Tag Archives: Bob Geldof

On June 4, 2020.

On June 4, 2020, Rupert Neville Hine died aged 72. He was musician (various instruments), songwriter and record producer. As producer he worked with Kevin Ayers, Bob Geldof, Howard Jones, Saga, Thompson Twins, Stevie Nicks, Tina Turner, Chris de Burgh, Suzanne Vega and Rush. Under his real name, under the pseudo-band name Thinkman, and as a member of the band Quantum Jump, Hine released eleven albums.

On March 13, 2020.

On March 13, 2020, “BMG” label released “Citizens of Boomtown”, the seventh Boomtown Rats studio album. It was recorded in 2019, at “Brick Music” in Acton, London, “Barnstorm Studios” in Outwood, UK, and was produced by Pete Briquette.


  • Bob Geldof – lead vocals, guitar, harmonica
  • Daren Beale – lead guitar, synthesizer, backing vocals
  • Alan Dunne – keyboards, backing vocals
  • Pete Briquette – bass guitar, keyboards, programming, recording
  • Simon Crowe – vocals, drums
  • Garry Roberts – guitar
  • Paul Cuddeford – guitar
  • Luciano Cusack – backing vocals
  • Serafina Cusack – backing vocals
  • Rob Barrie – recording
  • Dick Beetham – mastering
  • Clemens Gritl – original artwork
  • Sagan Cowne – design
  • Mark Cowne – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Bob Geldof except where noted.

  1. Trash Glam Baby
  2. Sweet Thing
  3. Monster Monkeys – Bob Geldof, Pete Briquette
  4. She Said No
  5. Passing Through – Bob Geldof, Pete Briquette
  6. Here’s a Postcard
  7. K.I.S.S. – Bob Geldof, Pete Briquette
  8. Rock ‘n’ Roll Yé Yé – Daren Beale, Bob Geldof
  9. Get a Grip – Bob Geldof, Pete Briquette
  10. The Boomtown Rats – Bob Geldof, Pete Briquette

In September 1977.

In September 1977, “Mercury” label released the debut, self-titled Boomtown Rats album. It was recorded in 1977, and was produced by Robert John “Mutt” Lange.


  • Bob Geldof: lead vocals
  • Pete Briquette: bass, vocals
  • Garry Roberts: guitar, vocals
  • Gerry Cott: guitar
  • Simon Crowe: drums, vocals
  • Johnnie Fingers: keyboards
  • Albie Donnelly: saxophone
  • Sue Dubois: art direction, design
  • Geoff Halpin: design
  • Hannah Sharn: photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Bob Geldof.

  1. Lookin’ After No. 1
  2. Neon Heart
  3. Joey’s on the Street Again
  4. Never Bite the Hand That Feeds
  5. Mary of the 4th Form
  6. (She’s Gonna) Do You In
  7. Close As You’ll Ever Be
  8. I Can Make It If You Can
  9. Kicks


In June 1978.

In June 1978, “Ensign Records” label released “A Tonic for the Troops”, the second  Boomtown Rats album. It was recorded in 1978, and was produced by Robert John “Mutt” Lange, Bob Geldof, Pete Briquette, Gerry Cott, Johnnie Fingers, Simon Crowe, Garry Roberts and Alan Holmes.


  • Bob Geldof– vocals
  • Pete Briquette– bass, vocals
  • Gerry Cott– guitar
  • Johnnie Fingers– keyboards, vocals
  • Simon Crowe– drums, vocals
  • Garry Roberts– guitar, vocals
  • Alan Holmes – saxophone

Track listing:

All tracks by Bob Geldof except where noted.

  1. Like Clockwork – Bob Geldof, Pete Briquette, Simon Crowe
  2. Blind Date
  3. (I Never Loved) Eva Braun
  4. Living in an Island
  5. Don’t Believe What You Read
  6. She’s So Modern – Bob Geldof,Johnny Fingers
  7. Me and Howard Hughes
  8. Can’t Stop
  9. (Watch Out For) The Normal People
  10. Rat Trap

In May 1984.

