Tag Archives: David Spinozza

On December 13, 1977.

On December 13, 1977, “Atlantic” label released “Blue Lights in the Basement”, the sixth Roberta Flack studio album. It was recorded 1976 – 1977, and was produced by Rubina Flake, Joe Ferla and Gene McDaniels.


  • Roberta Flack– vocals, keyboards, arrangements
  • Paul Griffin– keyboards
  • Ronnie Foster– keyboards, background vocals
  • Don Grolnick– keyboards
  • Rob Mounsey– keyboards
  • Leon Pendarvis– keyboards, background vocals, musical arrangements
  • Harry Whitaker – keyboards, musical arrangements
  • Reggie Lucas– guitar
  • Hugh McCracken– guitar, musical arrangements
  • Jeff Mironov – guitar
  • David Spinozza– guitar
  • John Tropea– guitar
  • Michael Kamen– oboe solo, musical arrangements
  • Anthony Jackson– bass guitar
  • Basil Fearrington – bass
  • Will Lee– bass guitar
  • Gary King– bass, musical arrangements
  • Steve Gadd– drums
  • Allan Schwartzberg– drums
  • Jimmy Wong – drums
  • Howard King – drums
  • Idris Muhammad– drums
  • Crusher Bennett – percussion
  • David Carey – percussion
  • Jimmy Maelen– percussion
  • James Mtume– percussion, background vocals
  • Jim Gilstrap, Lani Groves, Gwen Guthrie, Yvonne Lewis, Gene McDaniels, Zach Sanders, Brenda White, Deniece Williams– background vocals

Track listing:

  1. Why Don’t You Move in with Me – Gene McDaniels
  2. The Closer I Get to You – Reggie Lucas, James Mtume
  3. Fine, Fine Day – Rachel Perry
  4. This Time I’ll Be Sweeter – Pat Grant, Gwen Guthrie
  5. 25th of Last December – Gene McDaniels
  6. After You – Michael Masser, Ron Miller
  7. I’d Like to Be Baby to You – Morgan Ames
  8. Soul Deep – Wayne Carson
  9. Love is the Healing – Gene McDaniels
  10. Where I’ll Find You – David McHugh

In August 1972.

In August 1972, “Flying Dutchman” label released “Free Will”, the second Gil Scott-Heron studio album. It was recorded in March 1972, at “RCA Studios” in New York City, and was produced by Bob Thiele.


  • Gil Scott-Heron– vocals
  • Horace Ott– conductor, arranger
  • Brian Jackson– acoustic and electric pianos, vocals, flute, bells
  • Gerald Jemmott– bass
  • Pretty Purdie– drums
  • Eddie Knowles, Charles Saunders – percussion
  • David Spinozza– guitar
  • Hubert Laws– flute, piccolo
  • Bob Simpson – mixing
  • Charles Stewart – cover photo

Track listing:

  1. Free Will – Gil Scott-Heron, Brian Jackson
  2. The Middle of Your Day – Gil Scott-Heron, Brian Jackson
  3. The Get Out of the Ghetto Blues – Gil Scott-Heron, Brian Jackson
  4. Speed Kills – Gil Scott-Heron, Brian Jackson
  5. Did You Hear What They Said? – Gil Scott-Heron, Brian Jackson
  6. The King Alfred Plan – Gil Scott-Heron
  7. No Knock – Gil Scott-Heron
  8. Wiggy – Gil Scott-Heron
  9. Ain’t No New Thing – Gil Scott-Heron
  10. Billy Green Is Dead – Gil Scott-Heron
  11. Sex Education: Ghetto Style – Gil Scott-Heron
  12. … And Then He Wrote Meditations – Gil Scott-Heron

In May 1979.

In May 1979, “Columbia” label released “Flag”, the ninth James Taylor studio album. It was recorded January-March 1979, and was produced by Peter Asher.


  • James Taylor — guitar, vocals
  • Peter Asher— timbales, vocals
  • Dan Dugmore— pedal steel guitar
  • Steve Forman — percussion
  • Don Grolnick— keyboards
  • Danny Kortchmar— guitar
  • Russ Kunkel— drums, percussion
  • David Lasley— backing vocals
  • Jesse Levy — cello
  • Arif Mardin— strings
  • Arnold McCuller— backing vocals
  • Graham Nash— vocals
  • David Sanborn— saxophone
  • Ralph Schuckett— keyboards
  • Louise Schulmann — viola
  • Carly Simon— vocals
  • Leland Sklar— bass
  • David Spinozza— guitar, strings
  • Alex Taylor— backing vocals
  • Waddy Wachtel— acoustic, electric and slide guitar

Track listing:

All tracks by James Taylor except where noted.

