Tag Archives: Basing Street Studios

On February 13, 1976.

On February 13, 1976, “Virgin” label released “Shamal”, the sixth Gong studio album. It was recorded in December 1975, at “Basing Street Studios” and “Olympic Studios” in London, and was produced by Nick Mason.


  • Mike Howlett– bass guitar, vocals
  • Didier Malherbe– tenor sax, soprano sax, flute, bansuri, gongs
  • Mireille Bauer– marimba, glockenspiel, xylophone, percussion, gongs
  • Pierre Moerlen– drums, vibraphone, tubular bells
  • Patrice Lemoine – organ, piano, synthesizer
  • Steve Hillage– acoustic guitar, electric guitar
  • Miquette Giraudy, Sandy Colley – vocals
  • Jorge Pinchevsky – violin
  • Phil Ault, Dave Hutchins, Ben Tavera King, Rick Curtain, Ben King: engineer
  • Clive Arrowsmith: artwork, photography

Track listing:

  1. Wingful of Eyes – Mike Howlett
  2. Chandra – Patrice Lemoine
  3. Bambooji – Didier Malherbe
  4. Cat in Clark’s Shoes – Didier Malherbe
  5. Mandrake – Pierre Moerlen
  6. Shamal – Mike Howlett, Didier Malherbe, Patrice Lemoine, Mireille Bauer

In August 1976.

In August 1976, “Mushroom” label released “Second Thoughts”, the second Split Enz studio album. It was recorded April – May 1976, at “Basing Street Studios” in London, and was produced by Phil Manzanera.


  • Tim Finn– vocals, piano
  • Phil Judd– vocals, guitars, mandolin
  • Jonathan Michael Chunn– bass, piano
  • Noel Crombie– percussion
  • Emlyn Crowther– drums
  • Robert Gillies– saxophone, trumpet
  • Edward Rayner– keyboards
  • Miles Golding – violin
  • Ian Sharp – cello
  • Rhett Davies, Guy Bidmead – recording engineers
  • Rhett Davies – mixing engineer
  • Front cover photograph – John Prew

Track listing:

  1. Late Last Night – Phil Judd
  2. Walking Down a Road – Tim Finn, Phil Judd
  3. Titus – Phil Judd
  4. Lovely Dovey – Tim Finn, Phil Judd
  5. Sweet Dreams – Phil Judd
  6. Stranger Than Fiction – Tim Finn, Phil Judd
  7. Time for a Change – Phil Judd
  8. Matinee Idyll – Tim Finn, Phil Judd
  9. The Woman Who Loves You – Tim Finn, Phil Judd

In July 1980.

In July 1980, “United Artists” label released “New Clear Days”, the debut Vapors album. It was recorded 1979 -1980, at “Basing Street Studios” and “The Town House”, and was produced by Vic Coppersmith-Heaven.


  • David Fenton: Rhythm Guitar, Lead Vocals
  • Edward Bazalgette: Lead Guitar
  • Steve Smith: Bass, Backing Vocals
  • Howard Smith: Drums, Percussion

Track listing:

All tracks by David Fenton.

  1. Spring Collection
  2. Turning Japanese
  3. Cold War
  4. America
  5. Trains
  6. Bunkers
  7. News at Ten
  8. Somehow
  9. Sixty Second Interval
  10. Waiting for the Weekend
  11. Letter from Hiro

In June 1981.

In June 1981, “A&M” label released “Jumpin’ Jive”, the fourth Joe Jackson studio album. It was recorded in May 1981, at “Basing Street Studios” in London, and was produced by Joe Jackson.


  • Joe Jackson– vocals, vibraphone, arrangements
  • Pete Thomas– alto saxophone
  • Raul D’Oliveira – trumpet
  • Nick Weldon – piano
  • Dave Bitelli – tenor saxophoneand clarinet
  • Graham Maby– bass
  • Larry Tolfree – drums
  • All – backing vocals
  • Norman Mighell – assistant producer, recording engineer
  • Matt The Goose – assistant recording engineer
  • Pete Thomas, Dave Bitelli, Raul D’Oliveira – horn arrangements
  • Jeri Heiden, Sandy Brummels – art direction
  • Anton Corbijn- photography

.Track listing:

  1. Jumpin’ with Symphony Sid – Lester Young, King Pleasure
  2. Jack, You’re Dead – Walter Bishop, Dick Miles
  3. Is You Is or Is You Ain’t My Baby – Bill Austin, Louis Jordan
  4. We the Cats (Shall Hep Ya) – Cab Calloway, Jack Palmer
  5. San Francisco Fan – Sammy Mysels, Dick Sanford
  6. Five Guys Named Moe – Jerome Bresler, Larry Wynn
  7. Jumpin’ Jive – Cab Calloway, Frank Froeba, Jack Palmer
  8. You Run Your Mouth (and I’ll Run My Business) – Louis Armstrong
  9. What’s the Use of Getting Sober(When You’re Gonna Get Drunk Again) – Busby Meyers
  10. You’re My Meat – Skeets Tolbert
  11. Tuxedo Junction – Erskine Hawkins, Buddy Feyne, William Johnson, Julian Dash
  12. How Long Must I Wait for You – Jerry Black, Lucky Millinder



In June 1976.

