Tag Archives: Morgan Studios

In December 1973.

In December 1973, “Epic” label released “Essence to Essence”, the eleventh Donovan studio album. It was recorded September – October 1973, at “Morgan Studios”, and was produced by Donovan Leitch and Andrew Loog Oldham.


  • Donovan – vocals, acoustic guitar
  • Henry McCullough, Danny Kortchmar, Doug Schlink, Neil Hubbard, Peter Frampton- electric guitar
  • Alan Spenner, Carl Radle, Leland Sklar, Paul Ossola – bass
  • Danny Thompson- double bass
  • Carole King, Craig Doerge, Jean Roussel, Nicky Hopkins- piano
  • Nicky Hopkins – electric piano
  • Bobby Whitlock- organ
  • Bruce Rowland, Denny Seiwell, Jim Gordon, Russell Kunkel- drums
  • Ray Cooper- percussion
  • Tom Scott- woodwind
  • Jack Emblow – accordion
  • Chris Nicholls – bass flute
  • Simon Jeffes- koto
  • The Scratch Band – background vocals
  • Andrew Powell, Del Newman, Nicky Harrison – strings

Track listing:

All tracks by Donovan Leitch.

  1. Operating Manual for Spaceship Earth
  2. Lazy Daze
  3. Life Goes On
  4. There is an Ocean
  5. Dignity of Man
  6. Yellow Star
  7. Divine Daze of Deathless Delight
  8. Boy for Every Girl
  9. Saint Valentine’s Angel
  10. Life is a Merry-Go-Round
  11. Sailing Homeward

In November 1975.

In November 1975, “RAK” label released the second, self-titled Hot Chocolate studio album. It was recorded in 1975, in Oise, France, by the “RAK Records Mobile”, “Morgan Studios” in London, and was produced by Mickie Most.


  • Errol Brown– lead vocals
  • Harvey Hinsley – leadand acoustic guitars, backing vocals
  • Larry Ferguson – keyboards
  • Tony Wilson – bass, vocals
  • Tony Connor – drums, backing vocals, electric piano
  • Patrick Olive – percussion, backing vocals, bass
  • The CCS Horns– trumpets, trombone, alto, baritone and tenor saxophones
  • John Cameron, Phil Dennys – arrangements
  • Linard & Co. – album art

Track listing:

All tracks by Errol Brown; except where noted.

  1. Hello America
  2. The Street
  3. Call the Police – Tony Wilson
  4. Dollar Sign
  5. You Sexy Thing – Errol Brown, Tony Wilson
  6. A Child’s Prayer
  7. A Warm Smile – Harvey Hinsley, Patrick Olive, Tony Connor
  8. Amazing Skin Song
  9. Love’s Coming on Strong – Tony Wilson
  10. Lay Me Down – Tony Wilson

In November 1973.

In November 1973, “Warner Bros” label released “Bedside Manners Are Extra”, the second Greenslade studio album. It was recorded in August 1973, at ”Morgan Studios” in London, and was produced by Tony Reeves, Dave Greenslade, Dave Lawson and Andrew McCulloch. The album cover artwork was by Roger Dean.


  • Andrew McCulloch- drums
  • Dave Lawson- keyboards, vocals
  • Tony Reeves- bass guitar
  • Dave Greenslade- keyboards

Track listing:

All music by Dave Greenslade, all lyrics by Dave Lawson, except where noted.

  1. Bedside Manners Are Extra
  2. Pilgrim’s Progress
  3. Time to Dream
  4. Drum Folk – music by Dave Greenslade, Andrew McCulloch
  5. Sunkissed You’re Not – music by Dave Lawson
  6. Chalkhill – music by Tony Reeves, Dave Lawson


In November 1971.

In November 1971, “Elektra” label released “Anticipation”, the second Carly Simon studio album. It was recorded in 1971, at “Morgan Studios” in London, and was produced by Paul Samwell-Smith.


