Tag Archives: Monmouthshire

On March 31, 2017.

On March 31, 2017, “Pinkflag” label released “Silver/Lead”, the sixteenth Wire studio album. It was recorded in 2016, at “Rockfield Studios” in Rockfield, Monmouthshire, Wales, “Swim Studio” in London, and was produced by Colin Newman.


  • Colin Newman– lead vocals,  keyboards, acoustic, 12-string and electric guitar, mandola, M-Tron baritone, mixing
  • Graham Lewis– lead and backing vocals, bass guitar, Casio SK-1, loops, samples, cover image
  • Robert Grey– drums
  • Matthew Simms – electric guitar, lap steel, mandola, modular synth, Korg MS-10, fx, autoharp
  • Tim Lewis– engineering
  • Jeroen Melchers – engineering
  • Denis Blackham– mastering
  • Jon Wozencroft– art direction

Track listing:

All lyrics by Graham Lewis, all music by Colin Newman, Graham Lewis, Robert Grey and Matthew Simms.

  1. Playing Harp for the Fishes
  2. Short Elevated Period
  3. Diamonds in Cups
  4. Forever & a Day
  5. An Alibi
  6. Sonic Lens
  7. This Time
  8. Brio
  9. Sleep on the Wing
  10. Silver / Lead

In November 1981.

In November 1981, “Korova” label released “From the Lions Mouth”, the second  Sound studio album. It was recorded in 1981, at “Rockfield Studios” in Monmouthshire, Wales, and was produced by Hugh Jones, Adrian Borland, Michael Dudley, Graham Green and Max Mayers.


  • Adrian Borland– vocals, guitar
  • Michael Dudley – drums, percussion
  • Graham Green – bass guitar
  • Max Mayers – keyboards
  • Hugh Jones, Julian Mendelsohn – engineer
  • Briton Rivière– cover artwork
  • Howard Hughes – cover concept
  • Simon Fowler – sleeve liner photo photography

Track listing:

  1. Winning – Adrian Borland, Max Mayers, Graham Green, Michael Dudley
  2. Sense of Purpose – Adrian Borland, Max Mayers, Graham Green, Michael Dudley
  3. Contact the Fact – Adrian Borland, Max Mayers, Graham Green
  4. Skeletons – Adrian Borland, Max Mayers, Graham Green, Michael Dudley
  5. Judgement – Adrian Borland, Max Mayers, Graham Green
  6. Fatal Flaw – Adrian Borland, Max Mayers, Graham Green, Michael Dudley
  7. Possession – Adrian Borland, Adrian Janes
  8. The Fire – Adrian Borland, Max Mayers, Graham Green, Michael Dudley
  9. Silent Air – Adrian Borland
  10. New Dark Age – Adrian Borland

On September 24, 1990.

On September 24, 1990, “GWR” label released “Space Bandits”, the sixteenth   Hawkwind studio album. It was recorded April – June 1990, at “Rockfield Studios” in Rockfield, Monmouthshire, Wales, and was produced by Paul Cobbold.


  • Bridget Wishart– vocals
  • Dave Brock– vocals, electric guitar, keyboards
  • Alan Davey– vocals, bass guitar
  • Simon House– violin
  • Harvey Bainbridge– vocals, keyboards
  • Richard Chadwick– drums
  • Joe Petagno – cover design

Track listing:

  1. Images – Bridget Wishart, Dave Brock, Alan Davey
  2. Black Elk Speaks – Black Elk, Dave Brock
  3. Wings – Alan Davey
  4. Out of the Shadows – Doug Buckley, Dave Brock, Alan Davey
  5. Realms – Alan Davey
  6. Ship of Dreams – Dave Brock
  7. V. Suicide – Harvey Bainbridge


On January 9, 2012.

On January 9, 2012, “Fiction” label released “Given to the Wild”, the third  Maccabees studio album. It was recorded in 2011, at “Rockfield Studios” in Monmouthshire, and was produced by Tim Goldsworthy, Bruno Ellingham, Jag Jago, Orlando Weeks, Hugo White, Felix White, Rupert Shepherd, Sam Doyle and Will White.


