Tag Archives: February 13

On February 13, 1976.

On February 13, 1976, “Virgin” label released “Shamal”, the sixth Gong studio album. It was recorded in December 1975, at “Basing Street Studios” and “Olympic Studios” in London, and was produced by Nick Mason.


  • Mike Howlett– bass guitar, vocals
  • Didier Malherbe– tenor sax, soprano sax, flute, bansuri, gongs
  • Mireille Bauer– marimba, glockenspiel, xylophone, percussion, gongs
  • Pierre Moerlen– drums, vibraphone, tubular bells
  • Patrice Lemoine – organ, piano, synthesizer
  • Steve Hillage– acoustic guitar, electric guitar
  • Miquette Giraudy, Sandy Colley – vocals
  • Jorge Pinchevsky – violin
  • Phil Ault, Dave Hutchins, Ben Tavera King, Rick Curtain, Ben King: engineer
  • Clive Arrowsmith: artwork, photography

Track listing:

  1. Wingful of Eyes – Mike Howlett
  2. Chandra – Patrice Lemoine
  3. Bambooji – Didier Malherbe
  4. Cat in Clark’s Shoes – Didier Malherbe
  5. Mandrake – Pierre Moerlen
  6. Shamal – Mike Howlett, Didier Malherbe, Patrice Lemoine, Mireille Bauer

On February 13, 2001.

Stephen Malkmus

On February 13, 2001, “Matador Records” released the self-titled Stephen Malkmus debut album. It was recorded May to August 2000, and was produced by Clarence Skiboots.


  • Stephen Malkmus– vocals, guitar, keyboards, synthesizer, bass
  • John Moen– drums, percussion, background vocals
  • Heather Larimer – percussion, background vocals
  • Joanna Bolme– piano, synthesizer, bass, claves, background vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by Stephen Malkmus.

  1. Black Book
  2. Phantasies
  3. Jo Jo’s Jacket
  4. Church on White
  5. The Hook
  6. Discretion Grove
  7. Troubbble
  8. Pink India
  9. Trojan Curfew
  10. Vague Space
  11. Jenny and the Ess-Dog
  12. Deado

On February 13, 1996.


On February 13, 1996, “Elektra” label released “Looking East”, the eleventh Jackson Browne album. It was recorded in 1995, and was produced by Kevin McCormick and Scott Thurston.


  • Jackson Browne – acoustic guitar, guitar, piano, art direction, design
  • Beth Anderson – background vocals
  • Suzie Benson – background vocals
  • Sir Harry Bowens – harmony vocals
  • Severin Browne – harmony vocals
  • Jorge Calderón– vocals, harmony vocals
  • Mark Campbell – background vocals, guitar, 12 string guitar
  • Katia Cardenal – vocals
  • Valerie Carter– harmony vocals
  • Luis Conte– percussion
  • Ry Cooder– slide guitar
  • David Crosby– harmony vocals
  • Renée Geyer– harmony vocals
  • Jim Gilstrap – background vocals
  • Mark Goldenberg – guitar, electric guitar, oud
  • William “Bill” Greene – harmony vocals
  • Jim Haas– background vocals
  • Kipp Lennon – background vocals
  • Mauricio “Fritz” Lewak – drums
  • David Lindley– lap steel guitar
  • Kevin McCormick – acoustic guitar, bass, harmony vocals
  • Phil Perry – background vocals
  • Bonnie Raitt– harmony vocals
  • Vonda Shepard– harmony vocals
  • Sally Stevens – background vocals
  • Benmont Tench– Hammond organ
  • Scott Thurston– guitar, piano, electric guitar, harmony vocals
  • Mark Vieha – background vocals, vocal arrangements
  • Waddy Wachtel– guitar
  • Jeffrey Young – Hammond organ, background vocals, harmony vocals
  • Nels Israelson – photography
  • Frank W. Ockenfels III– photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Jackson Browne, Luis Conte, Mark Goldenberg, Mauricio Lewak, Kevin McCormick, Scott Thurston and Jeff Young, except where noted:

  1. Looking East
  2. The Barricades of Heaven
  3. Some Bridges
  4. Information Wars – Jackson Browne, Jeff Cohen, Luis Conte, Mark Goldenberg,Mauricio Lewak, Kevin McCormick, Scott Thurston, Jeff Young
  5. I’m the Cat
  6. Culver Moon
  7. Baby How Long – Jackson Browne
  8. Niño – Jackson Browne, Valerie Carter, Jorge Calderón, Louis Conte, Mark Goldenberg, Mauricio Lewak, Kevin McCormick, Scott Thurston, Jeff Young
  9. Alive in the World – Jackson Browne
  10. It Is One – Jackson Browne, Valerie Carter, Luis Conte, Mark Goldenberg, Mauricio Lewak, Kevin McCormick, Scott Thurston, Jeff Young

On February 13, 1970.


On February 13, 1970, “Vertigo” label released the debut self-titled Black Sabbath studio album. It was recorded on October 16, at “Regent Sound Studios” in London, and was produced by Rodger Bain. In 1989, magazine “Kerrang!” ranked “Black Sabbath” at number 31 on its list of “100 Greatest Heavy Metal Albums of All Time”.In 2000, magazine “Q” included “Black Sabbath” in its list of the “Best Metal Albums of All Time”. In 2005, magazine “Rolling Stone” ranked the album at number 238 on its  list of “The 500 Greatest Albums of All Time”, and at number 44 in its list of the “100 Best Debut Albums of All Time”.


  • Ozzy Osbourne– vocals, harmonica
  • Tony Iommi– guitar
  • Geezer Butler– bass
  • Bill Ward– drums
  • Marcus Keef – graphic design, photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Tony Iommi, Geezer Butler, Bill Ward and Ozzy Osbourne, except where noted.

  1. Black Sabbath
  2. The Wizard
  3. Behind the Wall of Sleep
  4. I.B.
  5. Evil Woman – Larry Weigand, Dick Weigand, David Wagner
  6. Sleeping Village
  7. Warning – Aynsley Dunbar, Alex Dmochowski, Victor Hickling , John Moorshead


On February 13, 1961.


On February 13, 1961, Frank Sinatra launched his own record label “Reprise Records”. Sinatra’s main management principle was to allow each artist full creative freedom and bigger ownership of their work; including publishing rights. Some of the artists that recorded for “Reprise Records” were Jimi Hendrix Neil Young, Joni Mitchell, The Beach Boys and Randy Newman.