Tag Archives: Diva Gray

On August 9, 1980.

On August 9, 1980, “Qwest Records” label released “Give Me The Night”, the 18th George Benson album. It was recorded in 1980, at “Kendun Recorders” in Burbank,  and “Cherokee Studios” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Quincy Jones. in 1981 Benson won “Grammy Awards” for “Best Male R&B Vocal Performance”, the track “Moody’s Mood” won “Best Jazz Vocal Performance, Male” and track “Off Broadway” won “Best R&B Instrumental Performance”. Quincy Jones and Jerry Hey also won the “Grammy Award” for “Best Instrumental Arrangement” for the song “Dinorah, Dinorah”. The album was certified Platinum in US by the “RIIA”.


  • George Benson– lead and backing vocals, guitar and lead guitar, scat
  • Lee Ritenour– acoustic and electric guitar
  • Louis Johnson, Abe Laboriel– bass guitar
  • John Robinson, Carlos Vega – drums
  • Paulinho Da Costa– percussion
  • Greg Phillinganes– keyboards, synthesizer, Fender Rhodes
  • Michael Boddicker– synthesizer
  • Richard Tee– synthesizer bass, electric piano, synthesizer
  • Herbie Hancock– synthesizer, Fender Rhodes
  • Clare Fischer– Yamaha CS30, acoustic piano, Fender Rhodes
  • George Duke– keyboards
  • Jerry Hey– trumpet
  • Kim Hutchcroft, Larry Williams– saxophone, flute
  • Marty Paich– string arrangements, conductor
  • Sid Sharp – concertmaster
  • Patti Austin– backing and lead vocals
  • Jim Gilstrap, Diva Gray, Jocelyn Allen, Tom Bahler– backing vocals
  • Recorded and mixed by Bruce Swedien
  • Assistant engineers – Sheridan Eldridge, Ralph Osbourne, Mark Sackett.
  • Mastered by Jim Sintetos, Kent Duncan
  • Liner notes by Quincy Jones
  • Art direction – Richard Seireeni
  • Illustration – Paul Jasmin
  • Cover photography – Norman Seeff
  • Sleeve photography – Peter Brill
  • Typography – Anderson Typographics

Track listing:

All tracks by Rod Temperton except where indicated.

  1. Love X Love
  2. Off Broadway
  3. Moody’s Mood – Eddie Jefferson, James Moody
  4. Give Me the Night
  5. What’s On Your Mind – Glen Ballard, Kerry Chater
  6. Dinorah, Dinorah – Ivan Lins, Vitor Martins
  7. Love Dance – ivan Lins, Gilson Peranzzetta, Paul Williams
  8. Star of a Story (X)
  9. Midnight Love Affair – David “Hawk” Wolinski
  10. Turn Out the Lamplight

In June 1988.

In June 1988, “Virgin” label released “Provision”, the third Scritti Politti album. It recorded 1987–1988 at “Minot Sound” in Atlantic, “Hit Factory”, “Right Track”, “Sorcerer Sound” in New York; “Britannia Row”, “AIR, Townhouse”, “Sarm West”, “Swan Yard” in London, and was produced by Green Gartside, David Gamson and John Potoker.


  • Green Gartside– vocals
  • David Gamson– Yamaha DX7, Yamaha TX816, Yamaha QX1, Oberheim Matrix 12, Sequential Circuits Prophet VS, Roland MKS-80, Roland MKS 50, Synclavier
  • Fred Maher– drums, Oberheim DMX, LinnDrum
  • Miles Davis– trumpet
  • Bashiri Johnson– percussion
  • Chris Botti– trumpet
  • Dann Huff– guitar
  • John Mahoney – Synclavier
  • Joe Mennonna – saxophones
  • Jason Miles – keyboard programming
  • Marcus Miller– bass
  • Nick Moroch – guitar
  • Raymond Niznik – Synclavier
  • Kent Smith – horn
  • Andy Snitzer – saxophones
  • Roger Troutman– talk box
  • Mitch Corn – horn
  • Mark Stevens, B.J. Nelson, Fonzi Thornton, Tawatha Agee, Rory Dodd, Diva Gray, Yogi Lee, Eric Troyer– background vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by Green Gartside and David Gamson; except where noted.

  1. Boom! There She Was
  2. Overnite
  3. First Boy in This Town (Lovesick)
  4. All That We Are
  5. Best Thing Ever – Green Gartside, David Gamson, John Potoker
  6. Oh Patti (Don’t Feel Sorry for Loverboy)
  7. Bam Salute
  8. Sugar and Spice
  9. Philosophy Now

On August 11, 1978.


On August 11, 1978, “Atlantic” label released “C’est Chic”, the second Chic studio album. It was recorded in 1978 and was produced by Nile Rodgers and Bernard Edwards.


  • Alfa Anderson – lead vocals
  • Luci Martin – vocals
  • Bernard Edwards- lead vocals, bass guitar
  • Nile Rodgers- guitar, vocals
  • Tony Thompson- drums
  • Diva Gray – lead vocals
  • David Lasley– vocals
  • Luther Vandross– vocals
  • Robert Sabino– clavinet, acoustic piano, electric piano
  • Andy Schwartz – clavinet, acoustic piano, electric piano
  • Raymond Jones – Fender Rhodes
  • Sammy Figueroa– percussion
  • Jose Rossy – tubular bells
  • Marianne Carroll (The Chic Strings) – strings
  • Cheryl Hong (The Chic Strings) – strings
  • Karen Milne (The Chic Strings) – strings
  • Jon Faddis– trumpet
  • Ellen Seeling – trumpet
  • Alex Foster – saxophone
  • Jean Fineberg – saxophone
  • Barry Rogers – trombone
  • Gene Orloff– concert master

Track listing:

All tracks by Bernard Edwards and Nile Rodgers; except where noted.

  1. Chic Cheer
  2. Le Freak
  3. Savoir Faire
  4. Happy Man
  5. I Want Your Love
  6. At Last I Am Free
  7. Sometimes You Win
  8. (Funny) Bone


On April 27, 1987.


On April 27, 1987, “EMI” label released “Never Let Me Down”, the seventeenth David Bowie studio album. It was recorded 1986 – 1987, and was produced by David Bowie and David Richards.


  • David Bowie – vocals, guitar, keyboards, tambourine, background vocals
  • Carlos Alomar– guitar, guitar synthesizer, tambourine, background vocals
  • Erdal Kızılçay– keyboards, drums, bass, trumpet, background vocals, violins
  • Peter Frampton– lead guitar
  • Philippe Saisse– piano, keyboards
  • Carmine Rojas– bass
  • Earl Gardner– flugelhorn
  • Errol “Crusher” Bennett – percussion
  • Stan Harrison– alto saxophone
  • Laurie Frink – trumpet
  • Steve Elson– baritone saxophone
  • Lenny Pickett– tenor saxophone
  • Robin Clark, Lani Groves, Diva Gray, Gordon Grodie – background vocals
  • Sid McGinnis– lead guitar
  • Mickey Rourke– mid-song rap

Track listing:

All tracks by David Bowie, except where noted.

  1. Day-In Day-Out
  2. Time Will Crawl
  3. Beat of Your Drum
  4. Never Let Me Down – lyrics by David Bowie, music by David Bowie and Carlos Alomar
  5. Zeroes
  6. Glass Spider
  7. Shining Star (Makin’ My Love)
  8. New York’s in Love
  9. 87 and Cry
  10. Too Dizzy – Iggy Pop, Ivan Kral