Tag Archives: United Artists

In April 1980.

In April 1980, “United Artists” label released “Snakes and Ladders”, the fourth Gerry Rafferty album. It was recorded in 1980, and was produced by Gerry Rafferty and Hugh Murphy.


  • Gerry Rafferty – vocals, guitar, keyboards
  • Mo Foster– bass
  • Ian Lynn – keyboards
  • Jerry Donahue– guitar
  • Richard Harvey – synthesiser, penny whistle
  • Bryn Haworth– guitar, slide guitar
  • Richard Brunton – guitar
  • Mel Collins– saxophone
  • Betsy Cook– backing vocals
  • Liam Genockey– drums
  • Billy Livsey – piano, keyboards
  • Raphael Ravenscroft– saxophone
  • Frank Ricotti– percussion
  • Pete Wingfield– organ
  • Pete Zorn– bass
  • Billy Wingfield – piano, Moog synthesiser

Track listing:

All tracks by Gerry Rafferty

  1. The Royal Mile (Sweet Darlin’)
  2. I Was a Boy Scout
  3. Welcome to Hollywood
  4. Wastin’ Away
  5. Look at the Moon
  6. Bring It All Home
  7. The Garden of England
  8. Johnny’s Song
  9. Didn’t I
  10. Syncopatin Sandy
  11. Cafe Le Cabotin
  12. Don’t Close the Door

In April 1971.

In April 1971, “United Artists” label released the third, self-titled War album. It was recorded in 1971, at “Wally Heider Studios” in San Francisco, and was produced by Jerry Goldstein.


  • “Papa” Dee Allen– conga, bongos, percussion, vocals
  • Harold Brown– drums, percussion, vocals
  • B. Dickerson– bass, vocals
  • Lonnie Jordan– organ, piano, percussion, vocals
  • Charles Miller– flute, alto sax, baritone sax, tenor sax, percussion, vocals
  • Lee Oskar– harmonica, vocals
  • Howard Scott– guitar, percussion, vocals
  • Chris Huston – engineer

Track listing:

All tracks by Papa Dee Allen, Harold Brown, B.B. Dickerson, Lonnie Jordan, Charles Miller, Lee Oskar and Howard E. Scott.

  1. Sun Oh Son
  2. Lonely Feelin’
  3. Back Home – help with the lyrics Hilton Valentine
  4. War Drums
  5. Vibeka
  6. Fidel’s Fantasy

In April 1967.

In April 1967, “United Artists” label released “The Way I Feel”, the second Gordon Lightfoot studio album. It was recorded in 1966, and was produced by John Court. The album cover photography was by Barry Feinstein.


  • Gordon Lightfoot – guitar, piano, vocals
  • Red Shea – lead guitar
  • John Stockfish – Bass
  • Kenneth A. Buttrey- drums, percussion
  • Charlie McCoy- harmonica, belesta, bells

Track listing:

All tracks by Gordon Lightfoot.

  1. Walls
  2. If You Got It
  3. Softly
  4. Crossroads
  5. A Minor Ballad
  6. Go-Go Round
  7. Rosanna
  8. Home From the Forest
  9. I’ll Be Alright
  10. Song for a Winter’s Night
  11. Canadian Railroad Trilogy
  12. The Way I Feel


In March 1971.

In March 1971, “United Artists” label released “Tanz der Lemminge” (Dance of the Lemmings), the third Amon Düül II studio album. In the “Q” and “Mojo” “Classic Special Edition Pink Floyd & The Story of Prog Rock”, the album was ranked at number 36 in its list of “40 Cosmic Rock Albums”.


  • Renate Knaup-Krötenschwanz – vocals
  • Chris Karrer- guitars, vocals, violin
  • John Weinzierl – guitars, vocals, piano
  • Falk Rogner – organ, electronics
  • Lothar Meid – bass guitars, vocals
  • Peter Leopold – drums, percussion, piano
  • Jimmy Jackson – organ, choir-organ, piano
  • Al Gromer– sitar
  • Rolf Zacher- vocals

Track listing:

“Syntelman’s March of the Roaring Seventies”

  1. In the Glass Garden – Renate Knaup-Krötenschwanz
  2. Pull Down Your Mask- Renate Knaup-Krötenschwanz, Falk Rogner
  3. Prayer to the Silence – Renate Knaup-Krötenschwanz
  4. Telephonecomplex – Renate Knaup-Krötenschwanz

