Tag Archives: New Orleans

On January 24, 1995.

On January 24, 1995, “Brinkman Records” label released “Lamprey”, the second Bettie Serveert album. It was recorded in 1994, at “Studio 150” in Amsterdam, “Air Studios” in London, “Kingsway Studios” in New Orleans, and was produced by Frans Hagenaars.


  • Carol van Dijk – vocals, guitar
  • Herman Bunskoeke – bass
  • Peter Visser – guitar
  • Berend Dubbe – drums

Track listing:

  1. Keepsake
  2. Ray Ray Rain
  3. Feathers
  4. Re-feel-it
  5. 21 Days
  6. Cybor *D
  7. Tell Me, Sad
  8. Crutches
  9. Something so Wild
  10. Totally Freaked Out
  11. Silent Spring


On June 6, 2019.

On June 6, 2019, Malcolm John Rebennack aka Dr. John, died aged 77. He was singer – songwriter and musician (piano, keyboards and guitar), regarded as one of the greatest New Orleans music icons. He had successful solo career and performed and recorded with many famous musicians and bands, including Art Blakey, Ringo Starr & His All-Starr Band, Van Morrison, Dan Auerbach, Eric Clapton, Bob Seger, Joe Walsh, Canned Heat, The Rolling Stones, Mike Bloomfield, Spiritualized, David Newman, Ray Anderson, Levon Helm, John Hammond, Gregg Allman, Papa John Creach, Bennie Wallace, Ian Gillan, Roger Glover, Harry Connick Jr., Hank Crawford, Jimmy Smith, Jools Holland, Steve Tyrell, B. B. King and Marcus Miller. Dr. John won six “Grammy Awards”, and was inducted into the “Rock and Roll Hall of Fame” in 2011. In May 2013, he received honorary doctorate of fine arts from “Tulane University.

On March 9, 2009.

On March 9, 2009, “Universal Classics” label released “Piety Street”, the 35th John Scofield album. It was recorded in 2008, at “Piety Street Studios” in New Orleans,  Louisiana, and was produced by John Scofield.


  • John Scofield– guitar
  • Jon Cleary- vocals, organ, piano
  • George Porter, Jr.- bass guitar
  • Ricky Fataar– drums
  • Shannon Powell – drums, percussion
  • John Boutté- vocals

Track listing:

  1. That’s Enough
  2. Motherless Child
  3. It’s a Big Army
  4. His Eye is on the Sparrow
  5. Something’s Got a Hold on Me
  6. The Old Ship of Zion
  7. Ninety Nine and a Half
  8. Just a Little While to Stay Here
  9. Never Turn Back
  10. Walk With Me
  11. But I Like the Message
  12. The Angel of Death
  13. I’ll Fly Away”


On October 27, 2017.

On October 27, 2017, “Blue Note” label released “Nat King Cole & Me”, the fifth Gregory Porter studio album. It was recorded in 2017, at “Air Studios” in London, “Capitol Studios” in Los Angeles and “Esplande Studios” in New Orleans.


  • Gregory Porter– vocals
  • Terence Blanchard – trumpet
  • Christian Sands– piano
  • Reuben Rogers – bass
  • Ulysses Owens – drums
  • Vince Mendoza– arrangement

Track listing:

  1. Mona Lisa – Jay Livingston, Ray Evans
  2. Smile – Charles Chaplin, Geoffrey Parsons, John Turner
  3. Nature Boy – Eden Ahbez
  4. L-O-V-E – Bert Kaempfert, Milt Gabler
  5. Quizas, Quizas, Quizas – Farres Osvaldo
  6. Miss Otis Regrets – Cole Porter
  7. Pick Yourself Up – Dorothy Fields, Jerome Kern
  8. When Love Was King – Gregory Porter
  9. The Lonely One – Lenny Hambro, Roberta Helelr
  10. Ballenna – Bob Russell, Carl Sigman
  11. I Wonder Who My Daddy Is – Gladys Shelley
  12. The Christmas Song – Mel Tormé, Robert Wells

On October 4, 2011.

On October 4, 2011, “Teleprompt Records” and “Warner Bros. Records” labels released “Odd Soul”, the third Mutemath album. It was recorded in 2011, in New Orleans and Los Angeles, and was produced by Paul Meany, Darren King and Roy Mitchell – Cardenas.


  • Paul Meany– vocals, keyboards, guitar
  • Darren King– guitar, drums
  • Roy Mitchell-Cárdenas– bass, guitars

Track listing:

All tracks by Paul Meany, Darren King and Roy Mitchell – Cardenas.

