Tag Archives: B.J. Nelson

In June 1988.

In June 1988, “Virgin” label released “Provision”, the third Scritti Politti album. It recorded 1987–1988 at “Minot Sound” in Atlantic, “Hit Factory”, “Right Track”, “Sorcerer Sound” in New York; “Britannia Row”, “AIR, Townhouse”, “Sarm West”, “Swan Yard” in London, and was produced by Green Gartside, David Gamson and John Potoker.


  • Green Gartside– vocals
  • David Gamson– Yamaha DX7, Yamaha TX816, Yamaha QX1, Oberheim Matrix 12, Sequential Circuits Prophet VS, Roland MKS-80, Roland MKS 50, Synclavier
  • Fred Maher– drums, Oberheim DMX, LinnDrum
  • Miles Davis– trumpet
  • Bashiri Johnson– percussion
  • Chris Botti– trumpet
  • Dann Huff– guitar
  • John Mahoney – Synclavier
  • Joe Mennonna – saxophones
  • Jason Miles – keyboard programming
  • Marcus Miller– bass
  • Nick Moroch – guitar
  • Raymond Niznik – Synclavier
  • Kent Smith – horn
  • Andy Snitzer – saxophones
  • Roger Troutman– talk box
  • Mitch Corn – horn
  • Mark Stevens, B.J. Nelson, Fonzi Thornton, Tawatha Agee, Rory Dodd, Diva Gray, Yogi Lee, Eric Troyer– background vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by Green Gartside and David Gamson; except where noted.

  1. Boom! There She Was
  2. Overnite
  3. First Boy in This Town (Lovesick)
  4. All That We Are
  5. Best Thing Ever – Green Gartside, David Gamson, John Potoker
  6. Oh Patti (Don’t Feel Sorry for Loverboy)
  7. Bam Salute
  8. Sugar and Spice
  9. Philosophy Now

On March 25, 1985.

Power Station

On March 25, 1985, “Capitol” label released the debut self-titled Power Station album. It was recorded in 1984, at “Power Station Studios” in New York City, and was produced by Bernard Edwards.


  • Robert Palmer– vocals
  • Andy Taylor– guitars
  • John Taylor– bass
  • Tony Thompson– drums
  • Curtis King Jr, Fonzi Thornton, B.J. Nelson, Charmaine Burch – additional vocals
  • Mars Williams– brass
  • Roger Taylor, Jimmy Bralower – percussive effects
  • Robert Sabino, Rupert Hine– keyboards
  • Recorded and engineered by Jason Corsaro, Steve Rinkoff & Rob Eaton
  • Mixed by Jason Corsaro
  • Mastered by Howie Weinbergat Masterdisk, New York

Track listing:

All tracks by Robert Palmer, Andy Taylor, and John Taylor; except where noted

  1. Some Like It Hot
  2. Murderess
  3. Lonely Tonight – Bernard Edwards and Robert Palmer
  4. Communication – Derek Bramble, Robert Palmer, Andy Taylor and John Taylor
  5. Get It On (Bang a Gong) – Marc Bolan
  6. Go to Zero – Guy Pratt and Robert Palmer
  7. Harvest for the World – Isley Brothers
  8. Still in Your Heart