Tag Archives: Vic Coppersmith-Heaven

Black Sabbath: The Eternal Idol

On November 23, 1987, “Vertigo” label released “The Eternal Idol”, the thirteenth Black Sabbath studio album. It was recorded October 1986 – March 1987, at “Air Studios” in Montserrat, “Air Studios” and “Battery Studios” in London, and was produced by Jeff Glixman, Vic Coppersmith-Heaven and Chris Tsanqarides.


  • Tony Martin – lead vocals
  • Tony Iommi – guitar
  • Geoff Nicholls – keyboards
  • Bob Daisley – bass
  • Eric Singer drums
  • Ray Gillen – sinister laugh
  • Bev Bevan – percussion
  • Jeff Glixman – engineer
  • Vic Coppersmith-Heaven – engineer
  • Chris Tsangarides – engineer, mixing

Track listing:

All lyrics by Bob Daisley and Geoff Nicholls, all music by Tony Iommi.

  1. The Shine
  2. Ancient Warrior
  3. Hard Life to Love
  4. Glory Ride
  5. Born to Lose
  6. Nightmare
  7. Scarlet Pimpernel
  8. Lost Forever
  9. Eternal Idol

In July 1980.

In July 1980, “United Artists” label released “New Clear Days”, the debut Vapors album. It was recorded 1979 -1980, at “Basing Street Studios” and “The Town House”, and was produced by Vic Coppersmith-Heaven.


  • David Fenton – lead vocals, rhythm guitar
  • Edward Bazalgette – lead guitar
  • Steve Smith – bass, backing vocals
  • Howard Smith – drums, percussion

Track listing:

All tracks by David Fenton.

  1. Spring Collection
  2. Turning Japanese
  3. Cold War
  4. America
  5. Trains
  6. Bunkers
  7. News at Ten
  8. Somehow
  9. Sixty Second Interval
  10. Waiting for the Weekend
  11. Letter from Hiro

On November 28, 1980.


On November 28, 1980, “Polydor” label released “Sound Affects”, the fifth Jam studio album. It was recorded June – October 1980, and was produced by Paul Weller, Bruce Foxton, Rick Buckler and Vic Coppersmith-Heaven. The album cover art is a pastiche of the artwork used on various Sound Effects records produced by the BBC during the 1970s. “NME” magazine ranked the album at number 487 on its list of the “500 Greatest Albums of All Time”.


  • Paul Weller – vocals, guitar, keyboards
  • Bruce Foxton – vocals, bass
  • Rick Buckler – drums
  • Martyn Goddard – cover art, photography
  • Bill Smith – design
  • Pennie Smith – photography
  • Paul Cox – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Paul Weller except where noted.

  1. Pretty Green
  2. Monday
  3. But I’m Different Now
  4. Set the House Ablaze
  5. Start!
  6. That’s Entertainment
  7. Dream Time
  8. Man in the Corner Shop
  9. Music for the Last Couple – Rick Buckler, Bruce Foxton, Paul Weller
  10. Boy About Town
  11. Scrape Away

On November 3, 1978.


On November 3, 1978, “Polydor” label released “All Mod Cons”, the third Jam album. It was recorded July – August 1978, at “RAK” and “Eden Studios” in London, and was produced by Vic Coppersmith-Heaven and Chris Parry. In 2000,  “Q”  magazine  ranked “All Mod Cons” at number 50 in its list of the “100 Greatest British Albums Ever”, in 2013, “NME” magazine ranked it at number 219 in its list of “The 500 Greatest Albums of All Time”.


  • Paul Weller – guitar, piano, harmonica, vocals
  • Bruce Foxton – bass, vocals
  • Rick Buckler – drums, percussion
  • Gregg Jackman, Roger Bechirian, Vic Coppersmith-Heaven – soundboard engineer
  • Peter Schierwade, Phil Thornalley- assistant engineer
  • Peter “Kodick” Gravelle – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Paul Weller, except where noted.

  1. All Mod Cons
  2. To Be Someone (Didn’t We Have a Nice Time)
  3. Clean
  4. David Watts – Ray Davies
  5. English Rose
  6. In the Crowd
  7. Billy Hunt
  8. It’s Too Bad
  9. Fly
  10. The Place I Love
  11. ‘A’ Bomb in Wardour Street
  12. Down in the Tube Station at Midnight