In July 1981.

In July 1981, “Polydor” label released the debut, self titled Level 42 album. It was recorded in 1981, at “Vineyard”, “Chipping Norton” and “RAK” studios, and was produced by Mike Vernon.


  • Mark King – vocals, bass, percussion
  • Mike Lindup – lead and backing vocals, Minimoog, acoustic and electric pianos, percussion
  • Boon Gould– guitars
  • Wally Badarou – Prophet 5, Korg Polyphonic, Minimoog, vocalizing
  • Phil Gould – drums, glockenspiel, timbales, percussion, backing vocals
  • Leroy Williams– congas, bongos, percussion
  • Gary Barnacle– electric saxophone
  • Dave Chambers – tenor saxophone

Track listing:

  1. Turn It On – Wally Badarou, Boon Gould, Mark King
  2. 43 – Mark King
  3. Why Are You Leaving? – Boon Gould, Mike Lindup
  4. Almost There – Phil Gould, Boon Gould, Mark King
  5. Heathrow – Wally Badarou
  6. Love Games – Boon Gould, Mark King
  7. Dune Tune – Mark King
  8. Starchild – Wally Badarou, Boon Gould, Mark King

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.