Tag Archives: Dave Hutchins

On February 13, 1976.

On February 13, 1976, “Virgin” label released “Shamal”, the sixth Gong studio album. It was recorded in December 1975, at “Basing Street Studios” and “Olympic Studios” in London, and was produced by Nick Mason.


  • Mike Howlett– bass guitar, vocals
  • Didier Malherbe– tenor sax, soprano sax, flute, bansuri, gongs
  • Mireille Bauer– marimba, glockenspiel, xylophone, percussion, gongs
  • Pierre Moerlen– drums, vibraphone, tubular bells
  • Patrice Lemoine – organ, piano, synthesizer
  • Steve Hillage– acoustic guitar, electric guitar
  • Miquette Giraudy, Sandy Colley – vocals
  • Jorge Pinchevsky – violin
  • Phil Ault, Dave Hutchins, Ben Tavera King, Rick Curtain, Ben King: engineer
  • Clive Arrowsmith: artwork, photography

Track listing:

  1. Wingful of Eyes – Mike Howlett
  2. Chandra – Patrice Lemoine
  3. Bambooji – Didier Malherbe
  4. Cat in Clark’s Shoes – Didier Malherbe
  5. Mandrake – Pierre Moerlen
  6. Shamal – Mike Howlett, Didier Malherbe, Patrice Lemoine, Mireille Bauer

In May 1983.

In May 1983,”Zomba Records” label released “Listen”, the second A Flock of Seagulls album. It was recorded 1982-1983, and was produced by Mike Howlett and Bill Nelson.


  • Mike Score– lead vocals, keyboards, guitar
  • Paul Reynolds– lead guitar, backing vocals
  • Frank Maudsley – bass guitar, backing vocals
  • Ali Score – drums
  • Dave Hutchins – engineer, recorded by

Track listing:

All tracks by Mike Score, Ali Score, Frank Maudsley and Paul Reynolds.

  1. Wishing (If I Had a Photograph of You)
  2. Nightmares
  3. Transfer Affection
  4. What Am I Supposed to Do
  5. Electrics
  6. The Traveller
  7. 2:30
  8. Over the Border
  9. The Fall
  10. (It’s Not Me) Talking

In December 1977.


In December 1977, “Polydor” label released “Before and After Science”, the fifth Brian Eno studio album.It was recorded in 1977, at “Basing Street Studios” in London, and “Conny’s Studio” in Cologne, and was produced by Brian Eno and Rhett Davies.


  • Brian Eno– voices, synthesizers, guitar, synthesised percussion, piano,  brass, vibes, metallics, bell, cover design
  • Paul Rudolph– bass, rhythm guitar, harmonic bass
  • Phil Collins– drums
  • Percy Jones– fretless bass, analogue delay bass
  • Rhett Davies– agong-gong, stick
  • Jaki Liebezeit– drums
  • Dave Mattacks– drums
  • Shirley Williams (Robert Wyatt) – brush timbales, time
  • Kurt Schwitters– voice
  • Fred Frith– modified guitar, cascade guitars
  • Andy Fraser– drums
  • Phil Manzanera– rhythm guitar
  • Robert Fripp– guitar
  • Achim Roedelius– grand piano, electric piano
  • Möbi Moebius– bass Fender piano
  • Bill MacCormick– bass
  • Brian Turrington – bass
  • Peter Schmidt– art prints
  • Rhett Davies – audio engineer
  • Ritva Saarikko – cover photograph
  • Conny Plank– engineer
  • Dave Hutchins – engineer
  • Cream – cover artwork

Track listing:

All tracks by Brian Eno, except where noted.

  1. No One Receiving
  2. Backwater
  3. Kurt’s Rejoinder
  4. Energy Fools the Magician – arranged by Percy Jones and Brian Eno
  5. King’s Lead Hat
  6. Here He Comes
  7. Julie With …
  8. By This River – Brian Eno, Hans-Joachim Roedelius, Dieter Moebius
  9. Through Hollow Lands (for Harold Budd) – arranged by Fred Frith and Brian Eno
  10. Spider and I


On September 8, 1978.


On September 8, 1978, “island” label released “Systems of Romance”, the third Ultravox studio album. It was recorded in 1978, at “Conny’s Studio” in Cologne, Germany, and was produced by Conny Plank, Ultravox and Dave Hutchins.

It was band’s final recording with original lead singer, lyricist and co-composer John Foxx, and first album without guitarist Stevie Shears.


  • Warren Cann– drums, rhythm machine, vocals
  • Chris Cross– bass, synthesizer, vocals
  • Billy Currie– keyboards, violin
  • John Foxx– vocals
  • Robin Simon– guitar, vocals

Track listing:

  1. Slow Motion – Warren Cann, Chris Cross, Billy Currie, John Foxx, Robin Simon
  2. I Can’t Stay Long – Warren Cann, Chris Cross, Billy Currie, John Foxx, Robin Simon
  3. Someone Else’s Clothes – Billy Currie, John Foxx
  4. Blue Light – Warren Cann, Chris Cross, Billy Currie, John Foxx, Robin Simon
  5. Some of Them – Billy Currie, John Foxx
  6. Quiet Men – Chris Cross, Billy Currie, John Foxx
  7. Dislocation – Billy Currie, John Foxx
  8. Maximum Acceleration – John Foxx
  9. When You Walk Through Me – Billy Currie, John Foxx, Robin Simon
  10. Just for a Moment – Billy Currie, John Foxx