Tag Archives: Buddy Holly

On August 21, 2021.

On August 21, 2021, Don Everly died aged 84. He was musician (guitar), singer and songwriter, member of the Everly Brothers (with his brother Phil). Regarded as pioneers of rock ‘n’ roll, they began recording music in 1956, and had the first hit “Bye Bye Love” in 1957. In the period from 1958 to 1960, Everly Brothers had number of hits including “Wake Up Little Susie”, “All I Have to Do Is Dream”, and “Problems”. In the 1960s their vocal harmonies influenced many musicians and bands including the Beatles and Simon & Garfunkel. In 1986, Everly Brothers were the first group to be inaugurated in the “Rock & Roll Hall of Fame” (together with Elvis Presley, Chuck Berry, Little Richard, Buddy Holly and Jerry Lee Lewis).

On July 14, 1962.

On July 14, 1962, “Liberty” label released “Bobby Vee Meets The Crickets” is Bobby Vee and the Crickets. It was Vee’s 6th album, and the fourth Crickets (The) album. It was recorded in 1962 at “United Recorders” in Hollywood, and was produced by Snuff Garrett.


  • Bobby Vee – vocals, guitar
  • Jerry Allison – drums, backing vocals
  • Tommy Allsup – guitar
  • Howard Roberts – piano
  • Ernie Freeman – piano, arranger, conductor
  • Gene Garf – piano
  • Red Callendar -bass
  • Earl Palmer – drums
  • Jim Economides – engineer
  • Eddie Brackett – engineer

Track listing:

  1. Peggy Sue – J.I.Allison, Buddy Holly, Norman Petty
  2. Bo Diddley – Elias McDaniels
  3. Someday (When I’m Gone from You) – Tom Lesslie
  4. Well…All Right – J.I. Allison, Buddy Holly, Norman Petty, Joe B. Mauldin
  5. I Gotta Know – M. Williams, P. Evans
  6. Lookin’ For Love – Roy Orbison, Joe Melson
  7. Sweet Little Sixteen – Chuck Berry
  8. When You’re in Love – J.I. Alison, Sonny Curtis
  9. Lucille – Richard Penniman, Albert Collins
  10. The Girl of My Best Friend – Sam Bobrick, Beverly Ross
  11. Little Queenie – Chuck Berry
  12. The Girl Can’t Help It – Bobby Troup

On January 31, 2019.

On January 31, 2019, Harold Ray Bradley died aged 93. He was musician (guitar) and music producer, part of the Nashville A-Team of session players. He recorded and performed with numerous musicians including Ernest Tubb, Red Foley, Hank Williams, Patsy Cline, Brenda Lee, Roy Orbison, Buddy Holly, Elvis Presley, Bill Chinnock, The Everly Brothers, Slim Whitman, Loretta Lynn and Willie Nelson. Bradley is regarded as one of the most recorded guitarists in the history of music. As leader he released five albums.

On January 11, 2017.

On January 11, 2017, Thomas Douglas Allsup died aged 85. He was musician (guitar) and music producer, working in western swing, rock and roll, and rockabilly genres. He recorded, performed and produced with Buddy Holly, Bob Wills & His Texas Playboys, Ritchie Valens, J.P. “the Big Bopper “Richardson, The Ventures, Ronnie Smith, Willie Nelson, Zager & Evans, Waylon Jennings, and Roy Orbison.

On December 3, 2001.

On December 3, 2001, Thomas Grady Martin died aged 72. He was musician (guitar), founder and leader of the band Grady Martin and Slew Foot Five (later Grady Martin and his Winging Strings). As a session guitarist he was member of the Nashville A-team, and in his 50-year career he recorded and performed with Elvis Presley, Buddy Holly, Roy Orbison, Loretta Lynn, Johnny Cash, Leon Russell, Patsy Cline, J. J. Cale, Woody Guthrie, Johnny Horton, Conway Twitty, Joan Baez, Kris Kristofferson,  Arlo Guthrie, Brenda Lee, Don Woody, Sammi Smith, Marty Robbins, and Johnny Burnette. In March 2015, Martin was inducted in the “Country Music Hall of Fame”.

On August 13, 1971.

