Tag Archives: Bill Nelson

On October 12, 1979.

On October 12, 1979, “Virgin” label released “Days in Europa”, the second Skids album. It was recorded in 1979, at “Rockfield Studios” in Wales, “The Manor Studios”  in Shipton-on-Cherwell in Oxfordshire, England, and was produced by Bill Nelson. The initiall released album was with an Aryan album cover reminiscent of the 1936 Olympics, with Germanic Gothic-style lettering.


  • Richard Jobson– vocals
  • Stuart Adamson– guitar, vocals, keyboards
  • William Simpson – bass guitar, vocals
  • Rusty Egan– drums
  • Bill Nelson– keyboards

Track listing:

All tracks by Richard Jobson and Stuart Adamson, except where noted.

  1. Animation
  2. Charade
  3. Dulce et Decorum Est (Pro Patria Mori)
  4. Pros and Cons
  5. Home of the Savedm – Stuart Adamson
  6. Working for the Yankee Dollar
  7. The Olympian
  8. Thanatos
  9. A Day in Europa
  10. Peaceful Times



In February 1978.

In February 1978, “Harvest” label released “Drastic Plastic”, the fifth and the final Be-Bop Deluxe album. It was recorded in 1977, at “Chateau Saint Georges” in Juan-les-Pins, in France, and was produced by John Leckie and Bill Nelson.


  • Bill Nelson– lead vocals, electric, acoustic and 12-string guitars, mandolin, guitar synthesizer, piano, percussion
  • Andy Clark- keyboards and synthesizers
  • Charlie Tumahai- bass guitar, backing vocals
  • Simon Fox- drums, loops

Track listing:

All tracks by Bill Nelson.

  1. Electrical Language
  2. New Precision
  3. New Mysteries
  4. Surreal Estate
  5. Love in Flames
  6. Panic in the World
  7. Dangerous Stranger
  8. Superenigmatix (Lethal Appliances for the Home with Everything)
  9. Visions of Endless Hopes
  10. Possession
  11. Islands of the Dead


In July 1975.

In July 1975, “Harvest” label released “Futurama”, the second Be-Bop Deluxe album. It was recorded in 1975, and was produced by Roy Thomas Baker.


  • Bill Nelson– guitar, lead and backing vocals, keyboards
  • Charlie Tumahai– bass, backing vocals
  • Simon Fox– drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Bill Nelson.

  1. Stage Whispers
  2. Love With the Madman
  3. Maid in Heaven
  4. Sister Seagull
  5. Sound Track
  6. Music in Dreamland
  7. Jean Cocteau
  8. Between the Worlds
  9. Swan Song

In June 1974.

In June 1974, “Harvest” label released “Axe Victim”, the debut Be-Bop Deluxe album. It was recorded in 1974, and was produced by Ian McLintock.


  • Bill Nelson– electric and 12-string guitars, lead vocals (all but 6), keyboards
  • Ian Parkin– rhythm and acoustic guitars, organ
  • Robert Bryan – bass guitar, lead vocals (6)
  • Nicholas Chatterton-Dew – drums, backing vocals’

Track listing:

All tracks by Bill Nelson, except where noted.

  1. Axe Victim
  2. Love is Swift Arrows
  3. Jet Silver and the Dolls of Venus
  4. Third Floor Heaven
  5. Night Creatures
  6. Rocket Cathedrals – Robert Bryan
  7. Adventures in a Yorkshire Landscape
  8. Jets at Dawn
  9. No Trains To Heaven
  10. Darkness (L’Immoraliste)

In May 1983.

In May 1983,”Zomba Records” label released “Listen”, the second A Flock of Seagulls album. It was recorded 1982-1983, and was produced by Mike Howlett and Bill Nelson.


  • Mike Score– lead vocals, keyboards, guitar
  • Paul Reynolds– lead guitar, backing vocals
  • Frank Maudsley – bass guitar, backing vocals
  • Ali Score – drums
  • Dave Hutchins – engineer, recorded by

Track listing:

All tracks by Mike Score, Ali Score, Frank Maudsley and Paul Reynolds.

  1. Wishing (If I Had a Photograph of You)
  2. Nightmares
  3. Transfer Affection
  4. What Am I Supposed to Do
  5. Electrics
  6. The Traveller
  7. 2:30
  8. Over the Border
  9. The Fall
  10. (It’s Not Me) Talking

In February 1976.

In February 1976, “Harvest” label released “Sunburst Finish”, the third Be-Bop Deluxe studio album. It was recorded in 1975, and was produced by John Leckie and Bill Nelson. The cover art concept was by Mike Doud, the cover photograph was by John Thornton.


  • Bill Nelson- lead vocals, electric and 12-string guitars
  • Andy Clark- keyboards, synthesizer
  • Charlie Tumahai- bass guitar, backing vocals
  • Simon Fox- drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Bill Nelson

  1. Fair Exchange
  2. Heavenly Homes
  3. Ships in the Night
  4. Crying to the Sky
  5. Sleep That Burns
  6. Beauty Secrets
  7. Life in the Air Age
  8. Like an Old Blues
  9. Crystal Gazing
  10. Blazing Apostles