Tag Archives: Townhouse

On March 4, 1989.

On March 4, 1989, “London” label released “The Big Area”, the second Then Jerico album. It was recorded in 1988, at “The Manor”, “Olympic” “Abbey Road” “Townhouse” and “Air” in UK, “Sunset Sound”, “Westlake”, Summa”, “Sound Castle” and “The Hit Factory” in USA, and was produced by Rhett Davies and Peter Henderson.


  • Mark Shaw – vocals
  • Chris Youdell – keyboards
  • Robert Downes – guitar
  • Scott Taylor – rhythm guitar
  • Jason Stainthorpe – bass guitar
  • Steve Wren – drums, percussion
  • Belinda Carlisle – background vocals
  • Charles Judge – keyboards
  • Paul Buckmaster – string arrangements
  • John Brough – engineer
  • Peter Henderson – engineer
  • Richard Sullivan – engineer

Track listing:

All lyrics by Mark Shaw, all music by Mark Shaw, Chris Youdell, Robert Downes, Scott Taylor, Jason Stainthorpe and Steve Wren, except where noted.

  1. Big Area
  2. What Does It Takes – Sandy Stuart, David Munday
  3. You Ought to Know
  4. Song for the Brokenhearted
  5. Darkest Hour – Mark Shaw, Scott Taylor, Chris Youdell
  6. Reeling
  7. Where You Lie
  8. Sugar Box
  9. Helpless
  10. Under Fire

In June 1988.

In June 1988, “Virgin” label released “Provision”, the third Scritti Politti album. It recorded 1987–1988 at “Minot Sound” in Atlantic, “Hit Factory”, “Right Track”, “Sorcerer Sound” in New York; “Britannia Row”, “AIR, Townhouse”, “Sarm West”, “Swan Yard” in London, and was produced by Green Gartside, David Gamson and John Potoker.


  • Green Gartside– vocals
  • David Gamson– Yamaha DX7, Yamaha TX816, Yamaha QX1, Oberheim Matrix 12, Sequential Circuits Prophet VS, Roland MKS-80, Roland MKS 50, Synclavier
  • Fred Maher– drums, Oberheim DMX, LinnDrum
  • Miles Davis– trumpet
  • Bashiri Johnson– percussion
  • Chris Botti– trumpet
  • Dann Huff– guitar
  • John Mahoney – Synclavier
  • Joe Mennonna – saxophones
  • Jason Miles – keyboard programming
  • Marcus Miller– bass
  • Nick Moroch – guitar
  • Raymond Niznik – Synclavier
  • Kent Smith – horn
  • Andy Snitzer – saxophones
  • Roger Troutman– talk box
  • Mitch Corn – horn
  • Mark Stevens, B.J. Nelson, Fonzi Thornton, Tawatha Agee, Rory Dodd, Diva Gray, Yogi Lee, Eric Troyer– background vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by Green Gartside and David Gamson; except where noted.

  1. Boom! There She Was
  2. Overnite
  3. First Boy in This Town (Lovesick)
  4. All That We Are
  5. Best Thing Ever – Green Gartside, David Gamson, John Potoker
  6. Oh Patti (Don’t Feel Sorry for Loverboy)
  7. Bam Salute
  8. Sugar and Spice
  9. Philosophy Now

On August 18, 1980.

Yes - Drama

On August 18, 1980, “Atlantic” label released “Drama”, the tenth Yes studio album. It was recorded April – June 1980, at “Townhouse”; “SARM East Studios”; “Roundhouse” and “RAK Studios” and was produced by Yes. “Drama” was the only band’s album to feature Trevor Horn as lead vocalist, following the departure of Jon Anderson and Rick Wakeman in March 1980.


  • Trevor Horn– lead vocals, fretless bass
  • Steve Howe– guitars, mandolin, backing vocals
  • Chris Squire– bass, backing vocals, piano
  • Geoff Downes– keyboards, vocoder
  • Alan White– drums, percussion, backing vocals
  • Eddie Offord– producer (backing tracks)
  • Hugh Padgham, Gary Langanand Julian Mendelsohn , Ashley Howe, Pete Schwier – recording engineers
  • George Chambers – tape operator
  • Sean Davis – disc cutter
  • Sandy Campbell, Jim Halley, Phil Straight – co-ordination
  • Roger Dean– cover painting
  • David Clarke – inside cover photography
  • Magnetic Storm – cover design

Track listing:

All tracks by Geoff Downes, Trevor Horn, Steve Howe, Chris Squire and Alan White, except where noted.

  1. Machine Messiah
  2. White Cat
  3. Does It Really Happen
  4. Into the Lens
  5. Run Through the Light
  6. Tempus Fugit

On May 23, 1980.


On May 23, 1980, “Charisma” label released the self-titled, third Peter Gabriel album. It was recorded 1979–1980, at “Bath” and “Townhouse” in London, and was produced by Steve Lillywhite. The album is referred to as Melt owing to its cover photograph by Hipgnosis.


  • Peter Gabriel– lead and backing vocals, piano, synthesizer, bass synthesizer, drum pattern, whistles
  • Kate Bush– backing vocals
  • Dave Gregory– guitar
  • Robert Fripp– guitar
  • David Rhodes– guitar, backing vocals
  • Paul Weller– guitar
  • Larry Fast– synthesizer, processing, bass synthesizer, bagpipes
  • John Giblin– bass
  • Tony Levin– Chapman stick
  • Jerry Marotta– drums, percussion
  • Phil Collins– drums, drum pattern, snare drum , surdo
  • Dick Morrissey– saxophone
  • Morris Pert– percussion
  • Dave Ferguson– screeches
  • Steve Lillywhite– whistles
  • Hugh Padgham- engineer; whistles

Track listing:

All tracks by Peter Gabriel.

  1. Intruder
  2. No Self Control
  3. Start
  4. I Don’t Remember
  5. Family Snapshot
  6. And Through the Wire
  7. Games Without Frontiers
  8. Not One of Us
  9. Lead a Normal Life
  10. Biko


On April 17, 2006.


On April 17, 2006, “Deltasonic” label released “Tired of Hanging Around”, the second Zutons album. It was recorded in 2005, at “Townhouse” and “Olympic Studios” in London, and was produced by Stephen Street.

Track listing:

All tracks by David McCabe/The Zutons except for tracks 5, 6 & 8 by David McCabe/Sean Payne/The Zutons.

  1. Tired of Hanging Around
  2. It’s the Little Things We Do
  3. Valerie
  4. Someone Watching Over me
  5. Secrets
  6. How Does It Feel
  7. Why Won’t You Give Me Your Love
  8. Oh Stacey (Look What You’ve Done!)
  9. You’ve Got a Friend in Me
  10. Hello Conscience
  11. “I Know I’ll Never Leave

On April 1, 1979.

Life in a Day

On April 1, 1979, “Zoom” label released “Life in a Day”, the debut Simple Minds album. It was recorded December 1978 – January 1979, at “Rolling Stones Mobile”, “Abbey Road Studios”,”Townhouse” in London, and was produced by John Leckie.


  • Jim Kerr– vocals
  • Charles Burchill– guitar, violin, vocals
  • Derek Forbes– bass, vocals
  • Brian McGee– drums, percussion, vocals
  • Michael MacNeil– keyboards, vocals

Track listing:

All lyrics by Jim Kerr, all music by Charles Burchill and Jim Kerr.

  1. Someone
  2. Life in a Day
  3. Sad Affair
  4. All for You
  5. Pleasantly Disturbed
  6. No Cure
  7. Chelsea Girl
  8. Wasteland
  9. Destiny
  10. Murder Story