“Rrestless Skylight-Transistor-Child”

  1. Landing in a Ditch – John Weinzierl
  2. Dehypnotized Toothpaste – John Weinzierl
  3. A Short Stop at the Transylvanian Brain-Surgery – John Weinzierl, Falk Rogner, Lothar Meid
  4. Race From Here to Yours Ears Part I – Little Tornadoes – John Weinzierl, Falk Rogner
  5. Race From Here to Yours Ears Part II – Overheated Tiara – John Weinzierl
  6. Race From Here to Yours Ears Part III – The Flyweighted Five- John Weinzierl
  7. Riding on a Cloud – John Weinzierl
  8. Paralyzed Paradise – John Weinzierl
  9. G. Wells’ Take Off – John Weinzierl

“Chamsin Soundtrack”

  1. The Marilyn Monroe-Memorial-Church – Chris Karrer, John Weinzierl, Lothar Meid, Falk Rogner

“Chamsin Soundtrack”

  1. Chewing Gum Telegram – Chris Karrer, John Weinzierl, Lothar Meid, Falk Rogner
  2. Stumbling Over Melted Moonlight – Chris Karrer, John Weinzierl, Lothar Meid, Falk Rogner
  3. Toxicological Whispering – Chris Karrer, John Weinzierl, Lothar Meid, Falk Rogner


In February 1972.


In February 1972, “United Artists” label released “Silver Pistol”, the third Brinsley Schwarz album. It was recorded in 1971, and was produced by Dave Robinson.


  • Brinsley Schwarz- guitar
  • Ian Gomm- bass, guitar, vocals
  • Billy Rankin- drums
  • Bob Andrews- keyboards, vocals
  • Nick Lowe- bass, guitar, vocals
  • Anton Matthews – engineer, mixing
  • Chris Hollebone – mobile engineer
  • Jeff Powell – design, art direction

Track listing:

All tracks composed by Nick Lowe; except where noted.

  1. Dry Land – Ian Gomm
  2. Merry Go Round
  3. One More Day – Ian Gomm
  4. Nightingale
  5. Silver Pistol
  6. The Last Time I Was Fooled
  7. Unknown Number
  8. Range War – Ian Gomm
  9. Egypt
  10. Niki Hoeke Speedway – Jim Ford
  11. Ju Ju Man – Jim Ford, Lolly Vegas
  12. Rockin’ Chair – Ian Gomm

In February 1971.


In February 1971, “United Artists” label released “Tago Mago”, the third Can album. It was recorded November 1970-February 1971 at Schloss Nörvenich (Cologne), Germany, and was produced by Damo Suzuki, Holger Czukay, Michael Karoli, Jaki Liebezeit and Irmin Schmidt . “Tago Mago” has received much critical acclaim since its release and has been cited as major influence by many artists.


  • Damo Suzuki– vocals
  • Holger Czukay– bass, engineering, editing
  • Michael Karoli– guitar, violin
  • Jaki Liebezeit– drums, double bass, piano
  • Irmin Schmidt– keyboards, vocals
  • Eichberger – artwork, design

Track listing:

  1. Paperhouse
  2. Mushroom
  3. Oh Yeah
  4. Halleluhwah
  5. Aumgn
  6. Peking O
  7. Bring Me Cofee or Tea




In January 1966.


In January 1966, “United Artists” label released “Lightfoot!” the debut Gordon Lightfoot album. It was recorded in 1964 in New York City, and was produced by John Court.

• Gordon Lightfoot – guitar, piano, vocals
• David Rea or Bruce Langhorne – second guitar
• Bill Lee – bass
• Barry Feinstein – cover photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Gordon Lightfoot, except where noted.

1. Rich Man’s Spiritual
2. Long River
3. The Way I Feel
4. For Lovin’ Me
5. The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face – Ewan MacColl
6. Changes – Phil Ochs
7. Early Morning Rain
8. Steel Rail Blues
9. Sixteen Miles (To Seven Lakes)
10. I’m Not Sayin’
11. Pride of Man – Hamilton Camp
12. Ribbon of Darkness
13. Oh, Linda
14. Peaceful Waters