Tag Archives: Louis Jordan

In November 1965.

In November 1965, “Chess” label released “Fresh Berry’s”, the ninth Chuck Berry studio album. It was recorded in September 1965, at “Ter Mar Recording Studios”  Chicago,  Illinois, and was produced by Leonard Chess and Phil Chess.


  • Chuck Berry – guitar, vocals
  • Chuck Bernhard – bass
  • Mike Bloomfield– guitar
  • Paul Butterfield– harmonica
  • Johnnie Johnson– piano
  • Jaspar Thomas – drums
  • Ron Malo– engineer
  • Don S. Bronstein– cover

Track listing:

All tracks by Chuck Berry except where noted.

  1. It Wasn’t Me
  2. Run Joe – Louis Jordan, Walter Merrick, Joe Willoughby
  3. Everyday We Rock & Roll
  4. One for My Baby (and One More for the Road) – Harold Arlen, Johnny Mercer
  5. Welcome Back Pretty Baby
  6. It’s My Own Business
  7. Right Off Rampart Street
  8. Vaya Con Dios – Buddy Pepper, Carl Hoff, Inez James, Larry Russell
  9. Merrily We Rock & Roll
  10. My Mustang Ford
  11. Ain’t That Just Like a Woman – Claude Demetrius, Fleecie Moore
  12. Wee Hour Blues

In June 1981.

In June 1981, “A&M” label released “Jumpin’ Jive”, the fourth Joe Jackson studio album. It was recorded in May 1981, at “Basing Street Studios” in London, and was produced by Joe Jackson.


  • Joe Jackson– vocals, vibraphone, arrangements
  • Pete Thomas– alto saxophone
  • Raul D’Oliveira – trumpet
  • Nick Weldon – piano
  • Dave Bitelli – tenor saxophoneand clarinet
  • Graham Maby– bass
  • Larry Tolfree – drums
  • All – backing vocals
  • Norman Mighell – assistant producer, recording engineer
  • Matt The Goose – assistant recording engineer
  • Pete Thomas, Dave Bitelli, Raul D’Oliveira – horn arrangements
  • Jeri Heiden, Sandy Brummels – art direction
  • Anton Corbijn- photography

.Track listing:

  1. Jumpin’ with Symphony Sid – Lester Young, King Pleasure
  2. Jack, You’re Dead – Walter Bishop, Dick Miles
  3. Is You Is or Is You Ain’t My Baby – Bill Austin, Louis Jordan
  4. We the Cats (Shall Hep Ya) – Cab Calloway, Jack Palmer
  5. San Francisco Fan – Sammy Mysels, Dick Sanford
  6. Five Guys Named Moe – Jerome Bresler, Larry Wynn
  7. Jumpin’ Jive – Cab Calloway, Frank Froeba, Jack Palmer
  8. You Run Your Mouth (and I’ll Run My Business) – Louis Armstrong
  9. What’s the Use of Getting Sober(When You’re Gonna Get Drunk Again) – Busby Meyers
  10. You’re My Meat – Skeets Tolbert
  11. Tuxedo Junction – Erskine Hawkins, Buddy Feyne, William Johnson, Julian Dash
  12. How Long Must I Wait for You – Jerry Black, Lucky Millinder



In April 1980.

In April 1980, “Magnet” label released “Ska’n’B”, the first Bad Manners album. It was recorded in 1980, and was produced by Roger Lomas.


  • Buster Bloodvessel- vocals
  • Louis ‘Alphonso’ Cook – guitar
  • David Farren – bass
  • Brian Tuitt – drums
  • Martin Stewart- keyboards
  • Chris Kane – saxophone
  • Andrew Marson – saxophone
  • Paul “Gus” Hyman – trumpet
  • Winston Bazoomies – harmonica

Track listing:

All tracks by Buster Bloodvessel, Louis ‘Alphonso’ Cook, David Farren, Brian Tuitt , Martin Stewart, Chris Kane, Andrew Marson, Paul “Gus” Hyman and Winston Bazoomies, except where noted.

  1. Ne-Ne Na-Na Na-Na Nu-Nu – Eddie Dean, Al Dredick
  2. Here Comes The Major
  3. Fatty Fatty – Clancy Eccles, Leroy Sibbles
  4. King Ska/Fa
  5. Monster Mash – Leonard Capizzi, Bobby “Boris” Pickett
  6. Caledonia – Louis Jordan, Fleecie Moore
  7. Magnificent 7 – Elmer Bernstein
  8. Wooly Bully – Domingo Samudio
  9. Lip Up Fatty
  10. Special Brew
  11. Inner London Violence
  12. Scruffy, The Huffy Chuffy Tugboat