Tag Archives: Van Dyke Parks

In December 1967.

In December 1967, “Warner Bros” label released “Song Cycle”, the debut Van Dyke Parks album. It, was recorded in 1967 at “Sunset Sound Recorders” in Hollywood, and was produced by Lenny Waronker.


  • Van Dyke Parks– main performer, vocals
  • Ron Elliott, Dick Rosmini– guitar
  • Misha Goodatieff – violin
  • Virginia Majewski – viola
  • Carl Fortina – accordion
  • Nicolai Bolin, Vasil Crlenica, William Nadel, Alan Reuss, Leon Stewart, Thomas Tedesco– balalaika
  • Don Bagley, Gregory Bemko, Chuck Berghofer, Harry Bluestone, Samuel Boghossian, Dennis Budimir, Joseph Ditullio, Jesse Ehrlich, Nathan Gershman, Philip Goldberg, Armand Kaproff, William Kurasch, Leonard Malarsky, Jerome Reisler, Orville Rhodes, Trefoni Rizzi, Lyle Ritz, Joseph Saxon, Ralph Schaffer, Leonard Selic, Frederick Seykora, Darrel Terwilliger, Bob West – strings
  • Gayle Levant – harp
  • Norman Benno, Arthur Briegleb, Vincent DeRosa, George Fields, William Green, James Horn, Richard Hyde, Jay Migliori, Thomas Morgan, Ted Nash, Richard Perissi, Thomas Scott, Thomas Shepard– woodwind
  • Billie J. Barnum, Gerri Engeman, Karen Gunderson, James and Vanessa Hendricks, Durrie and Gaile Parks, Julia E. Rinker, Paul Jay Robbins, Nik Woods – choir
  • Hal Blaine, Gary Coleman, James Gordon, Earl Palmer– percussion
  • Steve Young– folk (“Vine Street” introduction tape)

Track listing:

All tracks by Van Dyke Parks, except where noted.

  1. Vine Street – Randy Newman
  2. Palm Desert
  3. Widow’s Talk
  4. Laurel Canyon Blvd
  5. The All Golden
  6. Van Dyke Parks (Public Domain)
  7. Public Domain
  8. Donovan’s Colours – Donovan Leitch
  9. The Attic
  10. Laurel Canyon Blvd
  11. By the People
  12. Pot Pourri



In October 1970.

In October 1970, “Rising Son” label released “Washington County”, the fifth Arlo Guthrie album. It was recorded in August 1970, and was produced by Lenny Waronker and John Pilla.


  • Arlo Guthrie – banjo, guitar, piano, autoharp, harp, vocals
  • Hoyt Axton- bass vocals
  • Ry Cooder- bottleneck guitar
  • Doug Dillard- banjo
  • Chris Ethridge- bass
  • Richard Hayward- drums
  • John Pilla – guitar, autoharp, harmony vocals
  • Gary Walters – bass
  • Clarence White- electric guitar
  • Barry Feldman – executive producer
  • Van Dyke Parks- co-producer

Track listing:

All tracks by Arlo Guthrie; except where noted.

  1. Introduction
  2. Fencepost Blues
  3. Gabriel’s Mother’s Highway Ballad #16 Blues
  4. Washington County
  5. Valley to Pray
  6. Lay Down Little Doggies – Woody Guthrie
  7. I Could Be Singing
  8. If You Would Just Drop By
  9. Percy’s Song – Bob Dylan
  10. I Want to Be Around

In October 1966.

In October 1966, “Elektra” label released the debut, self-titled Tim Buckley album. It was recorded in August 1966, at “Sunset Sound” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Jac Holzman and Paul A. Rothchild.


  • Tim Buckley– guitar, vocals
  • Lee Underwood– guitar
  • Jim Fielder– bass guitar
  • Van Dyke Parks– piano, celesta, harpsichord
  • Billy Mundi– drums, percussion
  • Jack Nitzsche– string arrangements

Track listing:

All tracks by Tim Buckley, except where noted.

  1. I Can’t See You – Larry Beckett, Tim Buckley
  2. Wings
  3. Song of the Magician – Larry Beckett, Tim Buckley
  4. Strange Street Affair Under Blue – Larry Beckett, Tim Buckley
  5. Valentine Melody – Larry Beckett, Tim Buckley
  6. Aren’t You the Girl?
  7. Song Slowly Song – Larry Beckett, Tim Buckley
  8. It Happens Every Time
  9. Song for Jainie
  10. Grief in My Soul – Larry Beckett, Tim Buckley
  11. She Is –Larry Beckett, Tim Buckley
  12. Understand Your Man


On September 2, 2008.

On September 2, 2008, “Capitol” label released “That Lucky Old Sun”, the eighth Brian Wilson album. It was recorded January – April 2008, and was produced by Brian Wilson.