  • Orlando Weeks – vocals, guitar, keyboards
  • Hugo White – guitars, backing vocals
  • Felix White – guitars, backing vocals
  • Rupert Shepherd – bass
  • Sam Doyle – drums
  • Will White – keyboards, synthesizer, samplers
  • Catherine Pockson – piano, vocals

Track listing:

  1. Given to the Wild (intro)
  2. Child
  3. Feel to Follow
  4. Ayla
  5. Glimmer
  6. Forever I’ve Known
  7. Heave
  8. Pelican
  9. Went Away
  10. Go
  11. Unknown
  12. Slowly One
  13. Grew Up at Midnight


In October 1976.

In October 1976, “Charisma” label released “World Record”, the seventh Van der Graaf Generator studio album. It was recorded in May 1976, at “Rockfield Studios” in Monmouthshire, and was produced by Peter Hammill, David Jackson, Hugh Bnton and Guy Evans.


  • Peter Hammill– vocals, guitar, piano
  • David Jackson– saxophone, flute
  • Hugh Banton– Hammond organ, Mellotron
  • Guy Evans– drums, percussion, cymbal

Track listing:

All tracks by Peter Hammill, except where noted.

  1. When She Comes
  2. A Place to Survive
  3. Masks
  4. Meurglys III (The Songwriter’s Guild)
  5. Wondering – Hugh Banton, Peter Hammill

In October 1975.

In October 1975, “Charisma” label released “Godbluff”, the fifth Van der Graaf Generator album. It was recorded in June 1975, at “Rockfield Studios” in Monmouthshire, and was produced by Peter Hammill, David Jackson, Hugh Banton and Guy Evans. The band logo that was designed by John Pasche.


  • Peter Hammill– vocals, piano, clavinet, electric guitar
  • David Jackson– saxophones and flute
  • Hugh Banton– organs (including bass pedals), bass guitar
  • Guy Evans– drums and percussion
  • Engineered by Pat Moran
  • Cut by George Peckham at The Master Room

Track listing:

All tracks by Peter Hammill, except where noted.

  1. The Undercover Man
  2. Scorched Earth – Peter Hammill, David Jackson
  3. Arrow
  4. The Sleepwalkers

On September 16, 2013.

On September 16, 2013, “Columbia” label released “Rewind the Film”, the eleventh Manic Street Preachers album. It was recorded in 2013, at “Faster Studios” in Cardiff, Wales;

“Rockfield Studios” in Monmouthshire, Wales, and “Hansa Studios” in Berlin, and was produced by James Dean Bradfield, Nicky Wire, Sean Moore, Alex Silva and Loz Williams.


  • James Dean Bradfield– lead vocals, lead and rhythm guitar
  • Nicky Wire– bass guitar, vocals
  • Sean Moore– drums
  • Loz Williams – keyboard, engineering, mixing
  • Lucy Rose– vocals
  • Gavin Fitzjohn– horn arrangemen; baritone and tenor saxophone; trumpet
  • John Rey – piano
  • Richard Hawley– lead vocals; Hawaiian guitar
  • Andy Walters, Joanna Walters – violin
  • Barnard Kane – viola
  • Nathan Stone – cello
  • Tim Tautorat – celeste; string arrangement; violin; keyboards
  • Cate Le Bon– lead vocals
  • Sean Read – horn arrangement; trumpets; saxophone
  • Nick Nasmyth – keyboards
  • Guy Massey – mixing
  • Dave Eringa– mixing
  • Tim Young – mastering

Track listing:

All tracks by James Dean Bradfield, Nick Jones, Sean Moore except where noted.

  1. This Sullen Welsh Heart
  2. Show Me the Wonder
  3. Rewind the Film – James Dean Bradfield, Nick Jones, Sean Moore, David Axelrod
  4. Builder of Routines
  5. 4 Lonely Roads
  6. (I Miss the) Tokyo Skyline
  7. Anthem for a Lost Cause
  8. As Holy as the Soil (That Buries Your Skin)
  9. 3 Ways to See Despair
  10. Running Out of Fantasy
  11. Manorbier
  12. 30-Year War