Tag Archives: Don Brooks

In October 1970.

In October 1970, “Elektra” label released “Woodsmoke and Oranges”, the debut Paul Siebel album. It was recorded in 1970, and was produced by Peter K. Siegel.


  • Paul Siebel – acoustic guitar, 12-string guitar, vocals
  • David Bromberg- dobro, acoustic guitar, electric guitar
  • Weldon Myrick – pedal steel guitar
  • Richard Greene – violin
  • Gary White – bass
  • Jeff Gutcheon – organ, piano
  • Don Brooks – harmonica
  • James Madison – drums
  • Recording engineer: Dave Sanders, Shelly Yakus
  • Art direction: William S. Harvey
  • Photography: Robert Campbell

Track listing:

All tracks by Paul Siebel.

  1. She Made Me Lose My Blues
  2. Miss Cherry Lane
  3. Nashville Again
  4. Ballad of Honest Sam
  5. Then Came the Children
  6. Louise
  7. Bride 1945
  8. My Town
  9. Any Day Woman
  10. Long Afternoons

On October 17, 1989.


On October 17, 1989, “Columbia” label released “Storm Front”, the eleventh Billy Joel studio album. It was recorded 1988 – 1989, at “The Hit Factory”; “Times Square Studio”;  “Right Track Recording”; The Power Station” in New York, and “The Warehouse Studio” in Vancouver, British Columbia, and was produced by Billy Joel and Mick Jones. The album was certified Platinum in Australia by “ARIA”; 2 x Platinum in Canada by “Music Canada”; Platinum in Germany by “BVMI”; Platinum in Japan by “RIAJ”; Platinum in UK by “BPI”, and 4 x Platinum in the US by “RIIA”.


  • Billy Joel: vocals, acoustic piano,clavinet, accordion, Hammond organ, harpsichord, synthesizers, guitars, percussion
  • Liberty DeVitto: drums, percussion
  • David Brown: lead guitar, Midi guitar solo onStorm Front
  • Joey Hunting: rhythm guitar
  • Crystal Taliefero: percussion
  • Schuyler Deale: bass guitar
  • Jeff Jacobs: synthesizers, horn arrangements
  • Don Brooks: harmonica
  • Mick Jones: guitar
  • John Mahoney: keyboards, keyboard programming
  • Sammy Merendino: electronic percussion
  • Kevin Jones: keyboard programming
  • Doug Kleeger: sounds effects
  • Dominic Cortese: accordion
  • Itzhak Perlman: violin
  • Lenny Pickett: saxophone
  • Andrew Love,Wayne Jackson: The Memphis Horns
  • Bill Zampino: choral arrangement
  • Chuck Arnold: choral leader
  • Arif Mardin: orchestral arrangement
  • Background vocals:Billy Joel, Mick Jones, Richard Marx, Crystal Taliefero, Jeff Jacobs, Patricia Darcy-Jones, Frank Floyd, Brian Ruggles, Joe Lynn Turner, Ian Lloyd, Brenda White King, Curtis King
  • Mixed byTom Lord-Alge and Jay Healy
  • Engineered by Dana Becker, Tim Crich, Jay Healy, Suzanne Hollander, Joe Pirrera and Gary Solomon
  • Mastered byTed Jensen

Track lsiting:

All tracks by Billy Joel.

  1. That’s Not Her Style
  2. We Didn’t Start the Fire
  3. The Downeaster ‘Alexa’
  4. I Go to Extremes
  5. Shameless
  6. Storm Front
  7. Leningrad
  8. State of Grace
  9. When in Rome
  10. And So It Goes


On May 5, 1975.

James Gang Newborn

On May 5, 1975, “Atlantic” label released “Newborn”, the eighth James Gang album. It was recorded 1974 – 1975, and was produced by James Gang.The album cover artwork features a reproduction of Salvador Dalí’s “Geopoliticus Child Watching the Birth of the New Man”.


  • Bubba Keith – lead vocals, electric and acoustic guitars
  • Richard Shack – electric guitars, backing vocals
  • Dale Peters – bass, backing vocals, percussion
  • Jim Fox– drums, organ, piano
  • Al Perkins– steel guitar
  • David Briggs– organ, piano
  • Kenneth Hamann – synthesizer
  • Don Brooks– harmonica
  • George Ricci – cello

Track listing:

All tracks by Bubba Keith and Richard Shack, except where noted.

  1. Merry-Go-Round
  2. Gonna Get By – Bubba Keith, Mark Smith
  3. Earthshaker – Bubba Keith
  4. All I Have
  5. Watch It – Bubba Keith
  6. Driftin’ Dreamer
  7. Shoulda’ Seen Your Face
  8. Come With Me
  9. Heartbreak Hotel – Mae Boren Axton, Tommy Durden
  10. Red Satin Lover
  11. Cold Wind