In May 1984, “Mercury” label released “In the Long Grass”, the sixth and final  Boomtown Rats album. It w was produced by Pete Walsh, James Guthrie, Bob Geldof, Pete Briquette, Johnny Fingers, Simon Crowe and Garry Roberts.


  • Bob Geldof– vocals
  • Pete Briquette– bass, vocals
  • Johnny Fingers– keyboards, vocals
  • Simon Crowe– drums, vocals
  • Garry Roberts– guitar, vocals
  • Peter “Gidday” Thomas- trombone
  • Luke Tunney – trumpet
  • Gary Barnacle– saxophone
  • Martin Dobson – saxophone
  • Peter Claridge – guitar
  • Molly and Polly – backing vocals
  • Ian Richie – saxophone
  • Martin Salvador Rex – engineered
  • Ashworth – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Bob Geldof except where noted.

  1. A Hold Of Me
  2. Drag Me Down
  3. Dave
  4. Over Again
  5. Another Sad Story – Johhny Fingers
  6. Tonight
  7. Hard Times
  8. Lucky – Johnny Fingers
  9. An Icicle In The Sun
  10. Up Or Down – Simon Crowe, Pete Briquette

On October 9, 1979.


On October 9, 1979, “Mulligan Records” released “The Fine Art of Surfacing”, the third Boomtown Rats album.  It was recorded in 1979, and was produced by Robert John “Mutt” Lange and Phil Wainman. The album contained the track “I Don’t Like Mondays”, that became band’s trademark song.


  • Bob Geldof– vocals, saxophone
  • Pete Briquette– bass, vocals
  • Gerry Cott– guitar
  • Johnnie Fingers– keyboards, vocals
  • Simon Crowe– drums, vocals
  • Garry Roberts– guitar, vocals

Track listing:

All compositions by Bob Geldof, except where noted.

  1. Someone’s Looking at You
  2. Diamond Smiles
  3. Wind Chill Factor (Minus Zero)
  4. Having My Picture Taken – Bob Geldof, Pete Briquette
  5. Sleep (Fingers’ Lullaby) – Johnnie Fingers
  6. A hidden track(with lyrics including “that’s not funny, I’m not laughing”), on the original LP playing through to the run-out groove.
  7. I Don’t Like Mondays
  8. Nothing Happened Today
  9. Keep It Up – Bob Geldof, Gerry Cott
  10. Nice N Neat
  11. When the Night Comes



On January 28, 1985.

We are the world

On January 28, 1985, the song “We Are the World” was recorded in the “A&M” studios in LA. The USA response to the UK Band Aid’s “Do they know it’s Christmas” was written by Michael Jackson and Lionel Richie and produced by Quincy Jones and Michael Omartian for the album We Are the World. The single was released on March 7, 1985 on “Columbia” label and sold over 20 million copies worldwide.

The following singers, musicians and celebrities took part in the song:

  • Lionel Richie
  • Stevie Wonder
  • Paul Simon
  • Kenny Rogers
  • James Ingram
  • Tina Turner
  • Billy Joel
  • Michael Jackson
  • Diana Ross
  • Dionne Warwick
  • Willie Nelson
  • Al Jarreau
  • Bruce Springsteen
  • Kenny Loggins
  • Steve Perry
  • Daryl Hall
  • Huey Lewis
  • Cyndi Lauper
  • Kim Carnes
  • Bob Dylan
  • Ray Charles
  • Dan Aykroyd
  • Harry Belafonte
  • Lindsey Buckingham
  • Mario Cipollina
  • Johnny Colla
  • Sheila E.
  • Bob Geldof
  • David Paich
  • Michael Boddicker
  • Paulinho da Costa
  • Louis Johnson
  • Michael Omartian
  • Greg Phillinganes
  • John Robinson