Tag Archives: Wings

On September 24, 1990.

On September 24, 1990, “GWR” label released “Space Bandits”, the sixteenth   Hawkwind studio album. It was recorded April – June 1990, at “Rockfield Studios” in Rockfield, Monmouthshire, Wales, and was produced by Paul Cobbold.


  • Bridget Wishart– vocals
  • Dave Brock– vocals, electric guitar, keyboards
  • Alan Davey– vocals, bass guitar
  • Simon House– violin
  • Harvey Bainbridge– vocals, keyboards
  • Richard Chadwick– drums
  • Joe Petagno – cover design

Track listing:

  1. Images – Bridget Wishart, Dave Brock, Alan Davey
  2. Black Elk Speaks – Black Elk, Dave Brock
  3. Wings – Alan Davey
  4. Out of the Shadows – Doug Buckley, Dave Brock, Alan Davey
  5. Realms – Alan Davey
  6. Ship of Dreams – Dave Brock
  7. V. Suicide – Harvey Bainbridge



On June 14, 2016.

On June 14, 2016, Henry Campbell Liken McCullough died aged 72. He was guitarist, singer and songwriter, who has worked with many famous musicians including Joe Cocker, George Harrison, Roy Harper, Frankie Miller, Eric Burdon, Marianne Faithful, Ronnie Lane, Donovan, Bobby Harrison, Steve Marriot, Time Rice and Andrew Lloyd Webber. McCullough was member of Spooky Tooth, The Grease Band, Dr. Feelgood and Wings.

He released five solo albums and one EP:

  • Mind Your Own Business- 1975
  • All Shook Up – 1982 (EP)
  • Hell of A Record- May 1984
  • Cut- 1987
  • Get In The Hole– 1989  (live)
  • Blue Sunset- 1998


In October 1966.

In October 1966, “Elektra” label released the debut, self-titled Tim Buckley album. It was recorded in August 1966, at “Sunset Sound” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Jac Holzman and Paul A. Rothchild.


  • Tim Buckley– guitar, vocals
  • Lee Underwood– guitar
  • Jim Fielder– bass guitar
  • Van Dyke Parks– piano, celesta, harpsichord
  • Billy Mundi– drums, percussion
  • Jack Nitzsche– string arrangements

Track listing:

All tracks by Tim Buckley, except where noted.

  1. I Can’t See You – Larry Beckett, Tim Buckley
  2. Wings
  3. Song of the Magician – Larry Beckett, Tim Buckley
  4. Strange Street Affair Under Blue – Larry Beckett, Tim Buckley
  5. Valentine Melody – Larry Beckett, Tim Buckley
  6. Aren’t You the Girl?
  7. Song Slowly Song – Larry Beckett, Tim Buckley
  8. It Happens Every Time
  9. Song for Jainie
  10. Grief in My Soul – Larry Beckett, Tim Buckley
  11. She Is –Larry Beckett, Tim Buckley
  12. Understand Your Man


On May 27, 1975.

Venus and Mars

On May 27, 1975, “Capitol” label released “Venus and Mars”, the fourth Wings studio album. It was recorded 5–13 November 1974, at “Abbey Road Studios” in London, 20 January–20 February 1975 at “Sea Saint” in New Orleans, and “Wally Heider Studios”, and was produced by Paul McCartney. The album has been certified Platinum in UK (BPI), Canada (Music Canada) and in the US (RIIA).


  • Paul McCartney– vocals, bass, guitars, keyboards, piano, percussion
  • Linda McCartney– keyboards, backing vocals, percussion
  • Denny Laine– vocals, guitars, keyboards, percussion
  • Jimmy McCulloch– guitars, vocals, percussion
  • Joe English– drums, percussion
  • Geoff Britton– drums
  • Kenneth “Afro” Williams –congas
  • Dave Mason– guitar
  • Tom Scott– saxophone
  • Allen Toussaint– piano, guitar

Track listing:

All tracks by Paul McCartney and Linda McCartney, except where noted.