  • Carly Simon – acoustic guitar, guitar, piano, vocals
  • Paul Glanz – piano
  • Jim Keltner– drums
  • Del Newman – horn arrangements
  • Andy Newmark– percussion, drums
  • Jim Ryan – acoustic and electric guitar, bass, guitar, electric bass
  • John Ryan – bass

Track listing:

All tracks by Carly Simon; except where noted.

  1. Anticipation
  2. Legend in Your Own Time
  3. Our First Day Together
  4. The Girl You Think You See – Carly Simon, Jacob Brackman
  5. Summer’s Coming Around Again – Carly Simon, Jimmy Ryan, Paul Glanz
  6. Share the End – Carly Simon, Jacob Brackman
  7. The Garden – Carly Simon, Jacob Brackman
  8. Three Days
  9. Julie Through the Glass
  10. I’ve Got to Have You – Kris Kristofferson

In November 1970.

In November 1970, “Threshold” label released “Medusa”, the second Trapeze studio album. It was recorded in 1970 at “Morgan Studios” in London, and was produced by John Lodge.


  • Mel Galley– guitar, vocals
  • Glenn Hughes– bass, piano, vocals
  • Dave Holland– drums
  • Roger Quested – engineering
  • Pat Travers– illustration
  • David Rohl– photography

Track listing:

  1. Black Cloud – Mel Galley, Tom Galley
  2. Jury – Mel Galley, Tom Galley
  3. Your Love Is Alright – Mel Galley, Glenn Hughes, Dave Holland
  4. Touch My Life – Mel Galley, Tom Galley
  5. Seafull – Glenn Hughes
  6. Makes You Wanna Cry – Mel Galley, Tom Galley
  7. Medusa – Glenn Hughes

In October 1971.

In October 1971, “Imperial” label released “Focus II”, the second Focus album. It was recorded April – May 1971, at “Sound Techniques” and “Morgan Studios” in London, Mike Vernon. The album was ranked at number 24 in “Q” and “Mojo’s” list of “40 Cosmic Rock Albums.”


  • Thijs van Leer– Hammond organ, piano, mellotron, harmonium, flutes, vocals
  • Jan Akkerman– guitars, bass guitar
  • Cyril Havermans– bass guitar, vocals
  • Pierre van der Linden– drums, percussion

Track listing:

  1. Hocus Pocus – Thijs van Leer, Jan Akkerman
  2. Le Clochard (Bread) – Jan Akkerman
  3. Janis – Thijs van Leer, Jan Akkerman
  4. Moving Waves – Thijs van Leer, Inayat Khan
  5. Focus II
  6. Eruption
  • Orfeus – Thijs van Leer
  • Answer – Thijs van Leer
  • Orfeus – Thijs van Leer
  • Answer – Thijs van Leer
  • Pupilla – Thijs van Leer
  • Tommy – Tom Barlage
  • Pupilla – Thijs van Leer
  • Answer – Thijs van Leer
  • The Bridge – Jan Akkerman
  • Euridice – Thijs van Leer, Eelko Nobel
  • Dayglow – Thijs van Leer
  • Endless Road – Pierre van der Linden
  • Answer – Thijs van Leer
  • Orfeus – Thijs van Leer
  • Euridice – Thijs van Leer, Eelko Nobel

In October 1969.

In October 1969, “Island” label released the self-titled, second Free album. It was recorded January – June 1969, at “Morgan Studios” and “Trident Studios” in London, and was produced by the head of “Island” label Chris Blackwell.


  • Paul Rodgers– vocals
  • Paul Kossoff– lead guitar, rhythm guitar
  • Andy Fraser– bass guitar, rhythm guitar, piano
  • Simon Kirke– drums, percussion
  • Chris Wood– flute

Track listing:

All tracks by Andy Fraser and Paul Rodgers, except where noted.

  1. I’ll Be Creepin’
  2. Songs of Yesterday
  3. Lying in the Sunshine
  4. Trouble on Double Time – Andy Fraser, Paul Rodgers, Simon Kirke, Paul Kossoff
  5. Mouthful of Grass
  6. Woman
  7. Free Me
  8. Broad Daylight
  9. Mourning Sad Morning