Tag Archives: Rock Island Line

On September 23, 2016.

On September 23, 2016, “Cooking Viny;” label released “Shine a Light: Field Recordings from the Great American Railroad”, an album of field recordings made by Billy Bragg and Joe Henry, as they performed in waiting rooms and trackside at railway stations on a journey between Chicago and Los Angeles in March 2016. The album was produced by Billy Brag and Joe Henry.


  • Billy Bragg – vocals, acoustic and electric guitar
  • Joe Henry – vocals, acoustic and electric guitar, harmonica
  • Ryan Freeland – engineer, mixing

Track listing:

  1. Rock Island Line – traditional, arranged by Billy Bragg, Joe Henry
  2. The L&N Don’t Stop Here Any More – Jean Ritchie
  3. Midnight Special – Huddie Ledbetter
  4. Railroad Bill – traditional, arranged by Billy Bragg, Joe Henry
  5. Lonesome Whistle – Hank Williams; Jimmie Davis
  6. KC Moan – Tewee Blackman
  7. Waiting for a Train – Jimmie Rodgers
  8. In the Pines – traditional, arranged by Billy Bragg, Joe Henry
  9. Gentle on My Mind – John Hartford
  10. Hobo’s Lullaby – Goebel Reeves
  11. Railroading on the Great Divide – Sara Carter
  12. John Henry – traditional, arranged by Billy Bragg, Joe Henry
  13. Early Morning Rain – Gordon Lightfoot

On November 13, 2001.

On November 13, 2001, “Stony Plain Records” label released “Remembering Leadbelly”, the final Long John Baldry studio album, completed in his lifetime. It was recorded in 2001, at “Music Lab Recording”, “Sebastian and Dolly’s Hutch”, “Skeena’s Place” in Vancouver, Canada, and “Halve Recording Studios” in Hamburg, Germany.


  • Long John Baldry- vocals, 12-string guitar
  • Kathi McDonald- vocals
  • Hans Stamer- vocals, national steel guitar, harmonica, jews harp, trumpet
  • Chris Nordquist- drums, hans-on drums, finger cymbals
  • John Lee Sanders– vocals, piano, organ, keyboard tuba, keyboard accordion, harmonica, keyboards
  • Andreas Schuld– vocals, acoustic and electric guitar, ukulele, Russian zither, e-bow, percussion, claps, foot, national steel, slide
  • Norm Fisher- acoustic bass
  • Jesse Zubot- fiddle, mandolin, violin
  • Butch Coulter- harmonica
  • Tom Colclough- clarinet
  • Sybel Thrasher- vocals
  • Tyee Montessori Elementary School- backing vocals
  • Holger Peterson – executive producer
  • Peter Moore – mastering
  • Holger Peterson – bonus track interviews
  • Special thanks to Alan Lomax

Track listing:

All tracks by Leadbelly.

  1. Lining Track
  2. Gallows Pole
  3. Midnight Special
  4. Take This Hammer
  5. Rock Island Line
  6. Good Morning Blues
  7. Go Down Old Hannah
  8. Birmingham Jail
  9. Here Rattler
  10. Easy Rider Blues
  11. We’re In The Same Boat Brother
  12. John Hardy
  13. Digging My Potatoes
  14. On A Christmas Day
  15. Mary Don’t You Weep
  16. We Shall Walk Through The Valley
  17. Alan Lomax Interview
  18. Long John Baldry Interview