  1. Venus and Mars
  2. Rock Show
  3. Love in Song
  4. You Gave Me the Answer
  5. Magneto and Titanium Man
  6. Letting Go
  7. Venus and Mars (Reprise)
  8. Spirits of Ancient Egypt
  9. Medicine Jar – Jimmy McCulloch,Colin Allen
  10. Call Me Back Again
  11. Listen to What the Man Said
  12. Treat Her Gently – Lonely Old People
  13. Crossroads Theme – Tony Hatch

On April 30, 1973.


On April 30, 1973, “Apple” label released “Red Rose Speedway”, the second Paul McCartney and Wings album. It was recorded March–June 1972 and September–December 1972, at “Abbey Road Studios”, “Olympic Sound Studios”, “Morgan Studios”,”Trident Studios” and “Island Studio” in London, and was produced by Paul McCartney.


  • Paul McCartney– vocals, piano, bass, guitar, electric piano, mellotron, celeste, Moog synthesizer
  • Linda McCartney– vocals, piano, organ, electric piano, electric harpsichord, percussion
  • Denny Laine– vocals, guitar, bass, harmonica
  • Henry McCullough– guitar, backing vocals, percussion
  • Denny Seiwell– drums, percussion
  • Hugh McCracken– electric guitar
  • David Spinozza– electric guitar
  • Alan Parsons– recording engineer
  • Dixon Van Winkle – recording engineer

Track listing:

All tracks by Paul and Linda McCartney.

  1. Big Barn Bed
  2. My Love
  3. Get on the Right Thing
  4. One More Kiss
  5. Little Lamb Dragonfly
  6. Single Pigeon
  7. When the Night
  8. Loup (1st Indian on the Moon)
  9. Medley: Hold Me Tight/Lazy Dynamite/Hands of Love/Power Cut

On March 31, 1978.


On March 31, 1978, “Parlaphone” label released “London Town”, the sixth Wings studio album. It was recorded February 1977 – January 1978, at “Abbey Road Studios”, “AIR Studios”, London; Virgin Islands, and was produced by Paul McCartney.


  • Paul McCartney– vocal, guitar, bass, keyboards, drums, percussion, violin, flageolet, recorder
  • Denny Laine– vocal, guitar, bass, flageolet, recorder, percussion
  • Linda McCartney– vocal, keyboards, percussion
  • Jimmy McCulloch– guitar, percussion
  • Joe English– vocal, drums, percussion, harmonica
  • Paul McCartney, Linda McCartney, Denny Laine – cover design, photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Paul McCartney, except where noted.

  1. London Town – Paul McCartney, Denny Laine
  2. Cafe on the Left Bank
  3. I’m Carrying
  4. Backwards Traveller
  5. Cuff Link
  6. Children Children – Paul McCartney, Denny Laine
  7. Girlfriend
  8. I’ve Had Enough
  9. With a Little Luck
  10. Famous Groupies
  11. Deliver Your Children – Paul McCartney, Denny Laine
  12. Deliver Your Children
  13. Don’t Let It Bring You Down – Paul McCartney, Denny Laine
  14. Morse Moose and the Grey Goose – Paul McCartney, Denny Laine

On March 25, 1976.


On March 25, 1976, “MPL Communications” label released “Wings at the Speed of Sound”, the fifth Wings studio album.It was recorded 5 January–4 February 1976, at ”Abbey Road Studios” in London, and was produced by Paul McCartney


  • Paul McCartney- vocals, acoustic, electric and bass guitars,  keyboards, double bass
  • Linda McCartney- vocals, keyboards
  • Denny Laine- vocals, acoustic, electric and bass guitars, piano
  • Jimmy McCulloch- vocals, acoustic, electric and bass guitars
  • Joe English- vocals, drums, percussion
  • Tony Dorsey – trombone
  • Thaddeus Richard – saxophone, clarinet, flute
  • Steve Howard – trumpet, flugelhorn
  • Howie Casey– saxophone
  • George Tidwell – trumpet

 Track listing:

All tracks by Paul and Linda McCartney, except where noted.

  1. Let ‘Em In
  2. The Note You Never Wrote
  3. She’s My Baby
  4. Beware My Love
  5. Wino Junko – Jimmy McCulloch, Colin Allen
  6. Silly Love Songs
  7. Cook of the House
  8. Time to Hide – Denny Laine
  9. Must Do Something About It
  10. San Ferry Anne
  11. Warm and Beautiful