs

Track listing:

All tracks by Howard Devoto.

  1. Definitive Gaze – Howard Devoto, John McGeoch
  2. My Tulpa – Howard Devoto, John McGeoch
  3. Shot by Both Sides – Howard Devoto, Pete Shelley
  4. Recoll – Howard Devoto, John McGeoch
  5. Burst – Howard Devoto
  6. Motorcade – Howard Devoto, Bob Dickinson
  7. The Great Beautician in the Sky – Howard Devoto, John McGeoch
  8. The Light Pours Out of Me – Howard Devoto, John McGeoch, Pete Shelley
  9. Parade – Barry Adamson, Dave Formula

In May 1980.

In May 1980, “Virgin” label released “The Correct Use of Soap”, the third Magazine album. It was recorded in 1980, and Martin Hannett.


  • Howard Devoto– vocals
  • John McGeoch– guitar
  • Barry Adamson– bass guitar
  • Dave Formula– keyboards
  • John Doyle– drums
  • Laura Teresa – additional backing vocals
  • Raphael Ravenscroft – saxophone
  • Malcolm Garrett(Aesthetic Images) – record sleeve design

Track listing:

All tracks by Barry Adamson, Howard Devoto, John Doyle, Dave Formula and John McGeoch, except where noted.

  1. Because You’re Frightened
  2. Model Worker
  3. I’m a Party
  4. You Never Knew Me
  5. Philadelphia
  6. I Want to Burn Again
  7. Thank You (Falettinme Be Mice Elf Agin) – Sylvester Stewart
  8. Sweetheart Contract
  9. Stuck
  10. A Song from Under the Floorboards

On May 20, 2013.

On May 20, 2013, “Blitz Club” label released “Hearts and Knives”, the fourth Visage studio album. It was recorded 2012-2013, and was produced by John Bryan and Sare Havlicek. “Hearts and Knives” was the band’s first album of new material in 29 years.


  • Steve Strange– vocals
  • Steve Barnacle – bass
  • Robin Simon– guitar
  • Lauren Duvall – vocals
  • Dave Formula– keyboards
  • Mick MacNeil– keyboards
  • Logan Sky – keyboards
  • Rich Mowatt – keyboards
  • John Bryan – additional backing vocals
  • Sare Havlicek – keyboards, drums
  • “Wildcat” Will Blanchard – drums
  • Nigel Summers – additional guitar

Track listing:

  1. Never Enough
  2. Shameless Fashion
  3. She’s Electric (Coming Around)
  4. Hidden Sign
  5. On We Go
  6. Dreamer I Know
  7. Lost in Static
  8. I Am Watching
  9. Diaries of a Madman
  10. Breathe Life


In March 1982.

In March 1982, “Polydor” label released “The Anvil”, the second Visage studio album. It was recorded in 1981, at “Mayfair Studios” in London, and was produced by Midge Ure, Steve Strange, Dave Formula, Billy Currie and Rusty Egan. The album’s front cover photograph was taken by Helmut Newton.


  • Steve Strange– lead vocals
  • Midge Ure– guitars, backing vocals, synthesizer
  • Dave Formula– synthesizer
  • Billy Currie– electric violin, synthesizer
  • Rusty Egan– drums, backing vocals, electronic drums
  • Barry Adamson– bass
  • Gary Barnacle– saxophone
  • Perri Lister– backing vocals
  • Lorraine Whitmarsh – backing vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by Billy Currie, Rusty Egan, Dave Formula, Steve Strange and Midge Ure.

  1. The Damned Don’t Cry
  2. Anvil (Night Club School)
  3. Move Up
  4. Night Train
  5. The Horseman
  6. Look What They’ve Done
  7. Again We Love
  8. Wild Life
  9. Whispers


On March 30, 1979.


On March 30, 1979, “Virgin” label released “Secondhand Daylight”, the second Magazine studio album. It was recorded in January 1979, at “Good Earth Studios” in London and “Virgin Records” mobile studio, which was used at “Farmyard Studios”, and was produced by Colin Thurston.


  • Howard Devoto– vocals
  • John McGeoch– guitar, saxophone, backing vocals, keyboards
  • Barry Adamson– bass, backing vocals
  • Dave Formula– keyboards
  • John Doyle– drums, percussion
  • Colin Thurston–  engineering
  • Tony Wilson – production on “Give Me Everything” and “I Love You, You Big Dummy”
  • JJ Allom – engineering
  • Bill Aitken – engineering
  • Ian Pollock – sleeve illustration
  • Richard Rayner-Canham – sleeve photography
  • Malcolm Garrett– sleeve typography and images

Track listing:

All lyrics by Howard Devoto, except of “The Thin Air” and “I Love You, You Big Dummy”.

  1. Feed the Enemy – Dave Formula
  2. Rhythm of Cruelty – John McGeoch and Barry Adamson
  3. Cut-Out Shapes – Howard Devoto
  4. Talk to the Body – John McGeoch
  5. I Wanted Your Heart – Dave Formula and Barry Adamson
  6. The Thin Air – Howard Devoto and John McGeoch
  7. Back to Nature – Dave Formula
  8. Believe That I Understood – Howard Devoto and Barry Adamson
  9. Permafrost – Howard Devoto