  1. Company Man Johnnie Comes Back
  2. Day Tripper – John Lennon, Paul McCartney
  3. I Will Not Lie for You
  4. Brother Trucker
  5. Is That the Way You Look?
  6. S.U.R. (S.U.C.S.I.M.I.M.)
  7. Rainy Day Man – James Taylor, Zach Wiesner
  8. Millworker
  9. Up on the Roof – Gerry Goffin, Carole King
  10. Chanson Française
  11. Sleep Come Free Me

On June 1, 1974.

Walking Man

On June 1, 1974, “Warner Bros” released “Walking Man”, the fifth James Taylor studio album. It was recorded January–April 1974, at “The Hit Factory” in New York City, and was produced by David Spinozza.


  • James Taylor –acoustic guitar, vocals
  • Kenny Ascher– Fender Rhodes electric piano, piano
  • Kenny Berger – baritonesaxophone
  • Michael Brecker– tenor saxophone
  • Randy Brecker– trumpet
  • Peter Gordon– French horn
  • Don Grolnick– piano, Hammond organ, Vox humana,
  • Howard Johnson– tuba
  • Ralph MacDonald– percussion
  • George Marge –oboe
  • Rick Marotta– drums
  • Linda McCartney– vocals
  • Paul McCartney– backing vocals
  • Hugh McCracken– electric guitar, acoustic guitar, harmonica, backing vocals
  • Andy Muson – bass
  • Gene Orloff– strings
  • Barry Rogers– trombone
  • Alan Rubin– trumpet
  • Ralph Schuckett– clavinet
  • Carly Simon– vocals
  • David Spinozza– electric guitar, acoustic electric guitar, Wurlitzer electric piano
  • George Young – alto saxophone
  • Harry Maslin – Recording and Mixing Engineer

Track listing:

All tracks by James Taylor, except where noted.

  1. Walking Man
  2. Rock ‘n’ Roll Is Music Now
  3. Let It All Fall Down
  4. Me and My Guitar
  5. Daddy’s Baby
  6. Ain’t No Song – Joey Levine,David Spinozza
  7. Hello Old Friend
  8. Migration
  9. The Promised Land – Chuck Berry
  10. Fading Away





On May 17, 1971.


On May 17, 1971, “Apple” label released “Ram”, studio album by Paul McCartney and Linda McCartney. It was recorded October 1970 – March 1971, at “Columbia Recording Studio” in New York, and was produced by Linda McCartney and Paul McCartney. “Ram” is the only album credited to Linda and Paul together.


  • Paul McCartney- lead, harmony and backing vocals, bass, piano, keyboards, guitar, ukulele
  • Linda McCartney- harmony and backing vocals, co-lead vocals
  • David Spinozza- guitar
  • Hugh McCracken- guitar
  • Denny Seiwell- drums
  • Heather McCartney- backing vocals
  • Marvin Stamm- flugelhorn
  • New York Philharmonic

Track listing:

  1. Too Many People – Paul McCartney
  2. 3 Legs – Paul McCartney
  3. Ram On – Paul McCartney
  4. Dear Boy – Paul and Linda McCartney
  5. Uncle Albert / Admiral Halsey – Paul and Linda McCartney
  6. Smile Away – Paul McCartney
  7. Heart of the Country – Paul and Linda McCartney
  8. Monkberry Moon Delight – Paul and Linda McCartney
  9. Eat at Home – Paul and Linda McCartney
  10. Long Haired Lady – Paul and Linda McCartney
  11. Ram On (reprise) – Paul McCartney
  12. The Back Seat of My Car – Paul McCartney


On April 30, 1973.


On April 30, 1973, “Apple” label released “Red Rose Speedway”, the second Paul McCartney and Wings album. It was recorded March–June 1972 and September–December 1972, at “Abbey Road Studios”, “Olympic Sound Studios”, “Morgan Studios”,”Trident Studios” and “Island Studio” in London, and was produced by Paul McCartney.


  • Paul McCartney– vocals, piano, bass, guitar, electric piano, mellotron, celeste, Moog synthesizer
  • Linda McCartney– vocals, piano, organ, electric piano, electric harpsichord, percussion
  • Denny Laine– vocals, guitar, bass, harmonica
  • Henry McCullough– guitar, backing vocals, percussion
  • Denny Seiwell– drums, percussion
  • Hugh McCracken– electric guitar
  • David Spinozza– electric guitar
  • Alan Parsons– recording engineer
  • Dixon Van Winkle – recording engineer

Track listing:

All tracks by Paul and Linda McCartney.

  1. Big Barn Bed
  2. My Love
  3. Get on the Right Thing
  4. One More Kiss
  5. Little Lamb Dragonfly
  6. Single Pigeon
  7. When the Night
  8. Loup (1st Indian on the Moon)
  9. Medley: Hold Me Tight/Lazy Dynamite/Hands of Love/Power Cut