On August 13, 1971, Curtis Ousley (born Curtis Montgomery) aka King Curtis died aged 37. He was music director, record producer, and musician (soprano, alto and tenor saxophone, trumpet), worked in various music genres, rhythm, and blues, rock and roll, soul, blues, funk, and soul-jazz. He performed and recorded with numerous musicians and bands including Aretha Franklin, Nat Adderley, Wynton Kelly, ]Buddy Holly, Waylon Jennings, Andy Williams, The Coasters, LaVern Baker, Joe South, John Lennon, the Rimshots, Champion Jack Dupree, Jerry Jemmott, Oliver Jackson, King Pins, Bernard Purdie, The Shirelles, The Noble Band, Cornell Dupree, and  Duane Allman. At the 1970 “Grammy Awards”, Curtis won the “Best R&B Instrumental Performance Grammy” for “Games People Play”. In March 2000, he was posthumously inducted into the “Rock and Roll Hall of Fame”.

On April 22, 2003.

On April 22, 2003, Matilda Genevieve Scaduto died aged 77. With her husband Diadorius Boudleaux Bryant wrote number of hits for The Everly Brothers, Buddy Holly and Roy Orbison. Their songs were recorded by many artists including The Beatles, Bob Dylan, Tonny Bennett, Grateful Dead, Simon and Garfunkel, Sarah Vaughan, Dolly Parton, Elvis Presley, Gram Parson, Joan Jett, The Beach Boys, Elvis Costello, Count Basie, Lynn Anderson, Sonny James, Eddy Arnold, Bob Moore, Charley Pride, Nazareth, Jim Reeves, Leo Sayer, Jerry Lee Lewis, Cher, R.E.M. and Ray Charles.

On October 13, 1978.

On October 13, 1978, “Stiff” label released “The Wonderful World of Wreckless Eric”, the second Wreckless Eric studio album. It was recorded in 1978, at “Britannia Row Studios” in London, and was produced by Pete Solley.


  • Wreckless Eric – vocals
  • Malcolm Morley- acoustic and electric guitar
  • Eunan Brady – electric guitar
  • John Brown – bass guitar
  • Geir Waade – drums
  • Pete Solley– keyboards
  • Jo Partridge – electric guitar solos, Spanish guitar solo
  • Dick Hanson, John Earle – brass
  • Choir of The Latter Day Church of Non-Believers – choir
  • Gary Taylor – bass voice choir

Track listing:

All tracks by Wreckless Eric, except where noted.
Walking On The Surface of the Moon

  1. Take The Cash
  2. Dizzy – Freddy Weller, Tommy Roe
  3. Veronica
  4. Roll Over Rock-Ola
  5. I Wish It Would Rain
  6. The Final Taxi
  7. Let’s Go to the Pictures
  8. Girlfriend
  9. Crying, Waiting, Hoping – Buddy Holly

On November 27, 1957.

On November 27, 1957, “Brunswick” label released “The Chirping Crickets”, the debut Crickets album. It was recorded February – September 1957, and was produced by Norman Petty.


  • Buddy Holly– lead and backing vocals, lead and acoustic guitar
  • Jerry Allison– drums, card-box percussion, backing vocals
  • Joe B. Mauldin– contrabass
  • Niki Sullivan– rhythm guitar, backing vocals
  • Larry Welborn – contrabass
  • The Picks (Bill Pickering, John Pickering and Bob Lapham) – backing vocals
  • Ramona and Gary Tollett – backing vocals

 Track listing:

  1. Oh, Boy! – Sonny West, Bill Tilghman, Norman Petty
  2. Not Fade Away – Buddy Holly, Norman Petty
  3. You’ve Got Love – Roy Orbison, Johnny Wilson, Norman Petty
  4. Maybe Baby – Buddy Holly, Norman Petty
  5. It’s Too Late – Chuck Willis
  6. Tell Me How – Buddy Holly, Norman Petty, Jerry Allison
  7. That’ll Be the Day – Buddy Holly, Norman Petty, Jerry Allison
  8. I’m Looking for Someone to Love – Buddy Holly, Norman Petty
  9. An Empty Cup (And a Broken Date) – Roy Orbison, Norman Petty
  10. Send Me Some Lovin’ – John Marascalco, Leo Price
  11. Last Night – Joe B. Mauldin, Norman Petty
  12. Rock Me Baby – Shorty Long, Susan Heather