Tag Archives: Fred Frith

On January 1, 2015.

On January 1, 2015, “I Dischi di Angelica” label released “Angels on the Edge of Time”, album by Lindsay Cooper, Fred Frith, Gianni Gebbia and Lars Hollmer. It was recorded on May 30, 1992, at the “AngelicA Festival Internazionale di Musica”, in Bologna, Italy, and was produced  by Massimo Simonini. It is the quartet only album.


  • Lindsay Cooper– sopranino saxophone, bassoon, electronics
  • Fred Frith– voice, electric guitar, violin, radio, harmonica, linear notes
  • Gianni Gebbia – voice, alto saxophone, sopranino saxophone, bird calls
  • Lars Hollmer– voice, accordion, melodica, keyboard
  • Roberto Monari – recording engineer
  • Bob Drake – mastering
  • Massimo Simonini – executive producer
  • Concetta Nasone – design, cover art
  • Massimo Golfieri – design, cover art
  • Gianni Gosdan – concert photographs

Track listing:

All tracks by Lindsay Cooper, Fred Frith, Gianni Gebbia and Lars Hollmer.

  1. Retorisk Fråga
  2. The Fountain and the Mirror
  3. Elegy for an Angel (Fantasia / Memorativa / Imaginativa)
  4. Mathesis
  5. Indiscrezione
  6. Conversazione (We Fall)
  7. Audience / Applause



On December 10, 1993.

On December 10, 1993, “Avant” label released “Absinthe”, the seventh and the final Naked City album. It was recorded in December 1992 at “Electric Lady” in New York City, and was produced by John Zorn.


  • John Zorn- vocals, synthesizer, sampler
  • Bill Frisell- guitar
  • Fred Frith- bass guitar
  • Wayne Horvitz- keyboards, synthesizer, sampler
  • Joey Baron- percussion
  • Disk Union – executive producer
  • Joe Ferla – engineer
  • Hoover Le – assistant engineer
  • Scott Hull – mastering
  • Hans Bellmer”Les Jeux de la Poupée – cover photography
  • Tomoyo T.L. (Karath=Razar) – design
  • Lisa Wells – photography typesetting

Track listing:

All tracks by John Zorn.

  1. Val De Travers
  2. Une Correspondance
  3. La Fée Verte
  4. Fleurs Du Mal
  5. Artemisia Absinthium
  6. Notre Dame De L’oubli (For Olivier Messiaen)
  7. Verlaine: Part I: Un Midi Moins Dix
  8. Verlaine: Part II: La Bleue
  9. …Rend Fou


On November 1, 1992.

On November 1, 1992, “Toys Factory” label released “Leng Tch’e”, the fourth Naked City album. It was recorded on January 11, 1992, and was produced by John Zorn.


  • John Zorn– vocal, alto sax
  • Bill Frisell– guitar
  • Wayne Horvitz– keyboards
  • Fred Frith– bass
  • Joey Baron– drums
  • Yamatsuka Eye– vocal

Track listing:

Tracks by John Zorn

  1. Leng Tch’e


On October 19, 1974.

In October 1974, “Caroline” label released “Guitar Solos”, the debut Fred Frith solo album. It was recorded July 1974, at “Kalediophon Studios” in London, and was produced by Fred Frith.


  • Fred Frith– prepared guitars
  • David Vorhaus– recording engineer
  • Ray Smith– album sleeve, design, photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Fred Frith.

  1. Hello Music
  2. Glass c/w Steel
  3. Ghosts
  4. Out of Their Heads (On Locoweed)
  5. Not Forgotten
  6. Hollow Music
  7. Heat c/w Moment
  8. No Birds

In January 1980.

In January 1980, “Crammed Discs” label released “Un Peu de l’Âme des Bandits” (English: A Little of the Bandit Spirit), the second Aksak Maboul studio album. It was recorded February – August 1979, at “Sunrise Studio” in Kirchberg, Switzerland, and was produced by Marc Hollander, Frank Wuyts, Michael Berckmans, Denis van Hecke, Catherine Jauniaux, Fred Frith and Chris Cutler.


