Tag Archives: Sugar and Spice

On August 29, 1977.

On August 29, 1977, “Mushroom Records” label released “Dizrythmia” the third Split Enz album. It was recorded June – July 1977, at “AIR Studios” in London, and was produced by Geoff Emerick, Timothy Finn, Neil Finn, Edward Rayner, Noel Crombie, Robert Gillies, Malcolm Green, Nigel Griggs and Mal Jacobson.


  • Timothy Finn– vocals, acoustic guitar, piano
  • Neil Finn– vocals, guitars, mandolin
  • Edward Rayner– keyboards
  • Noel Crombie– vocals, percussion
  • Robert Gillies– saxophones, trumpet
  • Malcolm Green– drums
  • Nigel Griggs– bass
  • Mal Jacobson– sonor drums, percussion
  • Phil Judd– vocals, guitar
  • Mike Chunn– vocals, bass
  • Geoff Emerick – engineer
  • Colin Fairley – assistant engineer
  • Peter Henderson – additional engineering
  • Nigel Walker – assistant engineer
  • Noel Crombie, Peter Wagg – design
  • Han Chew Tham – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Tim Finn, except where noted.

  1. Bold as Brass – Tim Finn, Robert Gilles
  2. My Mistake – Tim Finn, Eddie Rayner
  3. Parrot Fashion Love – Tim Finn, Eddie Rayner
  4. Sugar and Spice – Phil Judd
  5. Without a Doubt
  6. Crosswords
  7. Charlie
  8. Nice to Know – Tim Finn, Phil Judd, Eddie Rayner
  9. Jamboree – Tim Finn, Phil Judd, Eddie Rayner, Noel Crombie, Malcolm Green, Robert Gillies, Mike Chunn

In June 1988.

In June 1988, “Virgin” label released “Provision”, the third Scritti Politti album. It recorded 1987–1988 at “Minot Sound” in Atlantic, “Hit Factory”, “Right Track”, “Sorcerer Sound” in New York; “Britannia Row”, “AIR, Townhouse”, “Sarm West”, “Swan Yard” in London, and was produced by Green Gartside, David Gamson and John Potoker.


  • Green Gartside– vocals
  • David Gamson– Yamaha DX7, Yamaha TX816, Yamaha QX1, Oberheim Matrix 12, Sequential Circuits Prophet VS, Roland MKS-80, Roland MKS 50, Synclavier
  • Fred Maher– drums, Oberheim DMX, LinnDrum
  • Miles Davis– trumpet
  • Bashiri Johnson– percussion
  • Chris Botti– trumpet
  • Dann Huff– guitar
  • John Mahoney – Synclavier
  • Joe Mennonna – saxophones
  • Jason Miles – keyboard programming
  • Marcus Miller– bass
  • Nick Moroch – guitar
  • Raymond Niznik – Synclavier
  • Kent Smith – horn
  • Andy Snitzer – saxophones
  • Roger Troutman– talk box
  • Mitch Corn – horn
  • Mark Stevens, B.J. Nelson, Fonzi Thornton, Tawatha Agee, Rory Dodd, Diva Gray, Yogi Lee, Eric Troyer– background vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by Green Gartside and David Gamson; except where noted.

  1. Boom! There She Was
  2. Overnite
  3. First Boy in This Town (Lovesick)
  4. All That We Are
  5. Best Thing Ever – Green Gartside, David Gamson, John Potoker
  6. Oh Patti (Don’t Feel Sorry for Loverboy)
  7. Bam Salute
  8. Sugar and Spice
  9. Philosophy Now