  • Brian Wilson- keyboards, piano, lead vocals
  • Peggy Baldwin– cello
  • Scott Bennett – bass, keyboards, spanish guitar, vibraphone, background vocals
  • Nelson Bragg– percussion, background vocals
  • Phil Feather – woodwinds
  • Jeffrey Foskett- guitar, ukulele, background vocals
  • Probyn Gregory- French horn, guitar, trumpet, background vocals
  • Peter Kent – violin
  • Bob Lizik – bass
  • Taylor Mills – background vocals
  • Tommy Morgan – harmonica
  • Bruce Otto – trombone
  • Darian Sahanaja- bells, keyboards, background vocals
  • Brett Simmons – bass
  • Cameron Stone– cello
  • Todd Sucherman– drums
  • Jessica van Velzen – viola
  • Nick Walusko – guitar, background vocals

Track listing:

  1. That Lucky Old Sun – Beasley Smith, Haven Gillespie
  2. Morning Beat – Brian Wilson, Scott Bennett
  3. A Room With a View (narrative) – Brian Wilson, Van Dyke Parks
  4. Good Kind of Love – Brian Wilson
  5. Forever She’ll Be My Surfer Girl – Brian Wilson, Scott Bennett
  6. Venice Beach (narrative) – Brian Wilson, Van Dyke Parks
  7. Live Let Live / That Lucky Old Sun (reprise) – Brian Wilson, Van Dyke Parks, Beasley Smith, Haven Gillespie
  8. Mexican Girl – Brian Wilson, Scott Bennett
  9. Cinco de Mayo (narrative) – Brian Wilson, Van Dyke Parks
  10. California Role / That Lucky Old Sun (reprise) – Brian Wilson, Van Dyke Parks, Beasley Smith, Haven Gillespie
  11. Between Pictures (narrative) – Brian Wilson, Van Dyke Parks
  12. Oxygen to the Brain – Brian Wilson, Scott Bennett
  13. Can’t Wait Too Long – Brian Wilson
  14. Midnight’s Another Day – Brian Wilson, Scott Bennett
  15. That Lucky Old Sun (Reprise) – Beasley Smith, Haven Gillespie
  16. Going Home – Brian Wilson, Scott Bennett
  17. Southern California – Brian Wilson, Scott Bennett

On September 2, 2001.

On September 2, 2001, Jay Migliori died aged 70. He was saxophonist, best known as a founding member of Supersax, a tribute band to Charlie Parker. In his five decades long career, he has performed and recorded with many famous jazz and rock musicians and bands, including Woody Herman,Frank Sinatra, Onzy Matthews, Maynard Ferguson, Charlie Parker, Miles Davis, Nat Adderley, Gene Ammons, The Beach Boys, The Byrds, Dick Dale, Neil Diamond, Hampton Hawes, Harry Nilsson, Van Dyke Parks, Neil Young and Frank Zappa.

In August 1974.

In August 1974, “Warner Bros” label released “Feats Don’t Fail Me Now”, the fourth Little Feat studio album. It was recorded in 1974, at “Blue Seas Recording Studio” in Hunt Valley, Maryland; “The Sound Factory” in Los Angeles”; “Warner Bros. Recording Studios” and Sunset Sound” in Hollywood, and was produced by Lowell George and Van Dyke Parks.


  • Lowell George- vocals, guitar
  • Paul Barrère- guitar, vocals
  • Sam Clayton- percussion, vocals
  • Kenny Gradney- bass
  • Richie Hayward- drums, vocals
  • Bill Payne- keyboards, vocals
  • Gordon DeWitty – clavinet
  • Fred White- drums
  • Emmylou Harris, Bonnie Raitt, Fran Tate – backing vocals
  • Tower Of Power- horns

Track listing:

  1. Rock & Roll Doctor – Lowell George, Fred Martin
  2. Oh Atlanta – Bill Payne
  3. Skin it Back – Paul Barrère
  4. Down the Road – Lowell George
  5. Spanish Moon – Lowell George
  6. Feats Don’t Fail Me Now – Paul Barrère, Lowell George, Martin Kibbee
  7. The Fan – Lowell George, Bill Payne
  8. Medley: Cold Cold Cold/Tripe Face Boogie – Lowell George, Richie Hayward, Bill Payne


In July 1968.

In July 1968, “A&M” label released “Tape from California”, the fifth Phil Ochs album. It was recorded in 1968, and was produced by Larry Marks.


  • Phil Ochs – guitar, vocals
  • Joe Osborn- bass guitar
  • Lincoln Mayorga- piano, keyboards
  • Van Dyke Parks- piano, keyboards
  • Ramblin’ Jack Elliott- flat-picked guitar
  • Ian Freebairn-Smith – arrangements

Track listing:

All tracks by Phil Ochs.

  1. Tape From California
  2. White Boots Marching in a Yellow Land
  3. Half A Century High
  4. Joe Hill
  5. The War Is Over
  6. The Harder They Fall
  7. When In Rome
  8. Floods of Florence