  • Marc Hollander– organ, piano, clarinet, bass clarinet, saxophone, drum machine, alto saxophone, soprano saxophone, dumbeg, samples, xylophone, percussion
  • Frank Wuyts– drums, pinball machine flipper, recorder, piano, synthesizer, percussion, choir
  • Michel Berckmans– bassoon, oboe, choir
  • Denis van Hecke– acoustic cello, electric cello, voice, rhythm guitar
  • Catherine Jauniaux– voice, pinball machine flipper
  • Fred Frith– guitar, violin, viola, bass guitar, prepared guitar
  • Chris Cutler– drums, percussion, radio
  • Mixed by Etienne Conod, Fred Frith, assisted by Aksak Maboul
  • Pat Andrea – front cover design
  • M.C. Octave – back cover design, layout

Track listing:

  1. A Modern Lesson- Bo Diddley – Marc Hollander, arr. Fred Frith, Marc Hollander, Catherine Jauniaux
  2. Palmiers en Pots
  • Trio (from Nuits D’Argentine) – Verchuren
  • Tango – Frank Wuyts, Marc Hollander
  1. Geistige Nacht (Rondo) – Fred Frith, arr. Fred Frith
  2. I Viaggi Formano la Gioventú (Truc Turc) – Turkish folk song arr. Kenis, Aksak Maboul
  3. Inoculating Rabies (Pogo) – Dennis van Hecke, Frank Wuyts
  4. Cinema (Knokke)
  • Ce Qu’On Peut Voir Avec Un Bon Microscope – Marc Hollander, Frank Wuyts, Aksak Maboul
  • Alluvions – Marc Hollander, Frank Wuyts, arr. Kenis, Aksak Maboul
  • Azinou Crapules – Marc Hollander, Frank Wuyts
  • Age Route Brra! (Radio Sofia) – Aksak Maboul

In October 1978.

In October 1978, “EG” label released “Music for Films”, the seventh Brian Eno album. It was recorded 1975 – 1978, and was produced by Brian Eno.


  • Rhett Davies– trumpet, assistant producer
  • John Cale– viola
  • Phil Collins– percussion
  • Robert Fripp– electric guitar
  • Fred Frith– electric guitar
  • Percy Jones– bass guitar
  • Bill MacCormick– bass guitar
  • Dave Mattacks– percussion
  • Paul Rudolph– guitar
  • Rod Melvin– electric piano
  • Ritva Saarikko – cover photograph

Track listing:

All tracks by Brian Eno.

  1. M386
  2. Aragon
  3. From the Same Hill
  4. Inland Sea
  5. Two Rapid Formations
  6. Slow Water
  7. Sparrowfall (1)
  8. Sparrowfall (2)
  9. Sparrowfall (3)
  10. Quartz
  11. Events in Dense Fog
  12. There Is Nobody
  13. A Measured Room
  14. Patrolling Wire Borders
  15. Task Force
  16. Alternative 3
  17. Strange Light
  18. Final Sunset

In August 1973.

In August 1973, “Virgin” label released “Legend”, the debut Henry Cow album. It was recorded May – June 1973, at “Manor” in Oxfordshire, UK, and was produced by Geoff Leigh, Tim Hodgkinson, Fred Frith, John Greaves and Chris Cutler. The album cover art work was by artist Ray Smith and was the first of the three socks to feature on Henry Cow’s albums.


  • Geoff Leigh– saxophones, flute, clarinet, recorder, voice
  • Tim Hodgkinson– organ, piano, alto saxophone, clarinet, little bells, voice
  • Fred Frith– guitars, violin, viola, piano, voice
  • John Greaves– bass guitar, piano, whistle, voice
  • Chris Cutler– drums, toys, piano, whistle, voice
  • Jeremy Baines – pixiphone
  • Sarah Greaves, Maggie Thomas, Cathy Williams – chorus
  • Tom Newman, Mike Oldfield– recording engineer

Track listing:

  1. Nirvana for Mice – Fred Frith
  2. Amygdala – Tim Hodgkinson
  3. Teenbeat Introduction – Geoff Leigh, Tim Hodgkinson, Fred Frith, John Greaves, Chris Cutler
  4. Teenbeat – Fred Frith, John Greaves
  5. Extract from ‘With the Yellow Half-Moon and Blue Star – Fred Frith
  6. Teenbeat Reprise – Fred Frith
  7. The Tenth Chaffinch – Geoff Leigh, Tim Hodgkinson, Fred Frith, John Greaves, Chris Cutler
  8. Nine Funerals of the Citizen King – Tim Hodgkinson