In June 1976, “Harvest” label released “Yes We Have No Mañanas (So Get Your Mañanas Today)”, the seventh Kevin Ayers studio album. It was recorded in 1976, at “Basing Street Studios” in London, and was produced by Muff Winwood.


  • Kevin Ayers- guitar, vocals
  • Billy Livsey– keyboards
  • Charlie McCracken – bass
  • J. Cole- steel guitar
  • Tony Newman- drums
  • Roger Pope – drums
  • Rick Wills- bass
  • Zoot Money- keyboards
  • Andy Roberts – guitar,
  • Nick Rowley – keyboards
  • Ollie Halsall– guitar
  • Rob Townsend- drums, percussion
  • Roger Saunders – guitar
  • Mickey Feat – bass
  • Pip Williams, David Bedford- arranger

Track listing:

  1. Star– Kevin Ayers
  2. Mr Cool – Kevin Ayers
  3. The Owl – Kevin Ayers
  4. Love’s Gonna Turn You Round – Kevin Ayers
  5. Falling In Love Again- Connelly , Hollander
  6. Help Me – Kevin Ayers
  7. Ballad Of Mr Snake – Kevin Ayers
  8. Everyone Knows The Song– Kevin Ayers
  9. Yes I Do – Kevin Ayers
  10. Blue – Kevin Ayers

In December 1977.


In December 1977, “Polydor” label released “Before and After Science”, the fifth Brian Eno studio album.It was recorded in 1977, at “Basing Street Studios” in London, and “Conny’s Studio” in Cologne, and was produced by Brian Eno and Rhett Davies.


  • Brian Eno– voices, synthesizers, guitar, synthesised percussion, piano,  brass, vibes, metallics, bell, cover design
  • Paul Rudolph– bass, rhythm guitar, harmonic bass
  • Phil Collins– drums
  • Percy Jones– fretless bass, analogue delay bass
  • Rhett Davies– agong-gong, stick
  • Jaki Liebezeit– drums
  • Dave Mattacks– drums
  • Shirley Williams (Robert Wyatt) – brush timbales, time
  • Kurt Schwitters– voice
  • Fred Frith– modified guitar, cascade guitars
  • Andy Fraser– drums
  • Phil Manzanera– rhythm guitar
  • Robert Fripp– guitar
  • Achim Roedelius– grand piano, electric piano
  • Möbi Moebius– bass Fender piano
  • Bill MacCormick– bass
  • Brian Turrington – bass
  • Peter Schmidt– art prints
  • Rhett Davies – audio engineer
  • Ritva Saarikko – cover photograph
  • Conny Plank– engineer
  • Dave Hutchins – engineer
  • Cream – cover artwork

Track listing:

All tracks by Brian Eno, except where noted.

  1. No One Receiving
  2. Backwater
  3. Kurt’s Rejoinder
  4. Energy Fools the Magician – arranged by Percy Jones and Brian Eno
  5. King’s Lead Hat
  6. Here He Comes
  7. Julie With …
  8. By This River – Brian Eno, Hans-Joachim Roedelius, Dieter Moebius
  9. Through Hollow Lands (for Harold Budd) – arranged by Fred Frith and Brian Eno
  10. Spider and I


On May 23, 1980.


On May 23, 1980, “E.G.” label released “Flesh + Blood” the seventh Roxy Music studio album. It was recorded in 1980, at “Basing Street Studios” and “Gallery Studios”, and was produced by Rhett Davies and Roxy Music.


  • Bryan Ferry– vocals, keyboards, piano, synthesiser, guitar, strings
  • Andy Mackay– saxophones, oboe
  • Phil Manzanera– guitar, bass
  • Paul Carrack– strings, organ, piano
  • Neil Hubbard– guitar
  • Neil Jason– bass
  • Andy Newmark– drums
  • Simon Phillips– percussion
  • Allan Schwartzberg– drums, percussion
  • Alan Spenner– bass
  • Gary Tibbs– bass

Track listing:

All tracks by Bryan Ferry except where noted.

  1. In the Midnight Hour – Wilson Pickett, Steve Cropper
  2. Oh Yeah
  3. Same Old Scene
  4. Flesh and Blood
  5. My Only Love
  6. Over You – Brian Ferry, Phil Manzanera
  7. Eight Miles High” (Gene Clark, David Crosby, Roger McGuinn
  8. Rain, Rain, Rain
  9. No Strange Delight – Brian Ferry, Phil Manzanera
  10. Running Wild – Brian Ferry, Phil Manzanera