  1. Odd Soul
  2. Prytania
  3. Blood Pressure
  4. Tell Your Heart Heads Up
  5. All or Nothing
  6. Sun Ray
  7. Allies
  8. Cavalries
  9. Walking Paranoia
  10. One More
  11. Equals
  12. Quarantine
  13. In No Time


On July 28, 2017.

On July 28, 2017, “Sonovox Records” label released “Everything Now”, the fifth  Arcade Fire studio album. It was recorded September 2016 – April 2017, at “Boombox” in New Orleans, “Sonovox” in Montreal and “Gang” in Paris, and was produced by Win Butler, Régine Chassagne, Richard Reed Parry, William Butler, Tim Kingsbury  , Jeremy Gara, Thomas Bangalter, Steve Mackey, Markus Dravs, Geoff Barrow and Eric Heigle.


  • Win Butler– vocals, bass guitar, electric guitar, string arrangements
  • Régine Chassagne– vocals, piano, keyboards, keytar, string arrangements
  • Richard Reed Parry– electric guitar, bass guitar, backing vocals, string arrangements
  • William Butler– keyboards, bass guitar, backing vocals, string arrangements
  • Tim Kingsbury– acoustic guitar, electric guitar, bass guitar, backing vocals, string arrangements
  • Jeremy Gara– drums, string arrangements
  • Owen Pallett– string arrangements, piano, strings
  • Sarah Neufeld– string arrangements, strings
  • Daniel Lanois– pedal steel
  • Thomas Bangalter – synthesizer, programming
  • Geoff Barrow – synthesizer
  • Mark Lawson – MPC
  • Stuart Bogie– saxophone, flute
  • Matt Bauder, Charlie Gabriel– saxophone
  • Patrick Bebey – pygmy flute
  • Willonson Duprate, Jean “Diol Kidi” Edmond – congas
  • Korey Richey – drum machine
  • Rebecca Crenshaw, Helen Gillet – strings
  • Harmonistic Praise Crusade Choir
  • Akia Nevills, Kayla Jasmine – choir vocals, Tracci Lee, Jelly Joseph – choir vocals
  • Eric Heigle – recording
  • Mark Lawson, Iain Berryman, Korey Richey, Florian Lagatta – additional recording
  • Craig Silvey– mixing
  • Max Prior – mixing assistance
  • Greg Calbi– mastering
  • JR– artwork
  • Marc Azoulay, Camille Pajot, Guillaume Cagniard – artwork assistance
  • Ping Pong Ping – album graphic design
  • Anton Corbijn– band portrait

Track listing:

All tracks by Win Butler, Régine Chassagne, Richard Reed Parry, William Butler, Tim Kingsbury and Jeremy Gara.

  1. Everything_Now (Continued)
  2. Everything Now – contains elements from “The Coffee Cola Song” written by Francis Bebey
  3. Signs of Life
  4. Creature Comfort
  5. Peter Pan
  6. Chemistry
  7. Infinite Content
  8. Infinite Content
  9. Electric Blue
  10. Good God Damn
  11. Put Your Money on Me
  12. We Don’t Deserve Love
  13. Everything Now (Continued)

On June 9, 2017.

On June 9, 2017, “Righteous Babe” label released “Binary”, the 19th Ani DiFranco studio album. It was recorded 2015 – 2016, at “The Dugout Esplanade Studios”  in New Orleans, Louisiana, and was produced by Ani DiFranco.


  • Ani DiFranco – vocals, guitar; mellotron, orchestron guitar synth,
  • Todd Sickafoose – bass, celeste, keyboards, shaker, vibraphone, Wurlitzer, bells, prepared piano
  • Terence Higgins – drums, congas, pandiero
  • Ivan Neville – organ, Clavinet, bass, piano, Rhodes, Wurlitzer
  • Jenny Scheinman – violin, backing vocals
  • Maceo Parker – alto saxophone
  • Skerik – tenor and baritone saxophones
  • Alonzo Bowens – clarinet
  • Bobby Campo – trumpet
  • Mark Mullins – trombone
  • Justin Vernon – backing vocals
  • Petah Napolitano, Gail Ann Dorsey – backing vocals
  • Tchad Blake – mixing
  • Mike Napolitano – recording engineer
  • Brian Lucey – mastering
  • Todd Sickafoose – horn arrangements
  • David Calderley at graphictherapy – design
  • Ani photographs by GMDThree

Track listing:

All tracks by Ani DiFranco.

  1. Binary
  2. Pacifist’s Lament
  3. Zizzing
  4. Play God
  5. Alrighty
  6. Telepathic
  7. Even More
  8. Spider