In May 1984.

In May 1984, “Mercury” label released “In the Long Grass”, the sixth and final  Boomtown Rats album. It w was produced by Pete Walsh, James Guthrie, Bob Geldof, Pete Briquette, Johnny Fingers, Simon Crowe and Garry Roberts.


  • Bob Geldof– vocals
  • Garry Roberts– vocals, guitar
  • Johnny Fingers– vocals, keyboards
  • Pete Briquette– vocals, bass
  • Simon Crowe– drums, vocals
  • Peter Claridge – guitar
  • Peter “Gidday” Thomas- trombone
  • Luke Tunney – trumpet
  • Gary Barnacle– saxophone
  • Martin Dobson – saxophone
  • Ian Richie – saxophone
  • Molly and Polly – backing vocals
  • Martin Salvador Rex – engineer
  • Ashworth – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Bob Geldof except where noted.

  1. A Hold Of Me
  2. Drag Me Down
  3. Dave
  4. Over Again
  5. Another Sad Story – Johhny Fingers
  6. Tonight
  7. Hard Times
  8. Lucky – Johnny Fingers
  9. An Icicle In The Sun
  10. Up Or Down – Simon Crowe, Pete Briquette

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.